We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$286/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

1863 Bar Bistro Rooms(Pooley Bridge)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kings Arms Hotel(Temple Sowerby)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Penrith(Penrith)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
135
50
15
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
50
15
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjo jodog friendly pubnorthern fellslarge portionssteak nightscampiroaring fireevening meallovely atmospheresteak and ale pieonion ringsfull english breakfastbrilliant placewarm welcomevisiting the lakesdrying room
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Had been out for the afternoon in Keswick and driving by this pub on way back to mungrisdale decided to see if they had a table for two which they did, the pub was very busy but the staff were obliging and helpful. The food came quickly and was well presented and very pleasant on a cold rainy day, the inn clearly caters for all ages they had books, games and activities for children and catered for people with dogs. Would definitely recommend people pay a visit well worth it and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yorkie545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Just had a fantastic 4 days here.
Clean, comfortable, great food and drink and the most dog friendly place we have stayed in. Not sure who enjoyed it most, us or our dog Molly.
Our room was spotless.
The pub is really quirky and old fashioned and Jo and Shaun have really stamped their mark on the style of the place. I have rarely seen anyone put as much effort and hard work into making a success of somewhere as these two. Nothing is too much trouble and they deserve all the success that hopefully is coming to them.
If there is one thing I would change it would be breakfast time. Not everyone is an early morning person, after having to get up for work at 5am most days I do like a lie in when on holiday. So moving breakfast from 8 - 9am to say 8.30-10am would be a bonus for me. Even so we still intend going back later in the year, breakfast time change or not.
I would highly recommend the HERDWICK INN to anyone. Its a real gem.
The steak and ale pie is the best I've had anywhere.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Allen Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Excellent atmosphere, has friendly decor that makes you feel right at home.

Friendly for dogs, probably the most friendly pub I've ever been to. Our furry friend was made a real fuss of!

Even if you don't have a dog, come for the food! Locally sourced and delicious. I had a burger, cooked perfectly. The pasta was prepared fresh and the curry was a spice taste explosion.

Thank you very much, we will certainly be back soon.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank ExWaitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at the Inn I was a bit unsure as from the outside it looks very quiet, however as we pulled into the car park the signs ensured me that the pub was dog and child friendly, and it was busy. As we entered the pub we saw that it was extremely dog friendly and they also have three lovely dogs of their own, betty,bailey and teddy who were very quiet and friendly towards other dogs. The food was red hot and was all freshly made, as there was a group of 8 of us we all ordered a range of different foods off the menu and every single one was made fresh and all tasted amazing. The staff were so helpful and very nice and friendly, they have a lot of treats around( for doggies and people!) and also a range of fun activities to keep children and adults entertained! Overall we had a lovely experience and we will definitely be coming back when we visit the lakes again!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank LauraJones2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely evening at the Herdwick Inn, and I would easily say that it is one of the best pubs I've been to. Lovely and friendly atmosphere, a lot of attention to detail and we were greeted by three lovely dogs; Teddy, Bailey and Betty. Our host was very attentive and warm. The menu was intriguing with lots of choice; we all chose something completely different from the Cumberland sausage to Carbonara. The food was all homemade, piping hot and not to mention delicious. Would definitely eat here again for the great food and atmosphere. Thank you very much to the staff of the Herdwick Inn, you run a lovely, homely pub :-)

P.s. We loved the Herdwick coasters!

Stayed: April 2017
Thank 898Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews