We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very welcoming”
Review of Goodwin House

Goodwin House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Goodwin House
Ranked #95 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a superb property to use. Very clean, comfortable and friendly. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome and even reserve car accommodation for us. The breakfast was fantastic and the little extras supplied were very appreciated. Thankyou so much for making our stay so good and I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and your kind comments .
Was a delight to look after you both and glad that we were able to make a rather "sad" stay into a pleasant and rewarding experience . Hope the rest of your trip went well .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Goodwin House. Marion was friendly and helpful throughout our visit and the location is perfect for easy access to walks and the center of town. We will definitely be back for future visits. Keswick is beautiful, what a great trip! We also loved the breakfast and the little extra treats that were in our room each day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thanks for your kind review . We were delighted to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed not only the house and our service , but also the area and the walking you did . Pleased we were able to live up to Chris's recommendation . Hope to see you back again in the UK sometime .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This B&B is of an exceptionally high standard and included an information folder with recommended walks and local points of interest, and an array of local magazines and leaflets showcasing the area. Marion gave us a warm welcome and was pleasant and informative. The room was of a very good standard and included a large selection of different teas and good quality shortbread and coffee (not the usual standard fodder often supplied). We only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer, the breakfast was of a very high standard and plentiful also included a home made muffin which was a nice touch. The location is excellent and parking can be found in nearby streets. Not long after we checked out she called to tell us we had forgotten a folder and she would post it to us - which I thought was really helpful - as it happened we were nearby and returned to collect it. I would thoroughly recommend a booking you won't be disappointed. I would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefly321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments , so good to know that you found everything to a high standard , and enjoyed your time with us , albeit just overnight .
Many of our guests have stayed before , so it is good to know "new" people find we give a good service and like the house .
Hope we will see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Marion and Peter are the ideal hosts in their lovely B&B at Goodwin House. Nothing is too much trouble and every last detail is catered for. The rooms are beautifully kept and maintained to a very high standard. A little extra treat awaits you as you open your door. Breakfasts are to suit individual choice and the service impeccable. You will love to sit and enjoy the extra touches like fresh flowers, local maps and guides and if you are a walker, you can request the daily Met. forecast. The atmosphere is friendly, welcoming and relaxed.
It was my third visit and I shall return again and again. Thoroughly recommendable. A big thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments . It is always good to hear that guest appreciate the "extra" touches . Our aim is to please and make you feel relaxed allowing you to enjoy your time with us and the beauty of the surrounding area . Pleased to know the weather forecasts , maps etc are helpful to you .We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Excellent hosts, brilliant central location only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Keswick. fabulous breakfast with a large choice. It was really good value for money and the hosts go out of their way to make you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizziebee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments . We are delighted you found the house and ourselves good value for money , and enjoyed your stay . Was a pleasure to welcome you to our home , and hope we will see you return in the not to distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at Goodwin house for just two nights but would happily have stayed for longer. Marion was extremely friendly and accomodating and probably one of the best B&B propriorters i've experienced!

The breakfast was enormous and just what we needed for a day of hiking, but if the full english isn't to your taste, there was lots of choice. The house is a lovely propery and the room we sayed in was spacious, the en-suite clean, and lots of local information was made available. You can tell a lot of care is taken to ensure that guests have a great stay.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fin281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2013

Thank you for your kind comments we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
It is always good to know that people find how we choose to run the business , an enjoyable experience and we do hope we will see you back again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My stay was everything I had hoped for in a guest house--clean, warm and friendly hosts, excellent breakfast with almost too much to eat. The helpfulness of the host added an important quality to my stay. She loves what she does and it shows in her attentiveness to her guests and to the care of the home. She is also very knowledgeable about the history of the house and Lake District which provides a real benefit to getting comfortable with a new place. The house is easily accessible from the centre of town but just outside of the hustle and bustle. I would definitely book another stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LindaLL711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lakesTTbabe, Owner at Goodwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for the kind comments in your review. Have to say it was a pleasure having you stay with us . Knowing the knowledge we had helped make your stay more comfortable is a good to know as some times we are unsure how much information guests need , but feel the more we give the better you feel you know us and the area.
Will look forward to welcoming you back for another " Southey" conference here in Keswick .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
781 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwin House

Address: 29 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodwin House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history Goodwin House maintains many of its original features whilst providing modern day quality en-suite accommodation.Situated in an excellent location for town, Lake or Theatre it is also an ideal base to visit all over The Lake DistrictComfortable rooms , adjustable central heating , substanstial hospitality try , hairdryers as well as TV and radio clock alarms plus little extra touches during your stayHearty breakfasts set you up for the day ( special diets catered for with advance notice) Weather forecasts posted daily , but if you are "caught out" our drying room is on hand 24/7 Flasks filled free of charge and packed lunches available ( please order night before)Let us provide the comfort from which you can enjoy your break away ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goodwin House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing