We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first visit but not the last!”
Review of Clarence House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarence House
Ranked #12 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our first visit but not the last!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My partner and I are keen outdoor types but had never been to The lakes before. After a bit of research we chose Keswick and Clarence House to be our base for 3 nights and we're really pleased that we did. Throughout the whole booking process (done direct with them for the best price) Richard was friendly, helpful and efficient. This set the tone for our whole time at Clarence House which was lovely and clean and welcoming. We were very happy with our double bedroom (on the 2nd floor) and the tasty biscuits, mineral water and free WiFi were great bonuses. Karens breakfasts were a super start to the day and we found we needed very little to eat again until evening time. As new visitors to this area we asked Richard for loads of advice on walks, scenic drives, restaurants etc.... and his assistance was spot on every time - superb. Many many thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely come and stay here again

Room Tip: All the guests we spoke to at breakfast were happy with their rooms and all said it was nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBristolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear LadyBristolian

We are so pleased to read that your first visit to these parts was such a success for you and thank you for choosing our Guest House. We are always very happy to share our love of this beautiful area with our guests and help them make the most of their time here. Many thanks for all of the kind comments about our house and we do hope you will come and see us again.

Best Wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
250
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at Clarence House with friends, we had a lovely warm welcome from Richard and Karen and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely and clean and had nice toiletries and fluffy white towels, the breakfast was very tasty especially the fresh fruit salad. Richard gave us lots of good tips for walks and also places to eat. We met Alfie the friendly Labrador who was adorable, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Sue

Many thanks for this lovely review and to you, your husband and your friends for coming to stay with us. We love Keswick and we're always delighted to help our guests discover its charms. When we see our visitors enjoying their walks and eating and drinking out with friends it gives us tremendous satisfaction to know we have helped to make peoples visit an enjoyable experience. Thank you so much for the very kind comments about us and our guest house and our Alfie.

Please come and see us again

Regards

Karen, Richard & Alfie (woof-woof)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014

my wife and i had a lovely week at this well run guest house; Richard and Karen are most welcoming and also nothing is too much trouble. Always willing to help and give good ideas for the day. Really had great breakfasts, set up for the day! Good location in the main residential part of town, with lovely well presented older houses. Parking is a bit of a problem but not unduly troublesome. Actually left one of 'phone chargers, however, soon returned in the post by Richard; many thanks Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwilym J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Gwilym J

Thank you for coming to stay with us and for leaving this positive review. We're really pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your time at Clarence House and Karen's home-cooked breakfasts. We're glad that you received your phone charger safely - it was no problem at all to send it on to you - all part of the service. Keswick was extremely busy during your stay with thousands of people, like your good selves, attending the annual convention but our guests were still able to find a free parking spot within very close walking distance. As you say, not unduly troublesome.

Thank you again and best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed at Clarence House with friends. A lovely B&B well furnished with beautiful rooms. Very welcoming. Richard and Karen were able to share walks and good places to eat, they have a fab knowledge of the area. Breakfast was superb and lots of it. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmpope68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear rmpope68

Thanks for this lovely review, It was a real pleasure for us to have you and your friends as guests and we're really pleased to read that your stay was such a an enjoyable experience for you all. Very well done for getting up Skiddaw in such hot conditions - your bottle of bubbly to celebrate was richly deserved!

Hope to see you all again soon, very best wishes

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is no ordinary B&B, this truly is a guest house. With their warm, open personalities Richard and Karen have the knack of making folks feel like treasured guests - welcomed and cared for during their stay. The rooms are spotlessly clean, pretty and comfortable and the breakfast very well prepared, presented and tasty. They both obviously love Keswick and the surrounding area and give great ideas for where to visit, walk and eat. We would not hesitate to recommend and hope that we might be able to visit again sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear MrForgetful

We are extremely grateful to you for posting this wonderful review and for the complimentary comments about your stay with us. It was a real pleasure for us to have such friendly and cheerful guests and we do hope you will come and see us again. We can't guarantee the weather will always be as sunny and hot as it was during your visit to Keswick but we can assure the welcome will always be warm.

Thanks again and kind regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We can't thank Richard and Karen enough for a wonderful break in Keswick at their lovely B&B. It's location was perfect for us, nice and quiet but only a short walk from all that Keswick has to offer. Richard gave us great ideas on places to eat and drink and also lent us some guide books and maps for local walks. Our room was lovely and clean and fresh with high quality white cotton bedlinen and some scrumptious biscuits on the tray. The free WiFi was also very welcome. We really enjoyed our breakfasts and just felt really relaxed and well looked after the whole time. We are certainly coming back to Keswick and Clarence House of course.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artfulbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Artfulbloke

Thank you so much for this very kind review. We are always very happy to help our guests enjoy their visit to Keswick by offering the best service we can and by giving advice and assistance if it's required. Please venture north up the M6 to visit us again, it would be lovely to see you both.

Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed on business room pleasant and cosy very clean nice shower host went out of their way even left maps in my room for short walks knowing I only had a couple of hours in the evening to go walking perfect breakfast excellent quality and more than enough will be back soon

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sunlover009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, Owner at Clarence House, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Sunlover009

Many thanks for this fantastic review and for being such a friendly and considerate guest. It would be very nice to welcome you to Clarence House again in the near future, whether you are up here on business or for leisure.

Thank you again.

Kind Regards

Karen & Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
321 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence House

Property: Clarence House
Address: 14 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jane and Nigel welcome you to Clarence House. A fine detached victorian guest house, recently refurbished to offer a high standard of accommodation. Friendly, clean and comfortable. Conveniently located in a quiet residential location but just 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre and 10 minutes from the lake. All rooms have been completely refurbished and are now decorated and furnished in a smart and relaxing style. They all offer quality oak and pine furniture, generous hospitality trays and free broadband WiFi.Breakfast is served in the spacious and attractive dining room, complete with Victorian fireplace. Guests can choose from a number of breakfast options as well as help-yourself cereals, juices, yoghurts and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Clarence House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing