We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled but expensive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Just returned 20th June..Whinfell Forest..

This is a place were you can go all out none stop or relax and do plenty of walking but be warned if you go all out it will cost the earth, our kids did the high wire walk £28 each and pottery £20 each both lasting around 45 minutes .
We stayed in a new style executive lodge which was lovely 3 bed with all on suit and a sauna
All in all we would go back we enjoyed it a lot

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GINGEWIGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,133 - 4,139 of 8,544 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was our 4th visit after a 2 year break . We returned to the same adapted Lodge in Badger Wood as last time . The lodge looked a little tired and needed a good overhaul especially the bathroom . But overall was acceptable . We loved the patio area which is accessible to wheelchairs .
We were lucky with the weather very warm for our 4 night break . The woodland setting is very relaxing even though there are a lot of lodges you still feel you are in the middle of a forest and it
Is very therapeutic !
We visited The Lakeside Inn for most meals and received a warm welcome from Dylan, Anne-Marie and Isabel who remembered us from two years ago ! They were very welcoming and we loved the Lakeside setting. We sat out overlooking the Lake and it was so relaxing .
The food was reasonable value for money I complained about One meal and we were offered free sweets or drinks which was very acceptable !
All on site staff were very helpful and we couldn't fault them the security mini bus driver was very helpful also the In the Cycle hire Miguel was so cheerful and helpful !
We went on The After Dark walk with Ranger Andrew who was very informative and knowledgable about The Forest and wildlife we saw A Brown Hare and had just missed the Badgers ! Also saw 4 red squirrels but not as many as usual due to warm weather .
New visitors might find everything expensive especially with children but to be forewarned Is to be forearmed !
We found the overall experience worthwhile and very enjoyable but we feel the 4 night break a little short due to check in and check out times which should be looked at and perhaps changed if possible !
We are planning to return next year so they must be doing something right !
A word of advice if you are thinking of going book well in advance such is it's popularity !

Room Tip: Lakeside and central lodges best but you extra for a middle and central location .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding my colleagues at Whinfell Forest following your most recent visit.

Whilst I acknowledge your comments regarding check in and check out, I am sure you will appreciate we need this time to ensure that our accommodation meets the standards expected by our guests on their arrival.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again next year.

Regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We've stayed here several times over the years but never in Severn Pines. Looking at the map it's at the bottom of the park near the car park. What a great location! A 3 minute cycle to the park centre (up the hill) or a 2 minute cycle to the car park. The pub is about 4 minutes whilst the sports centre about 6 minutes by cycle. Clean, friendly, safe and secure. A family with small children will find this venue to be first class as there's plenty to entertain. My daughter is 7 and my son 2, both lived the pool and we're free to stroll around the entire park with only a very, very small chance of encountering any vehicles other than cycles. Some people, often people who have never visited a centerparcs, state that it's very expensive but it's as expensive as you want to make it! Shopping is best done at either Morrisons or Sainsburys in Penrith using the on site market for minor odds and ends. The restaurants are fairly average prices and the toy shop openly states that they attempt to sell at high street prices and if found to be overpriced will refund the difference. The activities are all priced in my opinion about 10% over non centerparcs attractions. My wife, mother in law and daughter all did the go ape tree trekking which cost £22 for adults and £18 for children which is fairly average. Will be definitely looking to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We booked an original executive lodge and was disappointed with poor outdoor furniture and tired looking interior.
Our children are 2 4 & 6 and they enjoyed every second. Hucks was extortionate for what you got but Bella Italia was good value and staff couldn't have been nicer.
As lodge was on outskirts we hired cycles which cost almost £100!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alfie2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a mid week break early June and it was our first Centre Parcs experience. Our party consisted of Myself, My wife & our little girl aged 4 and our little boy aged 1. Also My Brother and my Mum & Dad. We stayed in 44 Three Oaks.

Accommodation: We were pleasantly surprised compact and clean and only a little bit worn in places but bedding / towels both crisp and clean. Kitchen was again compact but perfectly formed with nothing missing. The outside area was not overlooked by anyone so it had a nice private feel. Bathroom / shower room was excellent

Location of Lodge: Perfect for us - an easy 10 minute stroll to the village centre / 5 minutes on bikes.

The complex: Wonderfully clean, never saw any litter - staff are very efficient in keeping the place looking tidy. There was a guy in the village centre that looked like Moe from the simpsons and he was there everyday with his dustpan and brush keeping the place sparkling - he deserves a special mention

Facilities: Pool was fantastic - Kids loved it (and we did) there's also a new kids park / adventure playground that was stocked with loads for them to do. Because my kids are still quite young we didn't do many of the other activities but we did have see others doing the various activities and thought the looked very well planned and taught

Eating out: We ate out twice - Bella Italia was great - nice food and great service same prices as Bella Italia back home. we had lunch at the Lakeside in and it was ok just typical pub grub but it was nice enough and the setting by the lake is very good.

All in all we had a great time and there was enough for everybody enjoy their stay - we would definitely go back

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOFFIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Lakeside Apartments - absolutely beautiful. Great location and a five minute walk from anything we needed to go. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Cleaners did a fabulous job. Staff were always helpful and lovely. Park was litter free. Weather was wonderful. Done quad biking, bowling and swimming. All experiences were great & thoroughly recommend swimming as there are so many different things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

First time to center parcs, stayed at seven pines which was a short walk to the village centre, stayed in a detached four bedroom lodge which I thought was extremely clean, 2 bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and downstairs.plenty to do there but the activities are quite expensive, also food and drink quite dear as well so you need quite a bit of money unless you eat in. We ate out every night and all the food was very good, tried all the restaurants. The swimming area is very nice with a number of slides and a Jacuzzi in there,had a very pleasant stay in relaxing surroundings and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bookiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.5 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
426 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing