We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts....”

Tynedale Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tynedale Guest House
Ranked #16 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd stay at the Tynedale whilst doing the C2C cycle trip. Warm welcome from our hosts who again made our visit enjoyable. Rooms are clean & comfortable, few minutes walk to the pubs/shops. Breakfast very good & homemade flapjacks provided for us leaving. Will be back again next year, thanks again...

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diggerproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for returning to stay with us on your c2c ride and for your lovely review, we look forward to seeing you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loveliest B and B in wonderful Penrith. There is absolutely nothing negative I can say about Tynedale. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are comfy, lovely hot showers and filling, tasty breakfast. Marguerite and Thomas are always very welcoming and helpful whenever I stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinedaffodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2014

Thank you so much Sunshine Daffodil for the fab review, we always look forward to guests returning,it means we are doing it right!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at Tynedale House a number of times now and my recent last visit was as good as ever. Marguerite and Thomas are the perfect owners/hosts and think of everything to make ones stay a pleasure.The rooms are beautifully decorated and equiped, even down to homemade biscuits next to the kettle!The breakfasts are wonderful.The food is locally sourced and of top quality.Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you so much Jane for your wonderful review, we do our utmost to ensure our guests enjoy staying at Tynedale, I'm sure we will definitely see you on your next visit to Penrith. Regards Marguerite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Good location and a welcome stop off along the C2C route. Very accommodating and homely. The best breakfast ! Great hosts who looked after us very well. Lots of storage for bikes and home made flapjack was a real treat as we left for the next stop.
Comfy beds. Rooms were small and with separate bathrooms.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for complimentary review, glad you enjoyed our breakfast and homemade flapjack!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very friendly, helpful hosts, clean and well appointed with good breakfast. Minutes from Penrith centre with secure cycle storage. Recommended. Parting gift of flapjacks was very welcome and went down well with a cuppa en route.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ferryhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your complimentary review, we do our utmost to ensure a pleasant stay and to look after cyclists as best we can, its a great achievement to cycle the C2C route.hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

4 of us stayed here whilst doing the C2C. We were more than looked after and made to feel very welcome. Marguerite helped us with where to eat and drink at night and the breakfast was the best we tasted in a long time! Local tasty produce was second to none. Maguerite even made us flapjacks for the next stage of the bike ride. I'm sure this helped me get up the hartside pass! We would recommend TGH to anyone staying in Penrith. Thanks again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Fab review,thank you so much, we support local when buying our produce and by the great comments we receive from our customers after breakfast its quality that counts, and my home baking always goes down a treat !! its so lovely when people appreciate our efforts and take the trouble to write a review.Please come and stay again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for one night during a cycle trip of the Lakes. Marguerite and Thomas gave us a such a warm welcome when we arrived. Cycle storage for our bikes was very secure. The twin room we had was very well appointed and very comfortable.The cooked breakfast was excellent just what you need for a long days ride.On departing Marguerite went to the trouble of giving us some homemade flapjacks which we thoroughly enjoyed during one of our pit stops. A great place to stay and would certainly highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spennyridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marguerite1956, Owner at Tynedale Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much for your glowing review, it shows we are doing things right! and that our efforts are all worth while. Hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 11 in Penrith
226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#40 of 65 in Penrith
99 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tynedale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tynedale Guest House

Address: 4 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £75 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tynedale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Tynedale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tynedale Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing