We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place with an Achilles heal...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Certificate of Excellence
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic place with an Achilles heal...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Facilities are amazing, the opportunity to do a wide range of activities is second to none. Most of the activities are reasonably priced, all things considered. It's very functional, clean and tidy, and in the main staff are excellent. It has woodland charm, freedom for children and having to park the car away from the lodges is awesome. Real escapism, esp considering the amount of driving we do for work. Swimming area is pretty awesome and never really felt overcrowded (even over the bank holiday weekend). Have been to all the Parcs with the exception of the new one that opened recently and they all offer consistency - you get exactly what you think you'll get. HOWEVER, this year what really stood out is how expensive it's become to eat and drink - it's very close to being a complete rip off. Lunch for 2 adults, 1 child shouldn't come to £35 and thats just in the sports bar using the lunch part of the menu (soups, sandwiches, appetisers). Dinner in what is described as the Lakeside Inn (pub grub) is priced to grab every pound out of your wallet. A normal fish and chips anywhere in a North West pub is around £6-£8 here is closer to £12 and I have to say it but it's average at best. Its such a shame as it now feels like its built to take every pound from you and takes the edge of what is a great holiday. Of course ALL the restaurants are optional and you can take your own food and cook at the lodge. But to those new to CP it's only fair this is pointed out in this review. You simply can't say the food and drink options are 'good value' even if you have a few quid.

My overall tip is plan in advance (esp if on a budget), to be fair to CP they are very transparent - all the menus are online - but just be prepared to spend way above market value for food and drink and you'll have a fantastic time. All this moaning won't put me off going again because the activities are perfect for our family and that's why we go, but I don't think we'll eat out next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mr_P28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,043
    2,291
    887
    360
    192
See reviews for
5,747
632
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Had a fantastic weekend, lots to do and lovely and clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I left something behind after a call they called me back and are posting it back very good service. Food is good soft plays are clean and the views are fab. Cant wait to go back booked for christmas cant wait.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Merseyside
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just returned from a four day break at Center Parcs with my three kids, two grandchildren and two 'significant others' and I have nothing but praise for the fabulous time we all had. There really is something for everyone and everything you could possibly require all on hand. In fact, it feels as if you are returning to the real world when you finally leave - which by the way nobody wanted to do.

Great for bonding and we all feel that we benefited from our time together.

Everyone has commented on the prices but that's never going to change and I guess we'll all keep going and paying for our pleasures.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikelsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Just back home after a 7 night stay at Whinfell Forest. My husband, two daughters and their partners and our 3 year old grandson stayed in a 4 bed 2 storey woodland lodge. This was ideal for our family; it was comfortable and like all the available properties, in a lovely setting. Our 3 year old grandson loved the daily visit by a troupe of friendly ducks asking for breakfast.
This was our fifth visit, the last over 10 years ago, so we were interested to see how Whinfell had changed. Generally, the lodges are more up to date and the facilities have improved. Our twenty somethings and three year old had plenty to keep themselves occupied. Activities are expensive, but the pool complex is fantastic and we spent a lot of time there. Most people hire bikes, but my husband and I preferred to walk. Unless your lodge is on the outer edges of the complex, most facilities are close to one another. Improvements included the wrist band which allows you to open lockers, your front door and, once loaded, purchase things without having to carry money in the pool. We also paid extra for early access. This wasn't cheap, but meant we gained quite a bit of time and check in was far less fraught than in past times.
The supermarket is well-stocked, but it is worth buying essentials to bring with you. Don't forget to pack dishwasher tablets! Eating out is expensive. Between us we sampled all the restaurants and the food quality was Ok. Our only poor experience was in the Italian restaurant, where we waited 45 minutes for lunch, despite being the second group of people to arrive. To be fair, the food was nice, but trying to occupy a hungry 3 year old is not much fun. Towels were provided in the lodges, but despite staying a week, were never changed. They only provide one tea towel too!
The staff are well-trained and were extremely pleasant and friendly.
We had a wonderful time and will definitely return. It isn't cheap, but as the saying goes, you get what you pay for and the setting is idyllic. A perfect family holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

A brilliant time, and well looked after too. From aged 70 to 6 everyone enjoyed their time at Whinfell.
Very clean, well laid out accommodation.
Excellent staff service throughout, especially on childrens activities.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a central location. Its worth it. Or hire a bike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We were here for a week. I must say pretty expensive accommodation. We had a 3 bed with a sauna.
Check in was fast and easy-- I did this online so only had to collect the wrist bands once we got there.
Wifi was the only minus at our executive style lodge as we had a problem initially with this. It took two days off my calling the provider and guest services before this was sorted out. Yet, even after this we kept on switching it on and off several times a day. I m not sure if this was due to bad reception or faulty router.
Loads of activities just that Cost was peer person. Of course a small fortune went on these since we were there with 5 kids between ages 9 and 16.

Children surely had a great time while I spent sometime at the spa as well.
I will surely do this again,

Room Tip: We stayed at the modern executive style lodge with sauna , maid services and wifi. You don't hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shade481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here with hubby 2 kids 5 and 10 and the parents. We all had a fantastic weekend staying at 3 badger woods, this lodge is situated quite close to the main complex and the sports area. The lodge was clean and comfortable, the beds very comfy. The only downside was the outside area, the Bbq was tiny and the furniture too big for the designated seating area. The badger cam was a big hit with my oldest. We did some activities but they were very expensive ans some very short in time. My youngest did the street karts and only got 20 mins on them, really for the cost the duration should be double. The pool was a big hit with everyone, clean and the outdoor pool very warm. We ate out at bella italia and the pancake house both pricey for what we got, but the pancakes were delicious. The scenery and the wildlife was amazing lovely to have nature on your door step. Overall a lovely weekend, fantastic staff but defo need a wedge of cash.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunderlandFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.2 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
18.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
20.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
22.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
24.9 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Parcs Whinfell Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Parcs Whinfell Forest

Property: Center Parcs Whinfell Forest
Address: Whinfell Forest, Penrith CA10 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Hotel Class:5 star — Center Parcs Whinfell Forest 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Hotel Penrith
Center Parcs Whinfell Forest Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing