We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sizzling Stone

The Sizzling Stone
Ranked #27 of 128 Restaurants in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The perfectly cooked steak every time cooked by you on the hot lava stone at your table. Only locally sourced meats served, local real ales and local bottled water. Excellent quality and value wines from £12.95 A bottle. No wine over £20 with the exception of Champagne.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Quite simply one of the best meals we've had. The food is outstanding, the quality superb and the service is excellent. A unique experience which we will definately repeat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoJo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    35
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

we ate at the sizzling stone last night after it had been recommended to us by the bed and breakfast owners where we were staying. The restaurant certainly was worth a visit. we both had a steak , which was beautiful....and the chef even catered to a specific requested we had about some extra side haloumi...which again, was fantastic. Different and enjoyable experience cooking on the stones :-) plus some made chips and nice veg went alongside the main.
The portion sizes are more than adequate and the service was excellent.
we would definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leesey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another Enjoyable Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was my second visit in as many months, Both visits the food was outstanding the service excellent and overall a very good experience.
Will be returning and certainly recommending to family and friends.
Look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LomasKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday night.
We both had sirloin steak cooked on the hot stones at the table. The food was excellent, really enjoyed cooking the steak on the stone and the veg and sauce were also good. Service was great - friendly and helpful without being too much. Good choice of wine.
I would recommend it to anyone who wants a good steak meal in good surroundings.
Only thing I would mention that it was very very quiet for a saturday night - just one other couple

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“The Perfect Steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Sizzling Stone is a new restaurant and it really is a great addition to the eating places in Keswick. The decor is classy, the atmoshere sophisticated but comfortable and the whole package is a really pleasant experience.
The ingredients used are the best quality and the prices very reasonable and the wine list is varied and not expensive.
The service is excellent with starters brought to your table and for the main course the meat is presented on a hot stone and you are able to cook it just the way you like it. Potatoes, salad accompaniments are brought at exactly the right time.
This is an excellent eating place and will no doubt become very popular so book a table now before the rush.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sizzling Stone also viewed

Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Sizzling Stone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing