We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lincoln Guest House
Ranked #171 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We chose Lincoln house 2 days before on a whim to visit Keswick.greeted with a trusting owner, impeccably clean & well situated house ..we felt at ease. The brekkie was first rate and we were even offered a late breakfast when we slept in. our room was at the top facing mountains which was lovely to wake up to.
Overall, this is a great b&b and thanks to the owner for the kindness we were shown 4.7.13

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

Was looking for an inexpensive place to stay for a 2 night break. Lincoln Guest House ticked all the boxes. It is just a couple of minutes walk to the town centre, but is on a quiet side road so there was no traffic noise. It is also convenient for local buses to the rest of the Lakes and to Carlisle and Penrith. The road is on a hill and slopes upwards towards the B&B (a little steep but only a short walk) and there are steps up to the entrance, so might not be suitable for some people.

I booked a single room which was very spacious. It was an L shape with a sink in the additional short section which was very convenient. The bed was placed across the room under the window, with space underneath to store my suitcase when not needed. The mattress was a little softer than I'm used to, but I slept soundly on both nights. It was quite warm so there was no need to use either the additional quilt on the top of the wardrobe or the central heating. There was a hair dryer in the wardrobe, with tea making facilities on a tray on top of the bedside table. The Wifi worked perfectly throughout my stay - details of how to log on are on the card on the bedroom wall. There was a flat screen TV mounted on the wall at the foot of the bed, but I didn't end up using this.

I normally prefer an ensuite bathroom, but as I read in another review, no-one else ever seemed to need the shared bathroom at the end of the hall at the same time, so it felt like my own private bathroom anyway. Both the bedroom and the bathroom were spotlessly clean. Liquid hand soap is provided, as are towels, but there are no other toiletries provided so you will need to bring your own. Or there are 2 supermarkets (Booths and the Co-operative) within a couple of minutes walk, just past the bottom of the road.

Breakfast is included and is served between 8.00-8.30. The owner will ask you when you check in whether you want a full English cooked breakfast or an alternative (not sure what this would be, as I definitely wanted the cooked breakfast!). This does mean that people were moving around from around 7.00 so this isn't an ideal option for anyone who likes to have long undisturbed lie-ins. I could hear a little noise from my neighbours, e.g. TV but the upside is that (at least during my stay) other guests went to bed fairly early.

The breakfast room is on the lower ground floor, with a table available per room (those in the single rooms share a table). The breakfast was huge and would be more than enough to set you up for a day of walking! Orange juice, tea or coffee, a choice of cereals, toast, and then the cooked breakfast itself (1 or 2 eggs - I asked for these to be scrambled, sausage, bacon, tomato and a hash brown). I was so full that on the 2nd day, I skipped the cereal "course" and just had the cooked breakfast.

Great base for visiting Keswick - would recommend. NB: No credit cards accepted, only debit cards. However when securing the reservation on booking.com, I did use my credit card details to secure the booking. I hope you found this review useful :-)

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors have great views of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Just a one night stay to visit the Theatre by the Lake.
A lovely looking building in a quiet street just off the towns main street.
4 parking spaces right outside which were a boon in Keswick where parking is expensive.
i had a small but more than adequate room with a shower room/toilet just across the landing.
Both were immaculately clean and warm. i had a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was good with the usual juice cereal then hearty sized portion of bacon eggs (2) etc.
This is an excellent B&B perfect for visiting Keswick.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geordieman2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

One night stay in March, great location and very clean with adequate facilities. Found the owner to be quite patronising and bordering on being rude. There is only a half hour slot for breakfast 08:00-08:30, on the whole great hote but thel service /manner of the lady owner could be vastly improved as we felt we were talked down to in a patronising manner.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank married876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Lincoln House has 3 single, 4 double and 1 family room, which is on the top floor.
Stayed Friday and Saturday night and the owner let us have the family room as it was not ocupied, pay the extra and have this room for the views.
Spotlessly clean BB and great breakfast. Owners made suggestion where to eat and drink based on other guest feedback.
On site parking. And only2 mins from town centre.

Room Tip: Family room if available for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3ark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed here for a few days. This is a guest house situated in a quiet location but at the same time close to the centre of Keswick. I had a small but comfortable single room and with exceptional views across to Catbells and the Newlands valley. Breakfast is between 8 and 8:30 a.m.and is delicious The dining room decor is also quite nice. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aussiemark09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

I was kept awake until about midnight on my 2nd night (a Friday) with guests arriving and seemingly non-stop noisy shutting of doors and other ambient noises. Having said that, the place was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The toilet and shower room was large and tiled but I could have done with some shower gel being provided as happens in other b n' bs. The couple running the place were pleasant. Breakfast was good with plenty of coffee on offer. My single room was quite spacious certainly not a glorified box as is provided in other b n bs.
I might have considered giving the place a five rating if the noise level had not been so distracting (the noise was coming from rooms on my landing, above my room, and downstairs ).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 36southwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
769 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
4.4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
318 reviews
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln Guest House

Address: 23 Stanger Street, Keswick CA12 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £85 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lincoln Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing