We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caledonia Guest House

Caledonia Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Caledonia Guest House
Ranked #22 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Ian was very helpful indeed - coming out to show us the way, finding where the 508 bus to Ullswater goes from (a convenient nearby stop) and making sure we got back to the station on time. The breakfasts were delicious, and the bedroom had everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mratin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
34
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We received a lovely warm welcome. The secure parking at the back was great for the bikes. Our family room was excellent - spotlessly clean and well looked after. Breakfast was brilliant with lots of choice. One of the nicest guest houses I've stayed in - I'd recommend it to anyone. Excellent value for money.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TessnZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

After a very long and challenging cycle to get there we were warmly welcomed with the owners going above and beyond to be as accommodating and as helpful as possible. Really clean rooms and a great breakfast to set us up for another long day cycling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The first thing you experience on arrival is the warmth of the owners' greetings & they were very helpful in advising on trips out & local facilities & restaurants.
Our room was extremely comfortable & clean with a lovely shower in a bathroom that provided everything to be expected.
The breakfast was wonderful.
A good choice was offered & the local produce provided was all of top quality, including freshly squeezed orange juice!
Wonderful to eat but something of a handicap if you intend walking some serious walking!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gooner1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Great welcoming guesthouse with spotless rooms and fantastic selection of breakfast goodies from fresh fruit and cereal to full cooked English, the owners are very helpfull with places to eat and visit , town centre us only five minutes walk for shopping and eating places

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We were booked by our company for a stop-over in Penrith after a long drive from the South of England. There was a warm, friendly welcome even though we arrived quite late, and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable with all mod cons. Breakfast was brilliant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andydrinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairmore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived on 1st October tired and hungry from long trip from South of France and were very warmly welcomed by Ian and shown to a very comfortable and immaculate bedroom. Ian advised us where to eat our evening meal in the nearby town. Breakfast was a feast and beautifully served by Ian and Sue. A delightful couple who offer very friendly and attentive service. Secure parking for the car was an added bonus. Will definitely stay again. Thank you for the experience from two very tired travellers. Jan and Ian, Argyll

Room Tip: We had a room up the first few steps as my husband has back/hip mobility problems. Very quiet and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanM847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#17 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Guest House

Property: Caledonia Guest House
Address: 8 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledonia Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caledonia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing