We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ellas Crag Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Borrowdale Gates Hotel(Grange-in-Borrowdale)
US$237
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
29
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscausey pikeporridgecatbellsflapjackloungehostsbreakcosy
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a fab guesthouse in an excellent location, walks from the door including Catbells. Excellent, friendly hosts & Truffle the cat. Best feature for us was use of the lounge, having a cuppa in the picture window & watching films from the large library. Never spent any time in a guesthouse lounge before but this one is modern, welcoming & cosy & has excellent all round views of the surrounding mountains. Breakfast was excellent, good choice & well presented. There is also a central serving station outside the bedrooms which works really well to make tea or coffee & biscuits are provided.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Causey Pike room which is a small but adequate double room with en suite & fab views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBeadbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Everything about this B&B was excellent! The views of the Catbells and Causey Pike were gorgeous. The rooms were spacious with clean, modern bathrooms. Jane and Ed were excellent hosts who were happy to help with our day trips. The breakfasts were delicious especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice and amazing omelettes. There were lots of extras like cake, cookies , tea and milk available. Lots of great hiking nearby. Keswick is very close and there were lots of pubs for dinners. The Pheasant Inn and the fish and chips store both in Keswick were great. The entire area is beautiful and relaxing and we saw lots of sheep. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the Lake District.
Roger, Judy and Bonnie from Canada

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This place should be ranked higher on Tripadvisor. The setting is absolutely gorgeous - with stunning views everywhere you look. Ed and Jane are very nice, laidback hosts. They are always available if you have a question, but they are never in your face. Breakfasts were very good and vegetarian friendly which I appreciated! The breakfast room was nice and had views of the Catbells. For our hike on Catbells, Jane made us a bag lunch which was amazing (sandwich with the best, softest, most delicious bread EVER, water, fruit, chips (crisps) and juice). Also, you can walk to the start of the Catbells hike from Ellas Crag - about 15 minute walk through really beautiful country lanes. You will see a lot of sheep!

We stayed in the room with the large bath and shower- can't remember the name - it was indeed spacious and had great views. Plenty of space to lay-out all of our toiletries and the like.

Great location not only for hikes/walks nearby, but also to Keswick. Plenty of good pubs nearby (we ate in nearby Buttermere which had two decent pubs - the Bridge and the Fish).

Ellas Crag is highly recommended. I would stay here again no question.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We were fortunate to have two nights at this splendid B&B. We were warmly welcomed and presented with home made cake to help us settle in. The room was spotless, spacious and the views were amazing. The bathroom was huge, modern and had everything you could possibly wish for. A range of luxury tea, coffee and biscuits were available on the landing between the three guest rooms. We took our tea down to the patio to enjoy the early evening sunshine and watch the walkers scrambling to the top of catbells. My partner used his new telescope for the first time, no light pollution and clear skies meant he saw the moon properly for the first time! Breakfast was perfect, the setting and views were beautiful and we had an abundance of home made preserves, freshly baked home made bread and a full english to set us up for the day. Just a few minutes drive frmo Kewsick with lots of restaurants for the evening, I will definitely return. Thank you to Jane, Ed and Truffle the cat for making us feel so welcome in your beautiful home.

Room Tip: We had the Robinson room which had a huge deep bath, power shower and views to die for.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise9Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A gorgeous home, with lovely hosts in Ed and Jane, great breakfast, great advice on local trails and eateries, Excellent location for getting to trails, wonderful views of catbells and local area. Ideal for climbing Causey Pike. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews