We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic As Usual”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Allerdale House Keswick
Ranked #31 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NORFOLK
1 review
“Fantastic As Usual”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

Once again a relaxing and quality stay at Allerdale. Tony and Helen were as usual the perfect hosts, nothing too much trouble. Room was immaculate, breakfasts superb. A very relaxing stay-they even gave us snow!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Perfectly situated for lovely walks and close to Keswick for that evening pint and meal.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVEJULIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
338
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Recomenadation is the best way of advertising.So we shall tell friends & relatives.Mike & Wendy Redman Sheffield.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank running26Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

Allerdale house is located about a 5 minute walk from the top end of the high street - ideal for shopping, eating / drinking out and as a base for walking. Tony and Helen are the best hosts - they could not do enough for us - drying clothes, tea, coffee & biscuits during the afternoons and much more. They were extremely informative on many subjects - not only local info such as walking routes, restaurants, pubs, theatre etc. We had some very interesting chats about foreign travel, birds and other wildlife. Our room was a large double which was always very clean (despite our best efforts to mess it up during the wettest week in the Lakes for a 1000 years!) The en-suite was also clean and very functional with a glorious shower. Breakfasts are lovely and substantial with a selection of fruit, cerials and juices to start, followed by a very high quality (and substantial) cooked breakfact - very nice. There is ample (if a little tight) parking, some of which is covered - very useful in the week we were there.
It is rare that I stay in the same B&B twice but I think I will make this our base in the Lakes for the foreseeable future. Highly recommended but don't tell anyone else about it....

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2009

This was our second visit to Allerdale House, the first one being in August 2008. We stayed in room 1 - a lovely room with king size and single bed, sofa, large shower and fairtrade tea and coffee. After Tony had helped us with our luggage we had a chat in the lounge over tea and biscuits. We wanted to visit Windermere but were a bit unsure about parking. Tony produced an excellent bus map of the whole of the Lake District so that swung it for us. Helen's breakfasts were lovely - try the yoghurt and honey crunch if you get chance. They also use local free range eggs. Both Helen and Tony were informative about places to eat and even booked a table at the Pheasant Inn for us

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THESMURFSHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We filled a cancellation and were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and the food and accomodation were first class. We would have no hesitation in going again and would reccommend Allerdale House to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenlod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

We have just arrived back from a weekend at Allerdale House. From the moment we arrived Tony & Helen made us feel most welcome into there home. Pot of freshly brewed coffee to start with (just what the doc ordered after a couple of hours travelling). Then Helen booked us a table in the local pub (The George) which was great. Tony helped us decide on walks which was suitable for us. In all they just couldn't do enough for us! oh and must not forget to mention there breakie, in one word Fabulous!!! We are already planning our return. Thankyou Tony & Helen

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxsnronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Should have written a review before now but stayed here for 2-nights en-route to Scotland and cannot praise it enough. The room was superb: warm, comfortable and more than big enough for a family of 4. The breakfasts were excellent with a great choice. We can't praise Helen and Tony enough, they were fabulous hosts, chatting to us as if we were old friends, and were great with the kids. They even went out of their way to help us when my fiance (thought he'd) lost the keys to the car, ringing the establishments we'd been to the night before and also the police to see if any had been handed in.
We found the little homely touches e.g. a small fridge with various beverages in the lounge hit the spot after a day out and about and they were always on hand if we needed them.
We can't praise them enough and intend to stay there the next time we visit Keswick.
Thank you Helen and Tony for a fabulous stay!

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank snowqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#63 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#35 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#86 of 175 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allerdale House Keswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allerdale House Keswick

Property: Allerdale House Keswick
Address: 1 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Allerdale House Keswick 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allerdale House is an interesting and impressive Lakeland stone building built around 1877 for a local dignitary with PRIVATE PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. It now offers full en suite accommodation exclusively for adults with all the facilities associated with a small personally run guest house and has been awarded a 4 Star Silver Award for the quality of our accommodation and a Breakfast Award for the quality of our breakfasts by Visit England (the Hotel Inspector). ALLERDALE HOUSE IS ONE OF THE FEW GUEST HOUSES IN KESWICK OWNED AND RUN BY A LOCAL COUPLE, PAUL & BARBARA, BOTH BORN AND RAISED IN KESWICK. Situated in a quiet residential area, it is less than five minutes level walk from the interesting Keswick town centre, where you will find a good variety of eating places, shops and visitor attractions. WE HAVE PRIVATE OFF-ROAD PARKING FOR ALL OUR GUESTS' CARS. We also have a GUESTS' LOUNGE and FREE WiFi THROUGHOUT THE HOUSE. Repeat Winners of Keswick In Bloom. Certificate Of Excellence Winners 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 & 2016 and members of TripAdvisor Hall Of Fame. 4 Star Silver Award (Visit England), Breakfast Award (Visit England). SORRY WE DO NOT TAKE PETS ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allerdale House Keswick Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing