We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic night Away and Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and we love it, from the moment we arrived on our first visit we loved it, we found it very relaxing and the food was great, the service was fab too, the rooms are always clean and tidy and all the staff are always happy to help and very friendly, The Branwood was recommended to us and we are so glad we stayed. The Branwood is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail197301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Brantwood Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

It's difficult sometimes when people write poor reviews - I like to find out for myself. I loath hotel chains, I enjoy individuality and hotels full of character - The Brantwood House is a real gem, nice well kept grounds and a hotel full of character and charm.

It's definitely now in my favourite file, I arrived late and left early so no food review, however, the bar and service was pleasurable.

Worth a visit for sure.

Room Tip: Room 7 is fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Recently had a lovely meal with my family at the Brantwood, I had the steak which was excellent the rest of my family had the ribs, they are the best ribs around if you like ribs do try the Brantwood you will not be disappointed. All the staff were very good and very helpful. Will most certainly go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 618janet29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A warm welcome but a disappointing experience. Background music in bar clashed with TV football creating a very unrelaxing cacophony. Carpet in dining room torn & patched with packing tape. Food no better than pub grub at twice the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Glasdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

we stayed at the brantwood one night was very dissapointed with the room very tatty the bathroom was also dissapointing the shower had to be held by hand has the holder was broken couldnt just stand and shower as normal the bed was very uncomfortable and the carpet was tatty paid hundred pound for one night was so glad we didnt book more could understand it if it was a £25 A NIGHT PLACE the best thing was the breakfeast would of been better off staying at the north lakes for £20 more this hotel really wants updating

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a lovely cosy small hotel (7 bedrooms) with a very welcoming atmosphere. It is an old building and it is a little shabby in places. We asked for a refurbished double room and were very happy with it; clean and comfortable, obviously recently decorated, with the usual complimentary toiletries in the bathroom, ample supply of tea,coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits and the bonus of Free Wi-fi. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner one evening and breakfast every morning, both were excellent with a good choice of fresh local produce. We will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room as the hotel is slowly being redecorated and is a little shabby in places
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Staying in Howtown and we couln't think where to go for our evening meal when i remembered the Brantwood, booked in and had another great meal with my friends, nice meal nice staff and nice atmosphere all added up to a great night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rodandnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
450 reviews
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
893 reviews
5.6 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range: £83 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing