We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice place to stay”
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence House
Ranked #13 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A really nice place to stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I have been regular visitors to the Lake District, mostly staying in and around Keswick, for the past 20 years. We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Clarence House and were very impressed. Richard and Karen at Clarence House are genuinely friendly and helpful people. Their B&B establishment is newly decorated and furnished with taste, (thankfully) not brash, just a nice quality feeling throughout. Karen's breakfasts are truly excellent, well recommended. All in all, Clarence House is a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flat-Cap-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Flat Cap Man

Thank you for taking the time to review us and thank you so much for recommending us to others. It's also very kind of you to comment on the decor and Karens' breakfasts - it makes all the hard work worthwhile.

Please visit us again

Best Wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
252
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is the first time I have ever had the need to write a review. Karen and Richard run the most wonderful guest house I believe we have ever stayed in. The hospitality was exceptional, the rooms are simply fantastic. Not a spot of dust that my keen eye could find. Karen’s breakfast really sets you up for the day, poached eggs are fantastic, and Richards’s local knowledge allowed Sue & me to plan our days so as not to waste a minute. I don’t believe I have ever slept so well anywhere else, proper comfy.
We will be back at Clarence House in the near future and at the time of writing this we are already planning our next visit to Karen & Richard’s really lovely establishment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Terry & Sue

Thank you for posting your very first review on Tripadvisor on Clarence House - we're honoured. It's immensely satisfying for us to hear that you enjoyed your stay here so much and it would be lovely to see you both again.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

How we look forward to returning to Clarence House. The welcome, the accommodation, the food and the ever pleasant family. Karen and Richard offer such informative and sincere advice - if only other guest houses were as discerning and caring. Thank you once again for everything you provide - including advice about the area, restaurants, walks and especially the cosy and clean rooms and bathrooms. There is nothing negative to be said - we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Ann

Many thanks for coming back to stay with us once again and for continuing to provide us with such positive feedback. We're very lucky to have some wonderful regular customers and it makes our job a real pleasure. We love helping our guests to get the most out of their time in Keswick with walks, good places to eat etc...

Hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Thank you Richard & Karen for looking after us so well during our trip! The room was immaculate, spotlessly clean through tout the whole of the house & so easy to get into Keswick! Brilliant breakfast, so much to choose from!! Book this B&B, you won't regret it, we will be returning!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Rachel

One of the nice things about this business is getting return visits from lovely guests such as yourselves. We really appreciate your repeated custom and these fantastic reviews.

Thanks again and please come back

Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We received a very warm welcome for our return visit. The accomodation is absolutely first class, so comfortable and has everything you need. It is perfectly located close to Keswick town centre. The breakfasts are scrummy and perfectly cooked by Karen. We highly recommend this B&B, you certainly won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: I recommend the sausages for breakfast, Karen sources them locally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Maz1201

It was great to see you again and thank you so much for yet another great review. It's very kind and thoughtful of you and we do hope to see you again next year.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We spent two nights at Clarence House...Karen and Richard are both really lovley people...soo very friendly and care about there guest,s...our room was like the rest of there house very clean and cosy...the fabulous breakfast with lots of choice eg..fresh fruit..very tasty fry up...cereal..yoghurts..and my favourite smoke salmon bagel with scrambled egg this is soo yummy!!! You must try it..the breakfast filled us up till dinner time...Keswick is a very beautiful place with lots to do and very nice people..Richard and Karen have a great deal of knowledge of the area and are always willing to spend time talking with you...thank you...from carol&mick briggs

Room Tip: We had room 3,lovley bay window..comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Carol & Mick

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Clarence House. It was great for us to have such friendly guests all the way from Essex and we do hope the rest of your travels went well. If you should venture north to these parts again please give us a call.

Many thanks and best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Great place, Karen and Richard are very welcoming. Richard has good knowledge of local walks for all abilities. The house itself is spotlessly clean, warm and comfy. There is a good choice of breakfast. Would highly recommend. What more can we say....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Sharon & Colin

Thanks for coming to visit us at Clarence House and for recommending us to other travellers. It's really nice for us to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in Keswick - despite the weather.

Please come and visit us again.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#7 of 173 in Keswick
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Nigel welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attractive dining room, complete with Victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing