We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just been to whinfell forest which is in a lovely peaceful forest setting with plenty of wildlife but we feel really let down by the whole experience. We booked an original style executive lodge which was dirty and shabby. There were broken tiles on the fireplace covered up by tape, brown stains in the bath and shower curtain, holes in the walls, rotting wooden steps, etc. Also we did not realise that we would have to park our car so far away from our accomodation. It was at least 20 minutes walk away and i was really concerned as 2 people in our party have disabilities which meant they could need access to the car immediately in case of emergency. I explained the problem to guest services and asked if there was any way we could leave our car nearby, not to use it at all but just so it was there for emergencies. They said this was not possible and we would have to phone for a minibus which could take 20 minutes. As a result of this they had to go straight back home and leave just 2 of us on what should have been a family holiday. This was very upsetting and disappointing for us. Having said this there is plenty to do, the activities are fun and we enjoyed the restaurants. I just wanted to warn anyone with disabilities to be care careful when booking here

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracyJ28602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Sharon Press at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
I was sorry to read that your visit did not meet with your expectations and was disappointed to note that you were unaware of our terms and conditions regarding the need to return your car to the car park. We make every effort to accommodate guest with disabilities, and we do ask that if you feel there is a need to keep your car close by, that you contact our medical centre to discuss this. I regret that two members of your party took the decision to return home as I do assure you our teams would have responded immediately in the case of an emergency.
I am pleased that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay and I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to center Parcs again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,182
    2,384
    932
    372
    197
See reviews for
5,989
664
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went for a weekend away in summer. Absolutely loved it. My 9 year old daughter love nature and adventure, so was perfect for her. Her favourite were the "Little explorer" and riding bikes everywhere! We stayed at Lakeside lodge which is central to most activities.
Centre parcs is perfect any nature lover looking for some quite get away.
The staffs are oh so friendly too!!

Room Tip: Best to stay in one of the Lakeside lodges or apartments especially if you have a mobility problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments regarding my colleagues at Whinfell Forest, they will be delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

A Center Parcs holiday is all about the family and I was pleased to read this was an ideal location for your daughter as she enjoys all we have to offer.

Hope to see you again soon.

Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Three generations of our family had an amazing long weekend at Whinfell. There were activities to suit everyone and boy did we pack them in! New experiences ranged from segwaying and archery to quad biking and meeting gorgeous owls.

Staff in all areas were unfailingly cheerful and helpful and our accommodation was just lovely. The icing on the cake came when we realised after departing that we had left behind my little boy's much prized quad biking certificate. One call to the village and someone was deployed to find this tiny, but to a small boy very special, little piece of card and I received a call back to say it had been located and would be in the post that day. That's the sort of care and service that you don't forget. We really hope to pay a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellshill, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The activities are great for children / young adults but are very expensive. The accommodation is clean and functional but dated and tired and I expected better quality for the price. Basic essentials were lacking like hand soap, washing up liquid, toilet rolls so if we had known this in advance we would have brought our own. There is a supermarket which is pricey and there is the added inconvenience of a long walk carrying shopping. Some days were warm yet the heating seemed to be on no matter how we tried to control it. They advertise Wi-Fi but this is only available in the village centre and the more exclusive lodges. Apart from these minor irritations, it's a great experience and it's a beautiful place to either relax or be active.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for providing a review of your stay at Whinfell Forest.

I was sorry to read that you feel our prices can be expensive. I would like to assure you that we do make every effort to keep our prices in line with other companies offering a similar experience to our own and feel confident that our activities do offer value for money.

I am pleased that overall you had a great experience and I do hope we will be welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our second trip as a family to Centre Parcs at Whinfell. No complaints at all - the accommodation was lovely (4 bed exec lodge) and well maintained. We did some activities on-site, which are expensive, but we mixed this with cycling around and the swimming so it was a really enjoyable weekend. Ate at the restaurants too which were good, but the service a bit lacking - no spark from any of the staff, but the food quality was good. Had an 'incident' with one of the kids, which guest services and the on-site nurse were fantastic. We will definitely return (once we save up for the high prices you have to pay in school holidays)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Absolutely love this place, have stayed two times over the Christmas period. Lodges very comfortable, extremely clean, warm and cosy. Lots of activities to do but can be expensive if you choose to do a lot. Swimming pool is free and is amazing with plenty of space to have lots of fun for all ages.
Plenty eating places, your spoilt for choice, some lovely shops also. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. If you love family time you will be sure to love this.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N Kerry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

FANTASTIC!!! Extremely helpful staff who never once passed by without saying hello and asking how our holiday was going. Accommodation and facilities all very clean. LOADS to do for the kids. If i had the option of excellent + then i would tick it. SUPERB and will be revisiting. First time to CP's and was delighted with everything. Expensive? Yes, if you want to do every single activity there is. eating out expensive? No more expensive than eating out in Glasgow. Child friendly? ABSOLUTELY!!! Will we return? ABSOLUTELY!!! We are a family of 4 (2 x adults and 2 x children aged 3 + 7).

Thank you CP's for a wonderful time and we will see you again!!!!!

Room Tip: Forresters Lane - between 5-8 minutes walk from the swimming/food/bowling. 10-15 minutes walk from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments.

At Center Parcs we pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests and I was pleased that you found our team at Whinfell Forest to be friendly and helpful.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your first visit and I do hope we will be welcoming you back in the near future.

Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#14 of 20 in Windermere
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
20.0 mi away
Dale Head Hall
Dale Head Hall
#12 of 12 in Keswick
176 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#8 of 10 in Penrith
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing