We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat & not a bargain”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbar
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A treat & not a bargain”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a 4 bedroom original exclusive lodge which included a sauna, steam room & hot tub.

There for 3 & a bit days: mon-fri = 3 full days, 1evening (mon) & away by 10am on fri for close to £1700. + £100 for 3 bikes & a trailer + over £300 for activities. i.e. close to £700 per day!

There with wife, grandchildren (2), son (teenager 15yrs) & daughter/son in-law. Great to have chance to spend so much time together so hard to say it was not great value for money, but it wasn't. Everyone loved the lodge, beds v comfortable, living area open & light, surrounded by forest (red squirrel & mallard both arrived at hot tub for a feed).

Weather was great, activities all enjoyed especially the ariel adventure (son in-law + teenager + 9 yr old) and spa (wife & daughter).

Centre park supermarket was on the whole reasonably priced, if you don't bring alcohol etc with you expect to pay over the odds.

Staff all very friendly and helpful, lodge v clean, beds spotless.

Experience was almost entirely positive but kitchen pots/pans are just "crap", (apologies for swearing but frankly disgusted) clearly they don't want to encourage any cooking in the lodges! Supposedly non stick frying pans tiny & eggs stuck to surface, so only one attempt at cooked breakfast made! NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR THIS PRICE. The meal delivery service though convenient is grossly over priced £77 for Chinese meal for 4 people, could get more and better quality at home for less than £30.

Overall we had a great, fun filled few days, the hot tub probably the most appreciated part of the experience. For this price there should have be no negatives & in my opinion at least 2 bikes should be included in the deal.

If you have spare cash, want to treat yourself and your family then this offers a great active experience. If you are looking for a bargain and don't like walking this isn't for you!

We enjoyed it and will probably be back (equipped with own pots n pans next visit).

Room Tip: Take own pots/pans
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BobfaeDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,176
    2,380
    932
    370
    197
See reviews for
5,980
663
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Visited Centre Parcs as a family with ages ranging from 15 to 92. Excellent short break enjoyed by all. Two of the party were disabled and the free taxi service around Centre Parcs was very good. Range of activities on offer can not be bettered elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandfami1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just back from short break - great facilities but a bit pricey. The property was dated -exactly the same as when we stay there 7 years ago although it was kept clean and tidy. We did have minor problem which was reported and the maintence service was there very quickly to sort it out. The activities were superb for our son who is 9. The staff were 99% good. The site has a new children's play area which was very good also.The bike hire was very well organised. The new wristband accomodation entry/cashless payment system is an excellent idea.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAMES G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Although the accommodation was not up to standard - very low on cleanliness, the family enjoyed all the activities and would return. With ages ranging from 19 months to 64 there was plenty for everyone to do. The paid activities were expensive but the instructors were brilliant and very patient with strugglers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just back from a midweek stay (4 nights) at whinfell. It was a family trip with my 4 year old boy who absolutely loved it.

The lodge (2 storey executive lodge 59 bilberry wood) was clean and other than the phone not working (which I didn't report, but didn't need.) there were absolutely no quibbles and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I've read other peoples reviews where they said the lodges were dirty, I can't speak for them but ours was great. Yeah there are little TVs in the bedroom, but honesty you're not there to watch tv, if you are there's a fiat screen in the living room.

The free activities are basically the amazing pool and the children's play parks which the wee one loved. We spent hours in the pool.

The site is set up for cyclists or walkers, no cars allowed which I thought was a brilliant idea.

The pay activities are either expensive or not depending on your budget. I had a smallish budget and can't complain. The restaurants are on par in terms of cost with other restaurants you may go to. Dexters was a big let down though.

Staff were fantastic, the guys at the quad biking were very knowledgeable and you can tell that they liked their jobs...... I wish I could say the same about my job :-)!

Plenty of wildlife to seem many come to your back door (rabbits, birds and even within 2 feet of me without noticing a mother duck and 5 ducklings strolled by!)

A word of warning, and this is something out with centreparcs control and speaks more about society.....if you take your own bike down, either make sure you have a decent lock or store it overnight in the lodge. My bike was a victim of attempted theft and only saved due to the d lock. However the would be thief yanked the bike so hard whilst trying to steal it that he (was a he, I caught sight of him as he fled!) damaged the tyre.

I notified guest services who made sure security were aware during their nightly patrols.

Other than that, a fantastic wee break.

Room Tip: Bilberry wood is ideal for location close to the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We had a 4 bed woodland lodge in Moorland View area. Gorgeous inside, spotlessly clean and lively welcome message on the board for us. However outside the front and back were extremely overgrown with thorns and nettles so children couldn't have any solace to play and run around which was a shame. Family we were with stayed in the exact lodge last year and commented on how overgrown it was this year compared with last. So that was annoying. Ate out twice, once for lunch in the Pancake a Place and dinner in Hucks. Food great but drink prices extortionate which is a real shame. Swimming pool awesome but at times ruined by inconsiderate guests and over zealous lifeguards peeping at anyone who tried to have a bit of fun in the water. This was our first time and we had a great time despite the few things I've mentioned. Prices are too high to stay, lodge wasn't worth the money as it looked run down on the outside but it was very clean inside and kids had a ball. Some activities way overpriced but others reasonable so depends on your own kids preferences. Would go back but only if able to get a better deal on price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Lovely place, well thought and mapped out.
Some of the properties are old and dated with small TV's which makes it difficult for family viewing.
Ridiculously expensive which simply puts me off going back.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade/new residence, otherwise very dated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
916 reviews
20.6 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
22.9 mi away
The Lamplighter
The Lamplighter
#19 of 20 in Windermere
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing