We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Almost perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visit Center Parcs as a group of 6 with two 15 year olds, two 18 year olds and parents. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.
Fantastic atmosphere and setting. The modern style lodge was perfect for us, spotlessly clean and up to date. We booked a few activities such as crazy golf, short tennis and bowling, which were slightly pricey but very enjoyable.

Would recommend taking your own food and preparing your own meals in the lodge as the various restaurants do appear be somewhat overpriced. Sub tropical swimming paradise was great.

Only complaint would be that paying the price we paid, we would expect Center Parcs to employ more staff! We feel they have become a bit greedy in this way. There appeared to be only one employee working at the bowling section when we visited. She was very pleasant but clearly rushed off her feet checking everyone in for bowling, meaning she was unable to clean away the dirty glasses from the bowling alley tables. This took away from the lovely atmosphere and appearance of the village. Similar situation in the pool/arcade area in the sports plaza.
However it must be said all members did thoroughly enjoy the stay and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ccejhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,050
    2,295
    889
    360
    192
See reviews for
5,759
632
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

OK so I was hovering between three and four stars but have opted for the latter because when all's said and done, Whinfell CP still offers a great short break option for families. Having visited a number of times in the past, we knew what to expect, were greatly looking forward to it, and now having got home, can honestly say we - and especially out 8 and 5 yr old kids - had a great time. The many reasons for this are well documented by other reviewers here and I won't repeat them here, suffice to say we are always impressed with how well CP caters for families and does really well in taking a bit of pressure off mum and dad by offering such an awesome array of activities and experiences, delivered so well by really enthusiastic and child-friendly staff. In terms of coming away with lasting memories, you really can't go wrong.

Right, time for a moan. Please bear with me.......
We're not skinflints and having been to CP a number of times in the past we know it is expensive to book in school holiday times and we know that once there, everything bar the pool costs extra and is marked up to death. We accept this, it's how this type of business needs to operate. However, what I do expect when paying a premium is a commensurate level of quality and having arrived home this time, I cannot shake the feeling that the level of quality has slipped, particularly in the catering department.
The food in the places we ate - especially Bella Italia - was truly miserable given the ridiculously extorted price. My recollection of past visits has been that it was always a case of quantity over quality at a slightly inflated price, but that there was a degree of quality present at least. This time, it seemed to me that prices had stepped up a notch (unsurprisingly), but that the quality had taken a significant nosedive to the point of being an unacceptable value for money abyss. We left site on the last night to seek decent pub grub in Penrith as I refused to spend best part of £60 on the muck we were served at CP. This coupled with the daylight robbery prices in the Parc Market (thus deterring us from eating in the lodge), proved a major drawback and if visiting again, I'd have to seriously consider doing a 'big shop' beforehand and importing our food in!
Some hereabouts have complained about the accommodation looking shabby compared to other CP villages, but in honesty the 'new style woodland' lodge we stayed in was perfectly adequate, although an obviously quick paint job had been undertaken recently with no time to de-snag (paint slapped on the radiators, poor touching up etc). In all though, v happy with the lodge. Lack of WiFi is surprising though. It's not of major importance to us as we go on that type of holiday to get away from constant net surfing and emails, but I'm still surprised Whinfell hasn't yet got up to date with the majority of similar operations yet and installed WiFi throughout.

So overall, very good as usual and I only emphasise the negatives in the hope the management takes note and looks to improve. The package remains one of the best around and we will be back.....but I'd be happier if I didn't get this nagging feeling that the commercial juggernaught has overtaken the finer points of customer satisfaction. A sign of the lean economic times perhaps?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCA_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Lodge: three oaks number 20
Cost: £675
Stay: 3 nights.

When booking this trip for me my boyfriend and brother I booked saying we had a disabled member in our party. We had been the year before and got an adapted lodge. However when we arrived we were told we never booked an adapted lodge and there were none left. We agreed to go and look at the lodge and see if we could manage. Guest services said they could send the handy men out to fit a ramp on the three steep wooden stairs. At this point I should mention my brother has cerebral palsy and autism so has limited speech and movement. The handy men said they were unable to fit a ramp. So we decided to ring guest services again and ask if we could keep our car outside the lodge to store the wheel chair as it would be awkward and heavy to lift into the lodge. We both agreed we would have to lift my brother into the lodge. We know this isn't particularly the safest method however trying to explain to someone with autism that we have to go home because the lodge does not have a ramp is unbearable. Anyway we phoned guest services about the car and they rudely said no. So after explaining our situation to three different people we finally twisted someone's arm and were able to keep the car outside with our disabled badges. However the next day we found out everyone was allowed to keep their car outside the lodge.

Inside the lodge had not been properly cleaned since the last people were in. We had to empty a dish washer full of plates etc and put them away. Also in the cupboard were dirty glasses with lip stick marks on them. The tea and coffee had not been replenished since the last people even though the welcome booklet said it would be. Also there was a draw which couldn't be opened due to poor upkeep. Also the dishwasher was missing the cap to were you store the tablets and the cooker nob was broken.

Next on to the bedroom we were unable to shut the wardrobe door due to a screw hanging out. Also what I hope was a coffee stain on the quilt.

I went to have a shower but was greeted by two long black strands of hair. Ew! Also the toilet roll was not replenished either since the last people.

In the living room the radiator was stained pink with something strange.

After the first day of walking around mainly up hill with a wheel chair we decided to get the access bus. We rang guest services and got yet another rude member of staff when I asked to book it she said "well are you disabled though" then proceeded to tell me to ring half an hour in advance. So half an hour later I rang back to be told ring for it when you need it. So for the third time I rang them and they said it would arrive in twenty minutes. Put the phone down and five minutes later the bus arrived. It must be so hard to communicate with each other.

We ate in the sports bar and were given frozen onion rings.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Elly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Services Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am genuinely sorry to read of your disappointing stay. I do hope that you raised all of your concerns at the time of your visit, however, we would appreciate the opportunity to address any ongoing concerns and would ask that you contact us via the ‘Need help?’ section on our website.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards
Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Another great Center Parcs stay with my Godson, We stayed in lakeside apartments, refurbished, clean and tidy, finished to a high standard. Long time spent in the pool, which, IMHO isn't quite up to the standards of the other Center Parcs but then again, Center Parcs didn't build this place originally, but still very good.

The new wristbands system for payment, accommodation access and locker access is excellent, and fun for the kids to use, can't wait to see that rolled out to the other sites and more shops/services.

Oh and free wi-fi, thank God! 12 year olds can't go long without watching crazy Cat videos on YouTube!

Looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luaPWoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon_Center_Parcs, Guest Servcies Executive at Center Parcs Whinfell Forest, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The wristband system is proving to be popular with our guests and following the success at Whinfell Forest we have introduced this system on our new village at Woburn Forest. We are continually reviewing the system with a view to including more shops and services in the future.

I do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Sharon Press
Guest Services Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We always visit Sherwood, love it, but decided on a change this year and go to Whinfell.
Couldn't have been happier, the accommodation was lovely, was also on two floors and detached, which eliminates noise risk.
The setting, is absolutely breathtaking, love the Lake District, so beautiful, and then you add the fun of Center Parcs, you're onto a winner!
There is no need for keys for your lodge, you have a rubber bracelet which you use to open the door, this is also used for the lockers in the sub tropical pool.
The pool is much bigger, lovely outside pool, which was really warm, the slides are plentiful, and the kids had an amazing time.
We had a meal in every eating establishment and couldn't fault any of them, the nicest part for me was the view onto the lake when we were eating in the Lakeside Inn.
The only fault I have on the place is that the sports plaza isn't as good as the one in Sherwood, it seems very crammed and the sports bar is tiny!
But overall me and my family loved it, we will defo be booking again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Positives.
We stayed in 47 Beechwood, clean and has had a facelift since i was last there, it has minimal neighbours, full nights sleep each night, no noise from anywhere.
Be mindful this is a 20 min walk to the outdoor activity centre.
We tried out Paintballing, Segway and quad biking all excellent and great fun.
Great food in "Hucks" and enthused instructors at the outdoor activity centre.

Negatives.
BBQ on first night required us to purchase disposables from the shop, the construction of the BBQ does not allow for using your own charcoal.
No welcome information in the lodge which does not bother us as we have been before but would be useful for first timers.
Lodge needs tongs in the kitchen, we had to use the 4 foot long BBQ ones for our bacon, grill was incapable of grilling bacon, fry it if you dare, the fire alarm will go off!
Disappointed with the bed, very soft with the grinding of coil springs as we got in and out, its from the Sealey "contract" range.

Room Tip: 47 Beechwood, has minimal neighbours, full nights sleep each night, no noise from anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our family had a great time at centerparcs, we loved our lodge, enjoyed participating in many activities such as archery and tree trekking and ate out at lots of different restaurants: bella Italia, the pancake house, hucks American bar and grill, Starbucks and dexters kitchen. We received very satisfactory service at all of these. We hired bikes for the children from the cycle centre and they were great. We have been to centerparcs whinfell forest many times before but a new thing we tried this time was the music explosion show on Wednesday night. That was a great experience as we booked premier seats with waitress service and a great view of the stage. We ordered drinks and snacks and thoroughly enjoyed the show. It included song and dance routines inspired by the 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s and now so there was something for all the family to sing along to. After that we went round the lake and were just in time for quiz night at the lakeside inn 9pm. Doing the show and the quiz night made it a great night out. Another new thing we tried was Geo Cache which was a family treasure hunt and which we thoroughly enjoyed. The GPS device we were given made it easy and fun for the kids to navigate and we got to see some parts of the forest we hadn't previously visited.
Overall, a great holiday. We plan to visit centerparcs again in the future.

Room Tip: Fell view or lake beck probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
18.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
20.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
24.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing