We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great b&b stay was to short”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wingate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great b&b stay was to short”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked here for my first stop on C2C bike ride. After cycling for over 8 hours the welcome was very warming and this was 20:30 at night. I had a room with a bath which was a very much needed supprise. Because of my travel i just needed sleep which i got with a comftable bed.I am sure if i needed anything then i only needed to ask and i would have been helped.
Next morning i got up to a lovely breakfast.
Only stayed just over twelve hours which was to short to enjoy this B&B. Hope to return and enjoy it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
79
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

10 of us stayed here after the first day on a c2c cycle for crossroads gateshead young careers charity we had cycled for 6 hours in the rain ! They dried all our wet clothes and stored all our bikes ! A great welcome ! The rooms are spotless and sooo warm n cosy the while house also smells amazing !!! The showers were fab n there is a lovely big bath tub too ! Breakfast in the morning was served brilliantly as we all needed feeding and out by 9 and the food was fabulous !! Would recommend this to groups , friends and couples x only 2 mins from town too so close to pubs n restaurants :) will b back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August. After seeing family in Scotland we'd decided to break up the journey on the way back and stay in Penrith to see some of the Lake District. Crosby is everything you want from a B&B - lovely house, room, comfy bed, good ensuite with a great shower and everything spotlessly clean. Not only that but also a truly fabulous breakfast. Dawn the owner cooks up a storm and could not have been more friendly. We're so glad we stayed here as deciding to see the Lake District was a last minute thing and we chose Penrith to avoid the crowded southern lakes. It was a good decision, Ullswater lake is just stunning and there's also a place nearby called Askham Hall gardens which is picture postcard perfect and has a wonderful café to boot.

The first night in Penrith we took pot luck in town for dinner and had a dire meal at a local Italian restaurant. The second night we drove to nearby Clifton on our way back from a boat trip at Ullswater and had an early dinner at the George and Dragon. Wonderful food and if you're staying in Penrith, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we had a wedding nearby. Crosby B&B really is a lovely place to stay. We had a great room which was beautifully decorated, extremely clean and very comfortable (and in the midst of a heat wave it was nice and cool too). The breakfasts were fantastic with a great selection and in a lovely setting. The owners were so lovely and I will definitely be staying here again if I visit Penrith.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cstars11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Crosby bed and breakfast for 2 nights. We checked in and were shown straight to our room by Dawn who was very friendly & welcoming upon our arrival. Our room and bathroom was very spacious and clean and decorated to a good standard. We felt comfortable & relaxed immediately and the bed was exceptionally comfortable in our room. Breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day. Dawn was very friendly but not in your face. The house is around 5-10 min walk from the centre which is ideal as we didn't want to stay in the centre. All in all I would recommend and certainly stay at the Crosby B&B again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurav5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Spent one night at Crosby and it was by no means long enough. A group of us met there for a reunion as it was central for us all and we were definitely not disappointed. Dawn was friendly and welcoming and made us all feel so welcome in her beautiful home. Nothing was a problem and we all fell in love with the pristine, tasteful decor. The beds were very comfy, often a family room has one comfy bed and a few uncomfy ones but not so here, we were warm and cosy and slept well on this lovely quiet residential street. Breakfast was just delicious, plenty of tasty local produce was just the perfect end to our stay. All six of us will highly recommend to family and friends and would happily return. A very happy break made even more special by such welcoming people and relaxing environment.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Whilst on a business trip we stayed at the Cosby B&B, the proprietor was a warm and welcoming lady. The house itself is beautiful with 2 ensuite rooms for guests. Both rooms are very well kept and beautifully clean. We stayed in the larger family room with three comfortable beds, all ammenities provided. The B&B is a short walk into town where we visited the Lounge bar for cocktails. Breakfast was spot-on and set us up well for the day ahead. Homemade jam and marmalade was a real treat! Would quite like to live here actually?!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annemieke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
859 reviews
1.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
425 reviews
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#11 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Address: 93 Lowther Street, Penrith CA11 7UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crosby Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Crosby Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crosby Bed And Breakfast Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing