We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Lovely and peaceful”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A family of 6 went and got a 3 bedroom house with sauna for 3 nights.

The house was equipped with a full fridge and the rooms are so spacious and clean! You cant ask for more. Its so nice to get away and live in a nature and peaceful village. Felt out of this world! Great for the kids! Would go again 100%

Also for birthdays you can request a cake for free and the staff really know how to spoil you. Experience that was out of this world thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,101
    2,324
    902
    362
    193
See reviews for
5,834
644
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great fun for families of all ages .
We have just returned from our 5th visit , over the last 10 Years .
Standards always very consistent .
Getting a bit pricey in some of the Restaurants but only by a little .
You must Pre book everything to avoid disappointment , so holiday does get a bit lacking in Spur of the Moment activities .
Sports hall excellent as is pool area .
However it's the simple things like walking or bike riding from Challet around the Beautiful Forest that really makes it ..
Great Job Centre Parcs

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts following your most recent visit to Center Parcs.

Your constructive comments are very much appreciated and I would like to reiterate your advice regarding the pre booking of activities. We would always recommend pre booking, particularly at busy times of the year, to avoid any disappointment.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit in the near future.

Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Second time going to Whinfell and really enjoyed it. Not a cheap place but definately worth it. All the kids were kept busy and entertained through the whole week and we didn't hear the dreaded bored word. The meal at the lakeside was not good but everywhere else we ate was excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We booked last minute this time, so we could only get one of the older lodges within three oaks. We usually book from 38-43 however this lodge was 56, down into a wee culdesack? (sp), We were a bit sceptical at first, as it was an older one, but it did not disappoint. We had three bedrooms (there are only three of us) so the house seemed huge, and as usual the lodge had everything you could need. Comfy beds, great view and enough away from the centre to be quiet. Everything was fantastic as usual, place was very clean, lodge had everything needed, bikes were brand new and the staff were just perfect, so happy to help. We booked a few activities from horse riding, quad bikes to pico sailing, and not one of the activities disappointed. Everytime we go our daughter is a little bigger/older/more confident so there is always something we have not been able to try or that we didn't have enough confidence for yet. The restaurants are all very good too. We booked it all 2 nights before we left so that we knew what we were doing over the week, but some of the time we just wandered too, which was great. As usual things do seem a little expensive, but on researching other similar activities in the area, the prices are pretty much the same. I would always recommend coming here.

Room Tip: Go for three oaks area, it says outer area, but there are wee paths that get you to the centre in ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkyweemidgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was our fourth visit to Whinfell and yet again we had a lovely time. It is definitely expensive , especially if you book lots of activities - But if your family likes to be active it's worth the cost because no one gets bored.
The accommodation isn't luxurious but the lodge was nice, spacious and we found it very clean. There were a few maintenance things like a mucky ironing board and a bit of the fridge frame was broken but these were really minor and overall pleased with the accommodation. Advertised as free wifi in the villa but that was patchy and unreliable. We had a sauna - not really necessary and I don't think many people use them - a better extra in the executive lodges would be a washing machine !i think it is worth paying to be close to the centre if you plan on being at the activities areas a lot.
The bike arrangements were seamless and the bikes in good condition. We think the bikes are an essential part of the holiday as it just makes things quicker and fun to get around - but I think there were possibly more people getting around just on foot this year than previous visits.
Eating out was pretty expensive. Bella Italia was good and we ate there twice. Dining in , the takeaway is handy but the quality is just ok - discovered bella italia does take aways and that will be our take away if we come again. The sports bar drinks are again pricey, but it is a good spot to spend the evening with pool tables etc upstairs.
All the activities we did were very enjoyable - some are expensive but fun eg painting, aerial adventure , segways. But there are also some cheaper activities which are also good fun but more value for money eg geocache, golf simulator. The price to hire a tennis court is a bit much especially given the courts are not in great condition.
We had spa treatments which were lovely - it's a lovely facility.
Although there are lots of comments on here about the parc market I think it's fine - it stocks most things you might need.
The swimming pool was good this year too - seemed like cleaning and maintenance were improved - so although it's always been good this year was even better.
Overall centerparcs is a great holiday destination and we all had a brilliant time !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank tj1Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

our fourth time here and the best yet. weather fab. the staff at guest services were thoughtful enough to send my little boy a gift and a card for his birthday. We were really touched by this .stayed at lake beck which was 5 minutes from the village centre. as my other wee boy says our activity packed 4 days was ' better than a week in spain ! 'plan to back to see santa there in December.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is the second visit this year to Whinfell Forest. We stayed in Badger Wood, which is quiet and not too far away from the activities. As it was our second visit we booked the activities in advance to guarantee a place, and gave us a motivation to get up and out. The activities are fantastic, they are well organised and the staff are fabulous with the kids (mine are boys, 17 and 13 and a girl 3.) There was no shortage of stuff to do. It may seem expensive but well worth it.
The pool is brilliant. It's clean and spacious and plenty of places to sit. The changing rooms are superb. However the scuba diving was cancelled and no-one had seen fit to let us know at our accommodation; this is the second time this has happened, on my last visit the yoga was cancelled and a message was left at the chalet after we had set off. There was no notice at the dance studio and felt like a bit of a lemon. However a refund is no problem.
The food at the Lakeside restaurant was, to put it mildly mediocre and over priced.
Back at the chalet. Ours was not very well maintained. The fridge had a large crack on the bottom and the crockery wasn't washed properly. The settees were not comfortable for the 5 of us to sit on. Hubby was convinced ours was the chalet they robbed to find parts to fix other chalets. Why didn't we complain? Thus the title. We aren't going to spend all weekend complaining, when the faults weren't affecting our main aim which was to have a fully active weekend. So I would say, have limited expectations and be prepared to spend huge amounts of money. Will we go again? I think not.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Sulkybumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
I was pleased that despite your disappointment with the standard of your accommodation, you enjoyed your visit to Whinfell Forest.

It was disappointing to read your comments in respect of some of the facilities in your villa and apologise that these were not identified by our teams prior to your arrival. Whilst I appreciate your reason for not bringing your concerns to our attention at the time of your visit, I do assure you had we been aware of your concerns, they would have made every effort to resolve this to your satisfaction.

I do hope that we will be welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
6.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
21.2 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
23.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
27.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing