We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend with the family”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Skiddaw from living room Large well equipped kitchen with original tiled floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View of Skiddaw from living room
Large well equipped kitchen with original tiled floor
Dining room with large pine dining table seating 12 comfortably
Dining room with easy access to kitchen.
Spacious lounge with three sofas, open fire, TV and DVD.
Light, spacious lounge with stunning views of Skiddaw Range (whatever the weather).
Double room on middle floor with period features such as cast iron Victorian fireplace.
Twin room on top floor with exposed beams and Victorian fireplace.
Twin room on top floor with awesome views over Skiddaw Range.
Large bedroom on ground floor with TV and DVD.
One of three shower rooms
Bunk room on top floor with double base and full-size single above for flexible use.
Large ground floor bedroom with full-size bunks for four.
Rear yard
The bustling Keswick market square, just a few minutes walk from Abernethy
Fitz park field and play area/park (3 mins from door)
Derwentwater, 15 minute walk (flat) from door
Family canoeing, one of many outdoor activities nearby
View of Keswick from Latrigg, a family walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wjoolsp
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great weekend with the family”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Our first time visit to Keswick. It may have rained but we had a wonderful weekend. The setting is breathtaking so take your camera! We enjoyed the walks, local galleries, cafe's and the odd pub. The house was ideal as pretty central with large, comfortable communal rooms and three bathrooms with much needed hot showers after our wet walks. Will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How central the property was. Clean, spacious and very comfortable.
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRODY2
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location, definitely would book again.”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed in half term week with my 8 other members of my family. This house was perfect. Plenty of room, clean, nicely decorated and just a short walk to Keswick centre. 3 bathrooms meant no waiting around in the mornings so we could get out to enjoy Keswick. Best equipped Kitchen I have come across in a rented house too...made our group meals easier! Would not hesitate to book Abernethy again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev F
1 review
“Perfectly placed home from home for the town centre and the walking!”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Myself and 7 friends stayed at Abernethy for a long weekend and loved it. Perfect for the town centre - good job, as I managed to fracture my foot beforehand and couldn't walk far, so well placed for all the fab shops! Lovely house or home I should say as that's what it felt like.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsOrehaw...
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Townhouse”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Brilliant spacious townhouse which was well equipped and roomy for the 11 of us that stayed. Could not fault the property at all - fantastic location - less than 10 minutes into the centre of Keswick :)

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elthorne...
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house in easy walking distance of Keswick town centre”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The property enables a large group to enjoy Keswick and the surrounding areas perfectly. We came to take part in lots of outdoor activities. It is so close to the town centre you can walk very easily.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: central position, always warm, lots of hot water, large enough for all of us
Liked least: car parking can be a struggle
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryPJ201...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family friendly and perfect location”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We – that is my 3 children, their partners and 8 grandchildren, stayed in this lovely house in Keswick for 2 nights.

We found the accommodation perfect for us all, and we all fitted in without too much squash! The location of the house was even more
ideal as we didn’t need to use the cars all weekend. Easy walking (and safe) down to the lakeside and also Fitz park was very accessible
with a very suitable playground and cafe for all ages!

The only downside was the weather – rather cold for June, but the house was very cosy and warmed up beautifully!

Would definitely recommend a visit 5*!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChiddenBi...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
“Cosy yet Spacious with Everything We Needed!”
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Abernethy is a beautiful large house right in the centre of Keswick. The house is a great HQ for any walking get away. The house is spacious with two large communal areas to eat food or gather around the fire and watch a film.

The kitchen has everything you need (just take your own food) and all the bedroom have plenty of room for 12 guests. Abernethy is a far nicer house than the price may suggest. We will definitely be making plans to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the kitchen and dinning space
Liked least: the mattresses could be a little comfier
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing