We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First stay in Keswick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakthwaite House
Ranked #61 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First stay in Keswick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Had a really relaxing time. We travelled with friends on previous recommendation and the warm and friendly welcome we received lived up to our expectations! First time in Keswick and first time in oakthwaite house - will definitely be coming back. One of the nicest b and b's we' ve stayed in - have already recommended a stay to all our friends and relatives.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your recommendations and posting your comments, we are so pleased you had a lovely stay and you felt it was the best B&B you have stayed in. We hope our guests feel very welcome, comfortable and relaxed. A home from home is what we hope guests would say.
We were so pleased to have you stay in our home and especially to help us celebrate the New Year. We do hope to welcome you back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    14
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
307
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mytchett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here after New Years on a whim and what a great choice this was. Peter and Sandra were extremely friendly and helpful throughout and made sure our stay was enjoyable. We stayed in room 2 which is the big double room pictured on their profile - perfect for a romantic getaway. Hotel is 5 mins walk to centre of Keswick so ideally placed for going out in the evening after a day on the fells!

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Hello and thank you for posting your comments and we are so pleased you had a lovely stay and that the room you stayed in was to your taste. We have lots of guest stay in Room 2 and yes it is a romantic room, one couple got engaged in that room last summer.
We look forward to welcoming you into our home again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Our tortuous seven hour trip northwards was well worhwhile with this stay. Warm welcome from Sandra and Peter who are ideal hosts. Guest house is clean, comfortable and well looked after. Quiet location, well placed for vthe town centre. Deep sleep in cosy room 5. Top class breakfast , especially the granola! Hope to re-visit in not too distant future.

Room Tip: For king size bed go for either room 5, or , for slightly bigger room, room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your comments. Yes it was worth travelling for, it was so good to you both and welcome you to our home. We are so pleased you had a lovely stay and find some time to see how beautiful Keswick really is.
It was an absolute pleasure to spend some time with you both and we do hope you will come back real soon.
Wishing you a very Happy and Merry Christmas and a happier and successful New year, and that goes for ALL the wonderful guests that have stayed with us this year. We now consider to be very privileged to have so many friends and do hope to see you all again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic hidden gem, Peter and Sandra were really friendly and welcoming they really ensured we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were very clean and really cosy and its only a short walk from Keswick town centre which is a bonus. We would highly recommend this place to any couple who want to chill out and relax. Thanks to you both, we will be visiting again soon Chloe & Jay x

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chlo5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Hello, thank you for posting your comments and we are so pleased you had a chilled out weekend. We aim to offer the very best we can and are very happy when guests have had a lovely time in Keswick. We are so pleased that we will get a chance to see you both again and look forward to that next year. Have a very happy Christmas and all the very best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at this lovely B & B for a weekend away to celebrate our wedding anniversary!
Lovely room, great hosts that went the extra mile to accommodate all our requests!
The location is perfect for a car free stroll into town and the best restaurants all in walking distance!
The room was spotless and warm, and the most comfortable bed to rest "tired bones" after a full day in the hills.
Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suprememaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your comments, we are so pleased you had a lovely time at our home and in Keswick. It was really nice to meet you both, it gave us the opportunity to look after you and assist in you having a relaxing weekend. We do hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely two night stay here. The attention to details really made such a difference.
We had bottles of water and chocolates on arrival, an impeccably clean room, super comfy bed, welcome book that tells you where the breakfast ingredients are from (breakfast was amazing, the sausages and bacon were delicious!).
Location wise this is excellent for walking into keswick, we didn't use the car at all, beautiful walks on the doorstep, and restaurants/pubs for dinner just around the corner.
Sandra and Pete were really friendly and helpful, they even helped us to find a walk suitable for a pregnant lady :)
Would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 74Rachel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
What a fantastic review and we thank you both so much. We could not ask for a more glowing reference and we are very confident when guests read your comments they will not want to stay anywhere else in Keswick. We pride ourselves on going that extra mile to make our home your home away from home. We wish you both good health and the beauty and joy a new baby brings. All the vey best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What a perfect pad for a lovely 2 night stay - without the kids! Lovely room, great breakie, ideal location to stroll into town or set out for a hike on the fells. Thank you Peter and Sandra for looking after us - keep up the good work - we will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattMatt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakthwaite13, Owner at Oakthwaite House, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello and thank you for posting your comments and letting future guests know what a perfect pad we have here. We open our home to such wonderful people like yourselves and hope you have a terrific time. You surely did and had a good weekend, without the kids, and enjoyed the wonders Keswick offers. We look forward to welcoming you both back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#57 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#43 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#97 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
Lynwood Guesthouse B&B
#63 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larry's Lodge
Larry's Lodge
#68 of 177 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakthwaite House

Property: Oakthwaite House
Address: 35 Helvellyn Street, Keswick CA12 4EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakthwaite House is a Victorian town house built c.1876 in a quiet residential area of Keswick, only a five-minute walk from the town centre. We provide a high quality service and offer you a comfortable, relaxing, refreshing and enjoyable stay. The location of our guesthouse in Keswick and in the Lake District National Park makes it an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy the many wonders of the northern Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oakthwaite House Hotel Keswick
Oakthwaite House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing