We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage in beautiful village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Millside Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Véronique...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy cottage in beautiful village”
Reviewed 26 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Easy access to the hills around. Very well-equipped cottage in the centre of the village of Braithwaite. The cottage was ideal for the three of us. We had a wonderful stay and will definitely come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Millside Cottage. Hope to see you again soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JadeChesh...
cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven.”
Reviewed 21 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is well situated and only a couple of minutes walk from the well stocked village shop. There are 4 eating venues in this small village so all needs can be catered for. At least 2 of them allow your dog to be present whilst you eat your meal.
I particularly enjoy this cottage because it has a small private back garden which is ideal for our dogs. The interior is of reasonable size and is always up to a good standard of decor.A good bus service is available and there are plenty of walks from the doorstep. We have stayed here at least 6 times.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. Lovely to hear that you (and the pooches!) enjoyed another stay in Millside Cottage and the village of Braithwaite. We hope to see you again soon. Keswick Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet c
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Surprisingly spacious!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for a week in July, 2 adults 2 kids and 1 dog, great cottage right in the centre of Braithwaite, it was surprisingly spacious inside with every amenity you could wish for. Two lovely pubs within walking distance and fantastic woodland walks in Whinlatter forest which is very close. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickwad
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect pet friendly holiday cottage”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Back again at this beautiful cottage. Couldn't fault it, there is everything you need for your stay. If only the weather was a good as the cottage.
This cottage is situated in the beautiful village of Braithwaite which has a nice village shop which stocks most of the essentials that you need. There are also a couple of nice pubs close by. We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevcrawle...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home, ideal.”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Always a pleasure to stay at Millside Cottage, this is our third year, speaks for itself. Cannot think of a negative, everything was great especially the lovely gas living flame fire, just the ticket after a day on the hill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennLG78
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Millside Cottage Braithwaite”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is our 3rd stay in Millside Cottage, it is a lovely place to stay any time of the year - nice walks and a loverly atmosphere in the village itself. Braithwaite is a nice little village with a well stocked shop and a couple of lovely pubs for something to eat and drink!
The cottage is spotless, has everything you would need for a stay, well stocked kitchen, comfortable living area and bedrooms. We have never had any need to contact the team/owners but numbers are available in the house if you need them.
Would recommend anyone to stay here, like I say we have visited 3 times before and will defiantly be going back!
Jenn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparklyma...
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday retreat in idyllic location!”
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our little family of 3 stayed at the wonderful Millside Cottage for a long weekend over New Years.

The stunning location and perfect cottage made it the most wonderful stay. The cottage is finished to a high standard, is very cosy and really well appointed; It offers everything you need, with the added bonus of a warming fire. The location is excellent with three pubs and a well stocked village store within walking distance and stunning scenery with endless walks from the doorstep. Highly recommended and we will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your wonderful review, we here at Keswick Cottages and the owners of Millside Cottage take great satisfaction in reading about your experience. Braithwaite is a truly wonderful village and I am so glad your little family enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing