We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our ideal traditional small country house bed and breakfast.”
Review of Tymparon Hall

Tymparon Hall
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tymparon Hall
Ranked #48 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our ideal traditional small country house bed and breakfast.”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My partner and I look forward each year to staying at Tymparon Hall. The setting is tranquil and picturesque and with colourful and well maintained gardens looking out to beautiful Lakeland scenery. The accommodation is traditional and very comfortable with thoughtful extras such as shampoo and conditioner. Alongside tea and coffee making facilities in each room are hot chocolate and perhaps a piece of cake or chocolate each day. The rooms are spacious, fresh and very clean. One room we stayed in had a bathroom and another a good traditional shower room but all very easy for washing waist length hair! The English breakfasts are great with local produce and are a sustaining start to the day. Margaret is caring, friendly and thoughtful without ever being intrusive. She has information on many local eating places for your evening meals. Car parking is convenient and secure next to the hall. In 20 years of working all over the country and staying in many B&Bs, we think Tymparon hall is the best and our favourite.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

My husband & I stayed at Tymparon Hall with our little girl. We were relieved to find accommodation that allowed us to stay only one night as we couldn't be away for two & most places we looked at only catered for longer stays.
Our room was large & comfortable & the ensuite stocked with shower gel, cotton wool & other toiletries that you are rarely provided in bed & breakfast accommodation. The garden was very pretty & the location very near to Ullswater & the Lakes. The breakfast was tasty - my husband was particularly taken with the bacon!
Margaret was very friendly & gave us some welcome tips on routes to take & places to go.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The hall is located in a peaceful rural setting and has a beautiful garden. The room was large and quiet. The bathroom was very small but adequate.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EweAndMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

A beautiful house full of character, with a lovely garden - see photo! Comfortable, large rooms with basic ensuite shower room. Great breakfast in another lovely room. There was also a sizeable lounge, but we weren't staying long enough to use this. Margaret is very helpful and has plenty of brochures with information on places to visit and menus for a couple of places to eat nearby - we tried The Herdwick Inn and the food was superb.

  • Liked — Beautiful house with character
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkney192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.3 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
9.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
2.7 mi away
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Sun Inn
The Sun Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Reigny
58 reviews
2.9 mi away
Norcroft Guest House
Norcroft Guest House
#29 of 61 in Penrith
41 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tymparon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tymparon Hall

Property: Tymparon Hall
Address: Newbiggin | Stainton, Penrith CA11 0HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Tymparon Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Tymparon Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tymparon Hall Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing