We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, but not long enough!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday, but not long enough!”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have Just come back from a wonderful time at Center Parcs, 2 adults, a 3yr old and a 6month old. Very well catered for babies. Microwaves everywhere and complimentary baby food in all restraunts! makes your holiday with a baby very easy! Everywhere very clean and friendly, and tonns to do. Only thing is as you spend monday and friday travelling, you dont feel like you have had much of a holiday!

Room Tip: Badger wood is a great place to stay, as you are central to the main areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YummyMummy882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,147
    2,356
    922
    365
    196
See reviews for
5,920
659
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Another lovely stay at Whinfell Forest - this time with just my daughter for a girly pamper. Have been coming here on and off for more than 13 years. Always unwind here, its so peaceful. Lodge in need of some refurbishment but clean and well equipped as usual. Very easy check-in and well worth paying for the 'flying start' package - will certainly book this again in the future. Bikes excellent. All facilities excellent. Only gripe is that the refurbished Lakeside Inn has lost its previously lovely atmosphere - it has all the appeal of a nicely decorated school dining hall :(

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This was our first visit to any Centre Parcs and will probably be our last! We booked a 3 bedroom comfort lodge for 6 adults and an infant which was tatty, tired and extremely unclean. I spent the first 2 hours washing everything in the kitchen as the cutlery and crockery were all dirty and sticky. All the work surfaces needed a scrub too and I thank goodness that my grandaughter is not yet crawling as the carpets were filthy. The beds were all lumpy and the bedding was like sleeping in a crisp packet it was so crinkly!! The showers were more of a dribble than a shower and the bathrooms stunk of old, stale wee. The outside area was totally unusable as the table and chairs were about 4 inches deep in dirt, leaves and god knows what else. When we did venture out to have a bbq we just stood around or sat inside while waiting for the food to cook. This took longer than expected due to the fact that the 2 disposable bbqs we bought from the Parcmarket for £10 had so little charcoal in them that they barely cooked anything and I ended up cooking in the lodge kitchen!! We hired a couple of bikes but, as they are £24 each for the weekend, we only got 2 and had to take it in turns!! The only free activity we could use was the pool and we only went once as it was so ridiculously hectic. The changing rooms are apparently being refurbished so half were shut and the rest were either full or filthy!! On Saturday we decided to use the take away and ordered some Indian food only to be told that it wouldnt be ready until 10.00 at the earliest (this was at 8.00) so after taking the staffs advice we ordered 4 pizzas as they said pizza would be quicker. The pizzas actually still took almost 2 hours, cost just under £60 and had hardly any topping on them!! On the positive side we had a nice meal at the Waterside inn in the Sunday night. Nice portions and an ok carvery, but like everything about Centre Parcs it was expensive for what it was. All in all this wasnt the worst short break we have ever had but for what it cost it should have been an awful lot better than it was!! Value for money doesnt seem to exist in Centre Parcs vocabulary.

Room Tip: Spend as much as you can afford as the comfort rooms are anything but comfortable!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOJOCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClareS_CP, Guest Relations Manager at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Thank you for your post and I apologise for the delay in my response.

We do read all posts on Trip Advisor and I wanted to offer our apologies that we clearly failed to meet with your expectations in many aspects of your first visit.

I am unsure from your post if you raised your concerns, particularly with regards to the cleanliness points whilst you were on Village. We would never expect any guests to clean on arrival and openly ask that guests report such incidents so that we can help.

If you would like to talk to us further regarding your visit in September, please do not hesitate to make contact directly.

All guest comments are very welcome as they help us to improve our future service.

Thank again!


Clare Seddon
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

just returned from a 4 day break in whinfell forest, it was fabulous. the accomodation was well equipped, it was an executive 3 bedroom lodge. the pool was brillant and the play areas for the children wer brillant, and there was even a kids disco. the staff were great and very helpful and friendly. would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We had an amazing time at Whinfell forest. When we arrived our lodge was spotless. We had daily housekeeping and our maids were lovely. Our little boy loved the swimming and seeing all of the ducks. We even saw lots of red squirrels which were very nice. We are planning to go again next year, everything was perfect. We forgot to take our child's raincover but the Timeout club were very helpful and we were able to hire one for the week. We didn't want to come home because we were so relaxed and enjoying it so much. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: The executive lodges cost more but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsShepherd28082011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The setting at Centre Parcs is incredible – just by sitting on our patio area, we saw Deer, Rabbits, Ducks, Partridges and all-manner of birds. The pathways and walks are also very natural-feeling and the lack of cars makes you feel close to nature and miles away from the normalities of life.

The activities on offer are numerous – providing you have lots of money, you will never be bored! Everything is charged, apart from the swimming pool which is great – the wave machine a favourite for all ages! We did Archery, Tree-Trekking, Bowling and my wife went to the Spa. We also booked an activity for our 12-week old baby who loved meeting the other babies in the sensory room!

There are plenty of places to eat and the on-site shop sells everything you could ever need. The whole place is very family-friendly and there is an army of prams everywhere! It is also very accessible for prams and wheelchairs etc.

The accommodation could be better though. We went for Comfort Plus Lodge and it was rather tired looking – the bathroom especially. Also, plastic glasses in the cupboards weren’t necessary – we are adults, I’m sure we can cope with glass! Having said that, the wine and beer glasses were glass so it wasn’t all bad! The open fire was wonderful and the logs sold in the Parc Market are so easy to use – the whole fire is lit with one match and it was lovely just watching the flames in the evening.

I would definitely go back to Centre Parcs, although I would probably splash out a bit more on upgraded accommodation next time. Highly recommended for families – but remember your wallet as you will definitely need it!

Room Tip: Go for the re-fitted lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hols_and_Meals_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just returned from Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, we had a comfort 3 bedroom lodge which I felt furnishing wise needed updated. The kitchen was well equipped and clean although the fridge was unreliable. Would not book this lodge again though. Outdoor facilities were excellent, and the time out club a friendly interesting environment for kids with great ideas and enthusiastic staff.
This was our first time at center parcs and we took along a voucher which was for £100, guest services would not exchange for smaller amounts and as no change was given we had to spend whole thing in one shop so feel this spoiled our break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.3 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
423 reviews
23.9 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
22.8 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#16 of 20 in Windermere
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing