We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than home from home”
Review of Goodwin House

Goodwin House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goodwin House
Ranked #105 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Brixham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than home from home”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A very warm welcome is guaranteed at Goodwin House. Marion is a super host whose attention to detail is precise and painstaking. This goes for the lovely table decorations in the breakfast room, the well appointed bedrooms with the little hidden extras like a piece of cake, extra fruit, sweets galore and a plentiful supply of coffees, chocolate and fruit teas. As a walker, I was supplied with detailed weather advice, a print off from the local meteorological office and any number of maps and guides. The house has everything to make a short, or even longer stay, enjoyable. It was my second visit and I have already booked my third. It comes with a high recommendation, surely much more than a home from home. Thank you for such excellent service!

Room Tip: All visitors can expect very clean, well lit and nicely decorated rooms, all with excellent faciliti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
So glad we are able to make your stay so comfortable and enjoyable , though when people appreciate the little touches like you did , it becomes a pleasure to look after them .
Look forward to welcoming you back later in the year for some more "lake district magic"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
25
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashton-under-Lyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We have stayed with Marion and Pete since they took over Goodwin House 16 years ago and we have never considered staying anywhere else. The bedrooms are more comfortable than most top class hotels and selection of drinks and biscuits are brilliant, have to mention Pete's breakfasts which are legendary. You will always get a great welcome and want to return to Goodwin House. Audrey H

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your review . Always gratifying to know guests have enjoyed their stay with us , and that we are doing "our job" to a high standard. Regular guests like yourselves are so important to us , and we are delighted that after 16 years your still enjoy your stays and feel "at home"
Hope we have you for many years to come .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Marion and Peter are the perfect very welcoming hosts, and it's no surprise therefore that I've stayed at their excellent b and b at least four times. Not only are the rooms very comfortable, with everything you could need, but Marion has the ability to think of special touches which make Goodwin House stand out from the crowd. Little sweets, bowls of fruit and chocolates in the bedroom for example. And then there's the breakfast - fantastic in every respect. The quality, variety of items and quantity can't be faulted. I'll definitely be staying again - hopefully at the 2014 Keswick Mountain Festival.

Room Tip: No special tips - no real traffic to disturb sleep in a side street in Keswick,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susanlucas1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your review , and so pleased that you continue to enjoy your stays with us .
Always a pleasure to welcome guests back , and gratifying to know we are doing our job correctly -- your comfort and enjoyment is the most important thing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Always a pleasure to stay with Peter and Marion in such a warm, friendly and clean B&B
With hearty food, spacious rooms and a central location, a truly enjoyable experience where the hosts provide little extras which make a big difference.
Numerous visits, never disappointed.
Always eager to return.

Room Tip: Take advice from owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 117Rogerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you for your comments . Has always been a pleasure to have you stay .
We always enjoy a laugh over breakfast which makes our day as well ,
Hope we see you for many years to come .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Marion made us very welcome, the pot of strawberries was an extra special touch along with a good selection of the usual beverages and biscuits.
Beds were extremely comfortable and breakfast was top quality. Loved the surprise element at breakfast.
Would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Keswick. A great friendly lady.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us , and indeed for the comments.
I only treat people the way I would like to be treated when having a break , so we obviously share the same "likes"
Look forward to being able to welcome you both again in the future .
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I have stayed with Pete and Marion a few times and would never concider staying anywhere else when I visit Keswick. Its ideal location and friendly welcome make it a perfect place to stay.i have stayed at different times of the year and its always the same excellent standard. They are very knowledgeable about the area and will help with anything , walks, ,restaurants, things to do.its a great family place and Keswick has something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maldonaldson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Certainly is a beautiful area , and it is always a pleasure to welcome guests who appreciate the area and love it as much as we do .
Very much looking forward to seeing you again soon we hope , when work allows you to "escape" .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
650 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Goodwin House for two days. Marion was standing out front as we had gotten lost several times without GPS in the UK. That was a very welcoming touch. She was taken a number of hospitality courses as shown by certificates on the wall and it's quite evident that she has the will and the way to be an outstanding hostess. She's very people-oriented. She is very proud of the history of the house--clearly someone very committed to loving this house. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful served in an airy dining room with fireplace with windows facing two sides. Only ding, and it's not very major as this place was very clean, was that the furnishings of the room seemed a bit dull. This house is in a good location for walking to the downtown, and with good views of the mountains out the windows on the third floor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feenixwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Many thanks for your review. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the wonderful history of our home .
I have noted that you felt the decor / furnishings were on the dull side. In fact the chairs were replaced the following week by new leather tub chairs , and certainly we will consider this when redecorating in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
Littlefield Guesthouse
Littlefield Guesthouse
#93 of 175 in Keswick
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandon Guest House
Sandon Guest House
#94 of 175 in Keswick
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tarn Hows Guest House
Tarn Hows Guest House
#83 of 175 in Keswick
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bluestones Guest House
Bluestones Guest House
#103 of 175 in Keswick
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
Babbling Brook Guesthouse
#40 of 175 in Keswick
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalkeith Guest House
Dalkeith Guest House
#89 of 175 in Keswick
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwin House

Property: Goodwin House
Address: 29 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwin House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history Goodwin House maintains many of its original features whilst providing modern day quality en-suite accommodation.Situated in an excellent location for town, Lake or Theatre it is also an ideal base to visit all over The Lake DistrictComfortable rooms , adjustable central heating , substanstial hospitality try , hairdryers as well as TV and radio clock alarms plus little extra touches during your stayHearty breakfasts set you up for the day ( special diets catered for with advance notice) Weather forecasts posted daily , but if you are "caught out" our drying room is on hand 24/7 Flasks filled free of charge and packed lunches available ( please order night before)Let us provide the comfort from which you can enjoy your break away ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Goodwin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwin House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing