We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #31 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday trip”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Allerdale and was met by the owners Paul and Barbara. We were made to feel welcome. The Guest house is kept and run to a very high standard and my wife and i were impressed with our accommodation. Paul and Barbara have the breakfast routine down to a fine art and and everything is freshly prepared. What a great start for a days walking. Paul also has a great knowledge of the local area for days out or for places to eat.
Thanks Paul and Barbara for a great stay, we will be back.

Alan & Susan

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank desparadodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
341
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co.durham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Went to stay in the Allerdale Guest House with My friend who visited from Germany and all I have to say about this Place is: It's the little things that count. Cotton butts and Cotton tips in Bathrooms, Coffee and Biscuits replaced daily, Artificial sweeteners on Breakfast tables. Spotlessly clean and so friendly. Paul and Barbara make you feel so welcome and remember your name right from the start. Nice touch. Paul sees to you in the Breakfast room what a Gent, always having a chat with you and if you need any info feel free to ask while Barbara sees to the Breakfast that is fantastic. Hard working great fun couple. I can only recommend this great 4* plus to anyone visiting Keswick and to top it all it is just a few minutes walk into Keswick and has Car parking facilities. What more could you ask for. Thank's Paul; and Barbara for making us feel so welcome and we will definitely come back in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: we had room 3. On the smaller side but with nice views over the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Excellence in a bed and breakfast is seen when high standards are maintained. We first visited Paul and Barbara at Allerdale House last year and we were greatly impressed by the high standard of accommodation, cleanliness and welcome. We returned again this week and if anything it was even better. The room we had surpassed rooms we have had in top hotels and the breakfast was lovely. A top accommodation that deserves the top ranking it receives. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

As most people do we checked out trip advisor before booking Allerdale. The reviews did not lie - lovely people, lovely rooms and fabulous breakfast, everything you could wish for in a B&B. It was our first visit to the Lake District and Paul and Barbara were indeed excellent hosts and were spot on in advising us where to visit, especially as my wife broke a toe just before leaving so her walking was very limited. We stayed in room no6 which was huge and had a large, nicely decorated bathroom. Breakfast was superb plenty of choice, nice thick bacon and loved the black pud, which they very kindly still cooked for me even though I had forgotten to order the night before. Paul and Barbara obviously take pride in their home and this is reflected in the way that they keep the rooms spotless and the baskets of flowers plus the garden impeccably tidy, which is a credit to them. We were only a short stroll to the town centre so it was an ideal location,and the off road parking was a bonus. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and have no hesitation in recommending the Allerdale to anybody and everybody.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Allerdale House in June. Paul and Barbara are excellent hosts. - always available for advice on where to visit or good restaurants in eat in. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are amazing with such a good variety - fresh fruit salad, fruit juice, cereals, porridge on request, full English breakfast (including the best black pudding I've had in years!) or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon if you fancy something different. Something to suit everyone. Thank you Paul and Barbara for a wonderful stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisandmike186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Allerdale House at the end of June for 2 nights. Barbara and Paul were there to greet us on arrival and showed us to our room, making us feel at home straight away.

The off road parking was perfect and the location couldn't be better with only a very short walk into the centre of Keswick. The rooms were very nicely decorated and included tea and coffee making facilities and TV...great after a long day of walking on the Saturday!

Unlike other B&Bs I have stayed at, this one also has a lounge area where Barbara and Paul informed us we were free to spend time in and use the wine glasses etc that they provided. This was great for us as we were meeting up with some friends whilst there so having somewhere to sit and chat in the evenings was really nice.

The breakfast was also very good, plently of choice including cereal, fruit, juice and a choice of cooked breakfast items. As we were meeting friends Babara and Paul arranged for us to sit together at breakfast and were always really chatty when we saw them.

We have already recommended Allerdale House to friends and family and will definitely be visting again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed at Allerdale House for three nights back in June.

We checked in early afternoon so we could make the most of our first day in Keswick. We were welcomed by the owners of the very pretty flint property, Paul & Barbara who are a lovely couple and make you feel at home straight away.

The location is perfect. There is off road parking at the guest house to park up. Once we arrived we found everything was walkable and only used the car once to visits some nearby towns. Keswick market town centre is 5 mins stroll away where you can find a very good array of shops including a Costa Coffee which my girlfriend liked, plus lots of good restaurants and pubs to choose from which I liked :)

The room was brilliant. Very clean with an extremely comfortable bed (which you will look forward to after climbing the many mountains on your door step). Breakfast was lovely, a good choice to choose from like fresh fruit, fruit juices, cereals etc. to accompany a hearty full English.

We can’t recommend the Allerdale enough, brilliant people, lovely room and the location couldn’t be better. Had a brilliant stay in the Lakes, which turned out to be a fantastic setting to propose to my girlfriend, so I came home with a fiancé.

The only disappointment we had was that we didn’t stay for longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#60 of 173 in Keswick
407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#10 of 173 in Keswick
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#65 of 173 in Keswick
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laurel Bank B&B
Laurel Bank B&B
#14 of 173 in Keswick
272 reviews
0.8 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#5 of 173 in Keswick
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing