We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
140
51
15
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
51
15
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubdog friendly pubjo jolarge portionssteak nightscampilovely atmosphereevening mealsteak and ale pieonion ringsfull english breakfastbrilliant placewarm welcomevisiting the lakesdrying roomcooked to perfectiona wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Booked ahead. Table for 6 was ready in bar when we arrived. It was very quiet but more families followed us in as well as lots of locals! We had chosen to sit in the bar but there was a restaurant side as well. New owner and we were a little apprehensive but had no reason to be. Owner, who was working tirelessly and by himself, was very knowledgeable about his food and wine which was great for my partner who is gluten intolerant. Owner told us that most of the menu was suitable and that next week there would be gf lasagne. The food was delicious pub food. Huge portions and very reasonable! We will definitely be back thank you!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

Was expecting it to be a bustling olde world ambience no atmosphere at all, dogs I like, Bailey the resident choc Labrador is fine old boy, the place in general was tired and shabby, no food available on my night no reason given or asked, Breakfast no where near as sumptuous as reported but for £65 can't get cheaper won't be back though

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank gmilligan468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Decent pub with its internal walls covered with all sorts of odd,quirky, amusing notices. If you are staying there, generally very quiet in the evenings. Good reasonably priced bedrooms with very good full English breakfast (plus juice, cereals and fruit) included in the price. Certainly dog friendly - although we didn't have one we were about the only guests who didn't. I think I would give it a "very good" rating if it wasn't for one thing - contrary to the bulk of other reviews we were very disappointed in the only evening meal we had there. Tough and overcooked steak, poor scampi and greasy chips. Maybe we just hit a bad night, but we ate elsewhere for the other nights of our 3 night stay

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mike_garley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

bedroom was nice and breakfast good. Location ideal for Ullswater lake and quiet for good night sleep. Breakfast was tasty and evening meal ok. Varied menu and host was friendly and helpful. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PaulandJennyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Stayed in this Pub/Hotel during a road trip from Sussex. The pub has a large car park at the rear big enough for our 3.5 ton horsebox, cars or campervans. Great place with a friendly atmosphere and totally dog friendly although unfortunately we didn't have our own dogs with us. Owners are very nice people and have three dogs and other guests and locals brought their dogs.

The room was very comfortable and after a long drive the refreshments from the bar were very welcome. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was first class as was the breakfast the next morning before continuing our journey north.

The Pub is decorated with a lot of objet d'art and books which makes it very interesting but there are some nice motivational plaques and an opportunity to leave messages on blackboards and posters.

All in all an excellent place to stay for the night, comfortable, good food, good refreshments, friendly, interesting. Would certainly use this place again and an easy journey coming off and returning to the M6

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AberdeenJerry_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews