We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Overall the weekend break at Centre Parcs was very enjoyable and relaxing. The staff were helpful, courteous and friendly and the facilities were fully functioning and clean. The swimming pool was used everyday as were the sports facilities. The wildlife were semi-tame as they were so used to human contact and we had ducklings pecking at our shoes under the dining tables and saw deer, rabbits (everywhere) and red squirrels in abundance.

The negatives are a short list which included too much litter around the Boardwalk area outside the swimming pool entrance, highly priced restaurants (and some of the shops)and some activities which would be very costly for a large family. Other activities were fairly priced and seemed good value given the high standard of the facilities.

The biggest complaint was probably due to our own lack of knowledge of the layout of the lodges. We paid extra for a Lakeside Lodge but were right next to the Lakeside Inn which was noisy especially on the quiz night ( we could hear the questions through closed windows with the TV on) and meant that we were overlooked at mealtimes when we used the patio dining furniture. This really did detract from an otherwise excellent break.

Overall we had a good time, but we would definitely recommend that you check where you are staying. We will go back, but obviously not to the same lodge.

Room Tip: Keep away from the pub, unless you plan to spend the evening in it. If that is your plan then Lakesi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

I sorry that you were unaware of the close proximity of the Lakeside Inn to your lodge. When making a booking on the internet, guest are able to view a map of the Village to help them select accommodation in a location suitable for their needs.

That said, I am pleased that overall you had an enjoyable relaxing stay and that your disappointment with the location of your lodge has not deterred you from wishing to return again in the future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,060 - 4,066 of 8,478 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed here over the Easter holidays and had a great time. Check in was quick and well organised and it was very easy to find our lodge. We stayed in a traditional style lakeside lodge and it had everything we needed. The interior definitely needs updating, however it was clean enough although far from spotless (towel heaters, headboards etc., could have done with a good clean). We booked lots of activities for our 3 year old - ten pin bowling, painting with tots, mini crossbows, football coaching, an outing with owls etc....and every one of them was excellent. They were very well run and all staff involved were excellent with small children. The pool is great for adults and kids and the family changing rooms are excellent - lots of space for everyone. We hired a bike and again the pick up and drop off were quick and efficient. We ate at the Lakeside Inn, Bella Italia, Hucks and used the take away service. All meals were lovely although the food at Bella Italia was a bit tasteless. Yes, it's expensive, but if you make your peace with this before you go, it makes it easier to swallow! We've already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Think about the activities you want to take part in and choose a lodge close by, especially if you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDGALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It is becoming a regular habit to celebrate my husbands birthday. It is so relaxing being amongst the trees and the chalets are cleverly positioned so you feel quite private. They must be good employers as all the staff seem very friendly and helpful. You can make it as cheap or as expensive as you want, depending on how much you want to do. It is great as there is something for everyone. There is even a crèche and baby sitting services.To get the most of it you are best to order your activities in advance so as not to waist time or be disappointed. Our treat is to book a take away to be delivered on the first night (again book in advance). Be warned the premier banquets are massive and will feed you nearly all weekend. My parents did a llama walk this time and just loved it. The cupcake decorating was a bit basic, It was aimed at children but it was all adults. They could look at doing a more advanced one. I think probably everything at Aqua sauna is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalewicz-Kitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed in a new style executive lodge sleeping 8 people. We went for a Hen party (even though these are not allowed!) we knew we would have a great time and wanted to party without the tackiness of a typical hen party!

The lodge was immaculate, well designed, modern and well placed. We stayed quite far away from the centre but the 10-15 minute walks served us well, especially hung over!

We also had a physiotherm room in our lodge which was brilliant. The showers were amazing, I think they call them the waterfall type ones? The kitchen was well equipped to cook and serve 8 people. The standard things were included, tv, hair dryers in each room, towels, a couple of dishwasher tabs etc. we took everything else ourselves for breakfasts etc. we even had a wine fridge- bonus!

Whilst there we only did 2 activities; cheerleading party and roller skating. Both were good fun. The facilities are excellent. We did visit Aquasana spa for the afternoon on the Sunday, which was simply amazing. Great clean facilities. Very indulgent and relaxing. The best spa I have visited. Staff were very helpful with requests and help when required. We got it on one of the deals making it £37 each for the 3hrs.

Our top tips were

Do a shop for your stay before you go. The parc market is expensive, but convenient if you run out/ forget things.
Take toilet roll as it's limited in the lodges :)
Take bikes, inexpensive but get to see more and keep occupied
Visit the spa it's amazing
Avoid the quiz at the inn on the lake-it was painful :( haha
Be mindful it's full of families. (No rowdy parties) it has a great atmosphere don't spoil it. Would be happy to have my children playing out as it feels so safe.
Have a brilliant time! We will definitely be back!!

In fact I've just booked Sherwood for July :-)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the executive...so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2010048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great safe family holiday the only fault i had was the cost of eating out you could not eat out every day of you stay as it was too expensive.accommodation could do with being updated, swimming pool was first class

Room Tip: book lodges at the lakeside so as to be near all the indoor facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from our second visit in 12 months . We stayed in an original style 3 bed executive lodge the lodge was very clean and well equipped . Seven Pines was a great central location within easy reach of both sports complex and village centre about 10mins walk to both. We loved the relaxing atmosphere and the general get back to nature feel .We had ducks with ducklings coming up to the patio doors to be fed which our granddaughter loved.All the staff are friendly and helpful you get a warm welcome on arrival and even a cheery wave goodbye at the end of your stay. We all enjoyed using the swimming complex which is immaculately clean and family friendly for all ages.Shops on site were good but can be expensive we will definitely return again soon.

Room Tip: Seven Pines is a great section to be in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stay, all you need in one place. Gorgeous scenery (site is kept clean and tidy), loads to keep you busy and surrounded by nature- we saw a red squirrel every day, ducks, ducklings, rabbits... My 1 year old loved it. All the staff were more than helpful, polite and cheerful, you can tell they all love there jobs. We stayed in the new executive lodge but if I'm honest there isn't anything 'new' about it. It needs updating inside and a lick of paint outside. It could also do with a good spring clean, the floors were filthy. My 1 year old had black knees and feet after crawling for only 5 mins. The rug in the living room was dirty too, it made me try to keep my daughter from going onto the floor but that was impossible. I do hope they update the lodges (and make it slightly cheaper to stay or even do package deals on the activities), as we would love to return especially when our daughter is a couple of years older.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bell643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your visit. I am pleased that overall you found Whinfell Forest a fantastic place for your family holiday and I am sure your daughter will have loved seeing the wildlife close up.

I would like to assure you that we do have a regular maintenance programme for our lodges and I am sorry that you felt your lodge on this visit was in need of a good spring clean. Please be assured that my colleagues at Whinfell Forest would have been happy to address any concerns that you may have had.

I am glad that your disappointment with this has not deterred you from wishing to return again sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.4 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.3 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.2 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
4.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing