We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not made to feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not made to feel welcome”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

On arrival all was good... Nice room and good location. However after time it appeared I was given no basic information. I was also made to feel like a child. Told by dawn on numerous occasions to lock the door correctly and switch my hair straightners off (who would have thought I was thirty next and recently married), I travelled all the way from Australia alone for a friends wedding. A good friend came to join me on my first morning for breakfast and paid so that i wouldn't be alone, dawn took the money and later told my friend she wasn't welcome. Following this I was made to feel totally embarrassed that I arrived 8 mins past 9 for breakfast (ALONE) when I was never informed of times etc. if your young and travelling alone I would avoid this place as you won't be made to feel welcome

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidays1321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    15
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
75
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at The Crosby on 23rd April 2014 whilst cycling C2C. Fantastic bike lock up. Gorgeous peaceful room, beautiful bath & comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious especially the homemade lemon curd! The Crosby is a true Oasis in Penrith. Highly recommend .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Misstripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After a mizzly drizzly drive up in the rain from West Yorkshire it was a joy to have a great warm welcome upon arrival!

Our room was great, the hospitality amazing and we can't wait to come back!

The hostess with the mostess even gave us some legendary fudge to take away on our onward journey to Centerparcs! ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCustards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived for an early check in which was no problem at all for Dawn who was so welcoming. We were given a choice of rooms and took the first shown to us as it was beautiful. We had a double room with ensuite shower room. The bed was comfy and the room immaculate. Dawn even gave us a parking pass and gave us a lift to a nearby hotel where we were going to a wedding. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Central location, walking distance to town. Reasonably priced for great accomodation!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wingate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked here for my first stop on C2C bike ride. After cycling for over 8 hours the welcome was very warming and this was 20:30 at night. I had a room with a bath which was a very much needed supprise. Because of my travel i just needed sleep which i got with a comftable bed.I am sure if i needed anything then i only needed to ask and i would have been helped.
Next morning i got up to a lovely breakfast.
Only stayed just over twelve hours which was to short to enjoy this B&B. Hope to return and enjoy it more.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

10 of us stayed here after the first day on a c2c cycle for crossroads gateshead young careers charity we had cycled for 6 hours in the rain ! They dried all our wet clothes and stored all our bikes ! A great welcome ! The rooms are spotless and sooo warm n cosy the while house also smells amazing !!! The showers were fab n there is a lovely big bath tub too ! Breakfast in the morning was served brilliantly as we all needed feeding and out by 9 and the food was fabulous !! Would recommend this to groups , friends and couples x only 2 mins from town too so close to pubs n restaurants :) will b back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of August. After seeing family in Scotland we'd decided to break up the journey on the way back and stay in Penrith to see some of the Lake District. Crosby is everything you want from a B&B - lovely house, room, comfy bed, good ensuite with a great shower and everything spotlessly clean. Not only that but also a truly fabulous breakfast. Dawn the owner cooks up a storm and could not have been more friendly. We're so glad we stayed here as deciding to see the Lake District was a last minute thing and we chose Penrith to avoid the crowded southern lakes. It was a good decision, Ullswater lake is just stunning and there's also a place nearby called Askham Hall gardens which is picture postcard perfect and has a wonderful café to boot.

The first night in Penrith we took pot luck in town for dinner and had a dire meal at a local Italian restaurant. The second night we drove to nearby Clifton on our way back from a boat trip at Ullswater and had an early dinner at the George and Dragon. Wonderful food and if you're staying in Penrith, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stella186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 10 in Penrith
848 reviews
1.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#9 of 61 in Penrith
184 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 61 in Penrith
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosby Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosby Bed and Breakfast

Property: Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Address: 93 Lowther Street, Penrith CA11 7UW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crosby Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crosby Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crosby Bed And Breakfast Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing