We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Honister House
Nearby Hotels
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$355
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
330
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
330
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarol gedhomemade biscuitsb blake districthome made cakesa hot water bottleparking permitgreat hostscentral car parkhome from homethe location is perfectnothing is too much troublewarm welcomebreakfast was deliciousbeer festivalbed and breakfastfull english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Spent three wonderfull nights at this amazing b b John and Suzie are wonderfull mine hosts and it is a joy to stay there.THey excel in every departmen,having worked in high class country house hotels for 40 years what they achieve is truelly wonderfull The attention to detail is a joy to behold and the breakfast experience is fantastic,even down to the mango with the black pudding,try it.A massive thank you to you both for a lovely time and we hope to return to honister soon

Room Tip: Cat bells was very good and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob644366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for such a great review.....and particularly appreciated when it was penned by a very experienced chef. Our "Best Breakfast" award has to be earned every year, and appreciation of the quality of our food shows we continue to try to live up to this award.
We look forward to your return.
John and Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent five nights with John and Susie at their beautiful home between Christmas and New Year and everything was just perfect. From the moment we arived we had a very warm welcome, their efforts to give this quality of service to guests meant that despite the very wet weather, we came home feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and contented. We enjoyed wonderful organic breakfasts - the choice of both hot and cold was tremendous, the cooked choice was always beautifully cooked, whether it was a full English or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or something from the vegetarian selection. After long, drenching walks we came back to a lovely warm house, have all our wet, muddy gear dried whilst we enjoyed homemade cookies, had showers that were good and hot and then wrap up in the large,fluffy bath towels.
The house is very tastefully decorated, lovely china for those satisfying breakfasts sitting at a beautifully laid table.
Honister House is a very special place, made so by John and Susie - thoughtful and caring with everthing they do - be it breakfasts, packed lunches, walking advice. Everything has been thought about - what a find. We'll definitely come back. Thanks for everything.
The house is well placed in Keswick, near enough to the wonderful selection of Restaurants, yet is quiet enough when inside.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Wow!
Thanks for such a lovely review. It does make our efforts so worthwhile and demonstrates that those extra touches can make all the difference. We cannot promise excellent weather when you next return but the welcome will be warm!
John and Susie Stakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We visited Keswick with friends to walk and go to Theatre by the Lake. John and Susie could not have been more helpful - they allowed us to drop off our luggage at noon on our day of arrival, did everything they could to help and served a great breakfast - very tasty and not so much we felt stuffed. Never had black pudding with mango before - an interesting twist! Rooms very comfortable, and we appreciated the free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMPC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My wife and I spent three nights with John and Susie and had a lovely time. They were perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful. The house is very well situated for all shops etc, the breakfast was great with lots of choice. We can recommend Honister house and will certainly stay with them again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 424Frankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Thanks for posting such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us so much, and look forward to seeing you again
John and Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Excellent location (just opposite Fishers - how much better could you get?), lovely rooms, fresh-baked cookies, delicious breakfasts, all made perfect by the perfect hosts, John & Susie.

Why does TA have a 200 character minimum? I think I've said all I need to say.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Projapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Thanks for taking the time to compose and post such a wonderful review.It is very much appreciated and helps to make what we do so enjoyable. We would be very happy to see you again.
John and Susie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews