We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic, and very warm welcome awaits you .”
Review of Goodwin House

Goodwin House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goodwin House
Ranked #105 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
1 review
“A fantastic, and very warm welcome awaits you .”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed with Pete and Marion a few times and would never concider staying anywhere else when I visit Keswick. Its ideal location and friendly welcome make it a perfect place to stay.i have stayed at different times of the year and its always the same excellent standard. They are very knowledgeable about the area and will help with anything , walks, ,restaurants, things to do.its a great family place and Keswick has something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Certainly is a beautiful area , and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests who appreciate the area and love it as much as we do .
Very much looking forward to seeing you again soon we hope , when work allows you to "escape" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
27
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
702 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Goodwin House for two days. Marion was standing out front as we had gotten lost several times without GPS in the UK. That was a very welcoming touch. She was taken a number of hospitality courses as shown by certificates on the wall and it's quite evident that she has the will and the way to be an outstanding hostess. She's very people-oriented. She is very proud of the history of the house--clearly someone very committed to loving this house. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful served in an airy dining room with fireplace with windows facing two sides. Only ding, and it's not very major as this place was very clean, was that the furnishings of the room seemed a bit dull. This house is in a good location for walking to the downtown, and with good views of the mountains out the windows on the third floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feenixwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Many thanks for your review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the wonderful history of our home .
I have noted that you felt the decor / furnishings were on the dull side. In fact the chairs were replaced the following week by new leather tub chairs , and certainly we will consider this when redecorating in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

It's hard to imagine a more helpful host family. It got to the point that we asked ourselves that question repeatedly. Marion and Peter were always there to assist and surprise us. Not only did they answer all our questions, but they gave us unfailingly good recommendations for places to hike, eat, or even go to church. Some of the surprises included afternoon snacks of fruit or cake! Their beautiful house was well located in the busy city of Keswick in the heart of the wonderful Lake District. Accommodations were complete, immaculately clean, and very comfortable. From their warm initial greeting to their friendly farewell, they made us feel like family... and eager to come back.

Room Tip: Just tell them your needs, or even your desires. They will do everything to meet both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
We appreciate your lovely comments . We were delighted to meet you both , and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay , have to say you were easy to look after , which makes our job a pleasure to do . Look forward to welcoming you back in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

A third visit to this lovely B&B in Keswick. Marion and Peter are always friendly and welcoming, and happy to make time to chat to one. As always, the room was spotless, well appointed and comfortable. A pleasant, short stroll in to the central area of town where one is spoilt for choice of places to eat and drink, whatever your buget!
Thank you Marion and Peter, and I hope I will soon be back!

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank piperSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments .
Always a pleasure to see guests return , and moreso when you travel the distance you do .
We look forward to seeing you again and catching up
Marion & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Chose this B&B on a last minuite decision to spend a weekend break to keswick and can say we chose very well,The owners Peter & Marion were both friendly and welcoming on our arrival.
The location is excellent being only a short walk from the centre of town and nearby lake.
The main thing for me however is that the accomodation (we were in room 3) is spacious but most importantly immaculately clean and little "treats" are left in your room for when you return.
Would highly recommend considering Goodwin House if are visiting Keswick.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Appreciate your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
I love little treats and so why shouldn't the guests after all you work hard to earn your "chill" time
Hope we will see you back with us again sometime
Marion & Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just come back from 3 wonderful nights in keswick, left it late to book and goodwin house was last in a long list of b& bs we tried for availability they had 2 rooms left and thought something must be wrong as everywhere else was full but what a lovely surprise, Marion and peter were excellent hosts and thought of everything; loved the treats that were waiting for us in our rooms after a days walking and the sweets on the pillows, its little attention to detail like this that makes for a special visit. The breakfast were very good with plenty of veriety. Rooms are pleasant with small but adequate en suites, everything you need is provided with a big selection of hot drinks on the tea tray. No need to pack toiletries Marion and peter have saved you the hassel. parking was a problem but it was the busiest weekend ever and a short walk to the car is not a problem if you are there for a walking holiday :), Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Perfect-Thanks Peter & Marion! It made my stay in Keswick really wonderful and i'd like to return some time!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prudencelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.0 mi away
Strathmore Guest House
Strathmore Guest House
#50 of 173 in Keswick
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
Crow Park Hotel Keswick
#53 of 173 in Keswick
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#66 of 173 in Keswick
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Kings Head Hotel
The Kings Head Hotel
#82 of 173 in Keswick
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dolly Waggon Guest House
Dolly Waggon Guest House
#84 of 173 in Keswick
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwin House

Property: Goodwin House
Address: 29 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwin House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history Goodwin House maintains many of its original features whilst providing modern day quality en-suite accommodation.Situated in an excellent location for town, Lake or Theatre it is also an ideal base to visit all over The Lake DistrictComfortable rooms , adjustable central heating , substanstial hospitality try , hairdryers as well as TV and radio clock alarms plus little extra touches during your stayHearty breakfasts set you up for the day ( special diets catered for with advance notice) Weather forecasts posted daily , but if you are "caught out" our drying room is on hand 24/7 Flasks filled free of charge and packed lunches available ( please order night before)Let us provide the comfort from which you can enjoy your break away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Goodwin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwin House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing