We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit and impressed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First visit and impressed”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Booked a last minute weekend to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 30th Sept 2011. It was our first time after many friends giving good report. We wanted to do it on the cheap so took all our own food and drink. We took our own bikes also.

The accommodation was an executive 3 Bed traditional lodge, the place was a tad tired and quite far away from the centre. But we can't complain for £350 and we did book late (Meadow View) if we went back we would stay at lakeside or near there.

The activities were quite booked up but our kids enjoyed the pool, rock climbing and roller blading. The pool was very crowded but it is big enough to cope. The arcade and bowling alley was good and the Market was well stocked and not too expensive considering the captive audience!

The Lakeside Inns carvery was superb and the wine was good too.

All in all a great weekend and we all enjoyed it. A few little complaints: bikes too expensive to hire, just charge £10 and they wouldnt have a shed full! Accommodation was tired but newer units are available and I'm sure they will renovate them all in time. A real trek from car park to accommodation, just have park and ride and make it easy!

Enjoy it's good

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,105
    2,327
    903
    362
    193
See reviews for
5,840
645
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We picked the best weekend of weather this year at a bargain price due to out of school holiday time

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoff6593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartmel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The Lodge was old and smelled of stale cigarette smoke and the carpet was old and felt dirty. The sink was greasy and the windows dirty. Facilities are great though and the spa especially was a real treat. Lodges need refurbing and updating.

Room Tip: Lodges by the lakeside look lovely and may be newer,more up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We have been to Centerparcs Whinfell two years in a row. It is set in lovely countryside, but don't pack hiking boots as wandering is frowned upon and paths are plentiful!
Bikes are an excellent way to get around. We booked in with a flying start package which is well worth the £65 for earlier access to your lodge, a food bag of essentials and two adult bike vouchers thrown in plus other things.
The swimming pool complex is worth visiting every day as it's free to get in and will wear out the kids like nothing else!! Unfortunately on our second visit refurbishments were being carried out and there were only 6 toilets (which went down to 5 when one broke) for the entire complex and shared between male and female swimmers... not good! Also only 7 showers, which meant quite a lot of time spent with shivering toddlers in a queue, then sharing a shower between 5 of us :/ Check it's finished before you book!
Food is overpriced in the extreme. Prepare yourself with easy meals to cook in the lodge when you don't want to fork out (pardon the pun) for a meal out, and take the necessary ingredients as the on site supermarket is far from cheap.
Service in the restaurants and bars can be V..E....R.....Y slow, but be bolshy and complain while you're there as it achieves nothing to contact centerparcs afterwards! Likewise, maintenance on the lodges are excellent, so if you're unhappy with anything (non working bulbs/ missing kitchen utensils etc), let them know and they'll rectify it asap.

Usually fellow holiday makers are like-minded.. though I've noticed some more unsavoury behaviour in my recent trip. For example: reserving communal chairs with towels for hours, and some fairly rude and selfish people. Mostly though, if you're going there, 90% of people are just like you: child tolerant and friendly, which is encouraging for eating out etc

Centerparcs is so fabulous for parents with children up to 15. It's not cheap, so don't think you're saving by not going abroad; but if you're prepared for this then you'll definitely be having a fantastic holiday there!

Room Tip: Comfort= no dishwasher or towels, comfort plus good budget option. New style lodges are much better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beakerbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed in an Exec Villa, which was dirty and run down apart from ensuites I could not see why it was classed as an exec villa as the mats were dirty, telephone did not work, Wifi did not work and the villa was shabby....apart from that the Aqua Sana is well worth a visit...it was a nice weekend!!

Room Tip: Check what you book, I was told we had a games room, which is not ready till next year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Yesterday we returned from yet another fantastic family holiday at Whinfell, Penrith.
We'd booked a 2 storey comfort plus lodge in Meadow View as we usually do and it was perfect, lovely and clean, the beds were very fresh, clean and comfortable, kitchen was well equipped with pans, plates, cutlery and a dishwasher, 4 slice toaster and microwave.
There were 2 bathrooms with 'over the bath' showers - (lovely and powerful) and a separate toilet in the entrance way. We always prefer to be down by the ranger's lodge on the outskirts as you tend to see more wildlife deeper in the forest, it only took us 15 minutes to walk into the village centre.
As always the activities were excellent value, my hubby and 14 yr old son loved the new Segway experience. Some seem to think that the activities are too expensive but as participant numbers are always kept low the quality of activities and interaction with instructors/wildlife are excellent. I booked the 2 hour Elemis spa ritual at the Aqua Sana which was bliss - will book again. The staff at the Lakeside Inn are fabulous, although we do prefer the old menu to the new one the carvery was excellent, on Sunday I called in to see if they would do me a cheeseboard to take away to have back at our lodge and they didn't even hesitate.
If you are considering visiting Whinfell I suggest that you look on the discussion page of the Center Parcs official Facebook page for a whole list of top tips from regular visitors on how to get the most out of your stay.

Room Tip: If you want wildlife book the outer section, you can zoom in on Google Earth to get an idea of how t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bank_of_slate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed in the most basic and oldest accomodation. We were happy with all the facilities and were really pleased about the whole site being virtually car free. The horse riding was great for the kids and the pool was great. It is not cheap, but much more affordable in large groups - We were part of a family group block booking three villas - this made staying much more cost effective. We have already booked for next year, but have up graded to the next level of accomodation - It was not much more money and had a few more bits of kit as well as being much more modern.

Room Tip: Make sure you take your bike to make the most of the whole site
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnNorth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
21.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
27.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing