We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on lake district outskirts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantwood Country Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on lake district outskirts”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is a hidden gem just outside the national park but only 3 miles from Pooley Bridge / Ullswater, and 2 miles from m6. The back of the hotel is lovely on a nice day, miles of countryside around. Had x4 rooms and all were nice but a little dated. Thankfully we stayed at the hotel for our evening meal, it was fabulous. Also a very good breakfast. All the staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. Recommended.

Room Tip: All were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    62
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
133
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake District
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We met up with some friends and decided to dine again at The Brantwood as it has been over two years since we last ate there. We were not disappointed on this occasion at all. Despite the restaurant being fairly busy, service was excellent and our various culinary requests dealt with professionally. The food was really rather good and we all enjoyed our various meals. It was also good to see that the washrooms had been modernized since our last visit. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XWA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The place looked good from the outside and we were taken there by a friend. There was one cask beer pump but no beer available. I tried lager but it was warm. The staff were lukewarm and we we shown to a table and chose from the menu. The food was only so so and no-one came to check. At the end of the meal were were asked how we found the food and we did make some comments which did seem to be shrugged off. We paid, left and will not return. I just felt happy that I was not planning to hold a function there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCGilfillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The hotel looks very promising from the outside as you approach it through a charming village on the edge of the Lake District. The interior is sadly in need of refurbishment, redecoration and general TLC.

Service is OK and the people who work there are friendly and charming. The room we stayed in was quite small with a large bed crammed into it which was very comfortable. The bathroom facilities were adequate though out dated. There were cracks in the plasterwork, scruffy furniture and some of the fixtures and light fittings didn't work.

The restaurant was average and food basic. For a one night stay this is OK and represented reasonable value although there are other options in the area which may be worth exploring.

Room Tip: Mind your head the doors are very low.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lanerope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We have just spent 2 lovely days at the hotel and I could not pick a fault even if i looked for one. The room was nice clean and tidy, the staff were very friendly and nothing was a problem for them. The grounds are well kept and overall just a lovely Hotel. We both enjoyed the food, but if you like spare ribs Brantwoods are a must. The locals are very friendly and dare I say the local Pub is very nice and friendly. All i can say now is give it a try and make your own mind up, I think you will be writing good reviews too.

Room Tip: I doesn't matter just enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and we love it, from the moment we arrived on our first visit we loved it, we found it very relaxing and the food was great, the service was fab too, the rooms are always clean and tidy and all the staff are always happy to help and very friendly, The Branwood was recommended to us and we are so glad we stayed. The Branwood is very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail197301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

It's difficult sometimes when people write poor reviews - I like to find out for myself. I loath hotel chains, I enjoy individuality and hotels full of character - The Brantwood House is a real gem, nice well kept grounds and a hotel full of character and charm.

It's definitely now in my favourite file, I arrived late and left early so no food review, however, the bar and service was pleasurable.

Worth a visit for sure.

Room Tip: Room 7 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
2.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
425 reviews
3.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantwood Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantwood Country Hotel

Property: Brantwood Country Hotel
Address: near the M6 & the A66 | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Brantwood Country Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brantwood Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantwood Country Hotel Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing