We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly guest house!”

Caledonia Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledonia Guest House
Ranked #21 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly guest house!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed on the Friday and Saturday night and from the moment we arrived we were greeted with warm friendly service. The rooms were immaculate and the breakfast was great. I opted for the full English both mornings whilst my girlfriend had the salmon n eggs one morning and haddock the next and considering she loves her weekend long lie-ins it takes a great breakfast to get her up at 8. Would highly recommend this guest house to any visitors to Penrith

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
35
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

As someone who usually stays in hotel chains, I was extremely pleased with the experience of staying at the Caledonia Guest House. The owners were attentive and welcoming, the room (we had a family room with double and two singles) were beautifully appointed. The bathroom was very small but clean and functional. The tea, coffee, water, biscuits etc were welcome. The location is quiet - but close to the town centre. The highlight was the breakfast (I hate hotel buffet breakfasts) - poached eggs cooked to perfection, with crispy bacon and wonderful nutty wholemeal toast. Oh, and remember to leave your key on the way out! (Sorry to Ian for that!).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed on a Thursday night just for the one night. The owners were very friendly on all contact we had with them. We had a room at the front and slept well. The rooms were spotless and had a generous supplies of the little things that make a difference, tea, coffee, soap towels etc.
The breakfast was scrumptious, with homemade granola and some very tasty fruit. The cooked was also lovely. Nothing was cardboardy and you could tell that it was locally sourced and tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigglesnpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

A warm welcome and one of the best breakfasts we've ever had. Thoroughly recommend the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and very much appreciated the wonderful selection of fruit. Secure storage for the bikes. Very handy position for the town though inevitably a bit noisy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 820christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed as part of a group on first night of C2C ride. Whole group was divided between here and another B&B two doors along, as the owners had liaised to get us all sorted out. Ian was very welcoming, the bikes got stored securely and the van was parked and locked in the back yard. Our shoes were taken to dry out, and we went to our rooms. I stayed in room 5 (twin beds)on the top floor. Spotlessly clean, nice bedding and a good shower. From a list of recommended restaurants we picked Gianni's, just a few minutes walk into town which accommodated all 17 of us and we had a lovely meal. We had been asked to fill in our breakfast requests and specify a time, so that we weren't all descending at once - initially I thought this might be a bit restrictive but it worked well, and Sue's home made granola with fresh fruit and a home made fruit compote was a winner (I asked for the granola recipe and will need to keep practising before I make it as well as Sue does!)
The only way it could improve? A bike valet service might be nice, as mine was still a bit mucky from taking a wrong turn along a mountain bike trail. Picky, me?
Also, if you are on the C2C, make sure you have digested your lovely breakfast before you leave as there is a fairly grim two mile climb out of Penrith to start you off on day 2, and you still have the delights of Hartside and Garrigill to come......

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeyblott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caledonia_9, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for a great review. Hope the granola recipe works out ok for you.
Hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Very welcoming, spotlessly clean, comfortable B&B with a good breakfast.

The central Penrith location on a route into the town centre provides great convenience but, let's face it, if you have a room at the front, you're going to have traffic noise.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will have traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caledonia_9, Owner at Caledonia Guest House, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for the review, your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed here on 1st night of a C2C trip. High standard for a B&B. Bike locked away in shed overnight and breakfast arranged early at our request. LAll pubs and resturants only 5 minutes walk, as is C2C route. A very comfortable stay would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
#23 of 61 in Penrith
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#22 of 61 in Penrith
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#15 of 61 in Penrith
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Victoria Guest House
#50 of 61 in Penrith
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 61 in Penrith
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#13 of 61 in Penrith
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Property: Caledonia Guest House
Address: 8 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledonia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing