We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Weekend”
Review of Honister House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Honister House
Ranked #19 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Honister House. This is a lovely B&B and John & Susie are fantastic hosts from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave. We love the lovely finishing touches in the rooms, delightful homemade cookies on the welcome tray and lovely local toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast's are exceptional with plenty of choice, the fresh fruit salad was fantastic, the hot cooked breakfast set us up for the day. The breakfast is cooked with locally sourced food which is delightful. There are only 3 rooms in the house and it is a nice touch to sit around the lovely big dining room table with our fellow guests, both of whom where there the previous year. We have a great conversation over breakfast with John and Susie who can tell lots about the area, restaurants, places to visit etc. This is a lovely place to stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone going to the Lakes. We have booked to go back again next year - what better recommendation do you need. Thank you John and Susie for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the car park pass it will save you a fortune in the car park and costs very little from Susi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WallaseyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We returned from Honister House on Sunday evening, having spent a most enjoyable two nights with our Canadian visitors at this exceptional B & B. John & Suzie were kind, curteous and welcoming. The breakfast's were exceptional with plenty of choice of juices, fresh fruit, and a good hot breakfast to set us up for the day.
We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Catbells was the bigger room with a good view Causey Pike was slightly smaller, but very adequate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annickmeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Absolutely perfect B&B. We arrived very late on our first night after terrible traffic, and John and Susie sorted it out for us so there was no stress at all when we arrived. Had the scrambled egg one morning, and the full fry up the other, and both were incredibly tasty. There's obviously tons of fresh toast, juice, yogurt etc. too.

Stayed in Causey Pike, which isn't huge, but is a lovely bright, airy room with the most comfy bed imaginable. Has all the necessary features and some: wifi, high power shower, every tea/coffee under the sun. The location is brilliant; right in the centre of Keswick and really easily accessible by car. Parking in the Central Car park is incredibly convenient too. We need to go back to Keswick later in the year, and this will definitely be the first place I call, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone; it's everything you could want.

Room Tip: "Causey Pike" is beautiful. Haven't tried the other rooms, but I bet they're all f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

What a way to reach our first "ton" ie our one hundredth review! We are so glad your long journey from London proved to be so worthwhile. We try to make everyone's stay relaxing and are so glad we succeeded in the relatively short time you were able to stay. We are also pleased you were able to sample Keswick's many attractions including the lake, theatre and Honister Slate Mine at the head of beautiful Borrowdale.
See you later in the year we hope.
John and Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Visited Keswick for a much needed weekend break. We were very fortunate to get any accommodation due to late booking and the bank holiday weekend, so lucky someone had cancelled. Even more fortunate to find Honister House. What a warm and friendly B&B with the best Vegetarian breakfast (not just an option but choices!) in the Lake District. The weather was glorious and so was the B&B. Heaven! Thanks John & Susie, see you soon.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jonolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thanks for such a wonderful review......we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to cater well for all diets including vegetarian, vegan, coeliac etc and to give people real choices not just the odd option. Hope to see you both soon
John and Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Spent three wonderfull nights at this amazing b b John and Suzie are wonderfull mine hosts and it is a joy to stay there.THey excel in every departmen,having worked in high class country house hotels for 40 years what they achieve is truelly wonderfull The attention to detail is a joy to behold and the breakfast experience is fantastic,even down to the mango with the black pudding,try it.A massive thank you to you both for a lovely time and we hope to return to honister soon

Room Tip: Cat bells was very good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob644366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thanks for such a great review.....and particularly appreciated when it was penned by a very experienced chef. Our "Best Breakfast" award has to be earned every year, and appreciation of the quality of our food shows we continue to try to live up to this award.
We look forward to your return.
John and Susie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We spent five nights with John and Susie at their beautiful home between Christmas and New Year and everything was just perfect. From the moment we arived we had a very warm welcome, their efforts to give this quality of service to guests meant that despite the very wet weather, we came home feeling rejuvenated, relaxed and contented. We enjoyed wonderful organic breakfasts - the choice of both hot and cold was tremendous, the cooked choice was always beautifully cooked, whether it was a full English or scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or something from the vegetarian selection. After long, drenching walks we came back to a lovely warm house, have all our wet, muddy gear dried whilst we enjoyed homemade cookies, had showers that were good and hot and then wrap up in the large,fluffy bath towels.
The house is very tastefully decorated, lovely china for those satisfying breakfasts sitting at a beautifully laid table.
Honister House is a very special place, made so by John and Susie - thoughtful and caring with everthing they do - be it breakfasts, packed lunches, walking advice. Everything has been thought about - what a find. We'll definitely come back. Thanks for everything.
The house is well placed in Keswick, near enough to the wonderful selection of Restaurants, yet is quiet enough when inside.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewigg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
honisterhouse, Owner at Honister House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Wow!
Thanks for such a lovely review. It does make our efforts so worthwhile and demonstrates that those extra touches can make all the difference. We cannot promise excellent weather when you next return but the welcome will be warm!
John and Susie Stakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We visited Keswick with friends to walk and go to Theatre by the Lake. John and Susie could not have been more helpful - they allowed us to drop off our luggage at noon on our day of arrival, did everything they could to help and served a great breakfast - very tasty and not so much we felt stuffed. Never had black pudding with mango before - an interesting twist! Rooms very comfortable, and we appreciated the free wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACMPC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#6 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
475 reviews
0.1 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
605 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honister House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honister House

Address: 1 Borrowdale Rd, Keswick CA12 5DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £78 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Honister House is located closer to the heart of Keswick than any other B&B, just a short stroll from the charming Market Square, the 100-year-old Cinema, the Theatre and Derwent Water. With only three guest rooms, Honister House is ideal if you're looking for a relaxed and welcoming place to stay. We cook breakfast fresh to order, have lots of options available and use high quality produce. We're happy to cater for special dietary needs. Our hospitality trays include filter coffee, a wide range of teas, and home-baked treats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Honister House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honister House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing