We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lincoln Guest House
Ranked #117 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Cosy and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay for a 2 night break. Lincoln Guest House ticked all the boxes. It is just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, but is on a quiet side road so there was no traffic noise. It is also convenient for local buses to the rest of the Lakes and to Carlisle and Penrith. The road is on a hill and slopes upwards towards the B&B (a little steep but only a short walk) and there are steps up to the entrance, so might not be suitable for some people.

I booked a single room which was very spacious. It was an L shape with a sink in the additional short section which was very convenient. The bed was placed across the room under the window, with space underneath to store my suitcase when not needed. The mattress was a little softer than I'm used to, but I slept soundly on both nights. It was quite warm so there was no need to use either the additional quilt on the top of the wardrobe or the central heating. There was a hair dryer in the wardrobe, with tea making facilities on a tray on top of the bedside table. The Wifi worked perfectly throughout my stay - details of how to log on are on the card on the bedroom wall. There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall at the foot of the bed, but I didn't end up using this.

I normally prefer an ensuite bathroom, but as I read in another review, no-one else ever seemed to need the shared bathroom at the end of the hall at the same time, so it felt like my own private bathroom anyway. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. Liquid hand soap is provided, as are towels, but there are no other toiletries provided so you will need to bring your own. Or there are 2 supermarkets (Booths and the Co-operative) within a couple of minutes walk, just past the bottom of the road.

Breakfast is included and is served between 8.00-8.30. The owner will ask you when you check in whether you want a full English cooked breakfast or an alternative (not sure what this would be, as I definitely wanted the cooked breakfast!). This does mean that people were moving around from around 7.00 so this isn't an ideal option for anyone who likes to have long undisturbed lie-ins. I could hear a little noise from my neighbours, e.g. TV but the upside is that (at least during my stay) other guests went to bed fairly early.

The breakfast room is on the lower ground floor, with a table available per room (those in the single rooms share a table). The breakfast was huge and would be more than enough to set you up for a day of walking! Orange juice, tea or coffee, a choice of cereals, toast, and then the cooked breakfast itself (1 or 2 eggs - I asked for these to be scrambled, sausage, bacon, tomato and a hash brown). I was so full that on the 2nd day, I skipped the cereal "course" and just had the cooked breakfast.

Great base for visiting Keswick - would recommend. NB: No credit cards accepted, only debit cards. However when securing the reservation on booking.com, I did use my credit card details to secure the booking. I hope you found this review useful :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have great views of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    21
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
23
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just a one night stay to visit the Theatre by the Lake.
A lovely looking building in a quiet street just off the towns main street.
4 parking spaces right outside which were a boon in Keswick where parking is expensive.
i had a small but more than adequate room with a shower room/toilet just across the landing.
Both were immaculately clean and warm. i had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was good with the usual juice cereal then hearty sized portion of bacon eggs (2) etc.
This is an excellent B&B perfect for visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

One night stay in March, great location and very clean with adequate facilities. Found the owner to be quite patronising and bordering on being rude. There is only a half hour slot for breakfast 08:00-08:30, on the whole great hote but thel service /manner of the lady owner could be vastly improved as we felt we were talked down to in a patronising manner.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank married876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Lincoln House has 3 single, 4 double and 1 family room, which is on the top floor.
Stayed Friday and Saturday night and the owner let us have the family room as it was not ocupied, pay the extra and have this room for the views.
Spotlessly clean BB and great breakfast. Owners made suggestion where to eat and drink based on other guest feedback.
On site parking. And only2 mins from town centre.

Room Tip: Family room if available for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here for a few days. This is a guest house situated in a quiet location but at the same time close to the centre of Keswick. I had a small but comfortable single room and with exceptional views across to Catbells and the Newlands valley. Breakfast is between 8 and 8:30 a.m.and is delicious The dining room decor is also quite nice. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussiemark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was kept awake until about midnight on my 2nd night (a Friday) with guests arriving and seemingly non-stop noisy shutting of doors and other ambient noises. Having said that, the place was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The toilet and shower room was large and tiled but I could have done with some shower gel being provided as happens in other b n' bs. The couple running the place were pleasant. Breakfast was good with plenty of coffee on offer. My single room was quite spacious certainly not a glorified box as is provided in other b n bs.
I might have considered giving the place a five rating if the noise level had not been so distracting (the noise was coming from rooms on my landing, above my room, and downstairs ).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 36southwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 580 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

I really enjoyed our stay at this B&B. Our room had a stunning view of the Borrowdale mountains and was nicely decorated. Our room was quite compact but had everything we needed - comfortable bed, en suite bathroom woth great shower, hair dryer, storage space plenty of sockets for phone chargers and a flat screen TV. Sound proofing was good, we couldn't hear the people in the rooms next to us at all. Breakfast was brilliant, fresh orange juice, tasty high quality sausages and bacon and 1 or 2 eggs with lovely tomatoes and hash browns - just what we needed for a hard day's walking.

Jane and Mike gave us a fantastic welcome and went out of their way to accommodate us.

The B&B itself is lovely, lots of character and has some great artwork. It was centrally located, minutes walk to the town centre yet quiet at night. It also has parking and if you let Jane and Mike know that you have a car they can sort out a parking spot for you right outside the B&B. It was great value and we would definitely stay again when we next visit Keswick.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eatydrinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Abacourt Guest House
Abacourt Guest House
#84 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Brierholme Guest House
#5 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#6 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#44 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keswick Park Hotel
Keswick Park Hotel
#144 of 177 in Keswick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beckside Guesthouse
Beckside Guesthouse
#45 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Guest House

Property: Lincoln Guest House
Address: 23 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lincoln Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing