We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Penrith, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ToniM84
Middlesbrough
1 review
“Fantastic!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in June 2017

5 adults and 1 Labrador. Couldn't have found a better place to stay! Beautiful cottage with a bathroom/an suite for each bedroom. Huge loving room and stunning kitchen/conservatory leading out to a perfect enclosed garden. The fence at the bottom of the garden is a sou me layered wire fence as there were sheep in the field behind but it was perfectly secure. The sheep were very interested in my dog .
Very clean and tidy and comfortable.
Location is spot on, 10mins from pooley bridge, 15-20 from Penrith.
Will absolutely go back again, Couldn't have asked for better.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review following your stay at Smithy Cottage. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable time and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinpaul B
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Spacious pet friendly cottage with Spiders”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We spent a weekend in the cottage and it was a nice break away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

The cottage is lovely and spacious. On the ground floor, there is a large living room, kitchen with a lovely sitting area that opens up to the garden, a large dining room. The master bedroom is nice and spacious. It was good that the floors were all hardwood on the ground floor as we had brought our dog along.

The cottage seemed nice and clean when we walked in. The kitchen was squeaky clean. The bathrooms looked ok. The linen looked a bit dated in the single and double rooms.

The reason why I'm only giving this cottage 3 stars is the encounters we had with spiders during the duration of our stay. We spent one evening in the living room just before we went to sleep, we saw a massive spider on the walls. Unfortunately, we were unable to catch it, and that was the last we stepped into the living room. Whilst going to sleep there was big spider number two inside the bed in one of the rooms (future guests are advised to shake the duvet and bed cover thoroughly before settling in). The next day, we found another massive spider in the dining room.

Basically, if you are not into spiders, let this be a warning.

Additionally, the heating system was a bit difficult to figure out. And we struggled to find out how to get hot water as the heating was off.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay, however, there was a constant fear of spotting a spider throughout our stay which was not much fun! Maybe this is what we should expect in a cottage, but we have stayed in cottages before and haven't faced this problem before.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2017
Good morning
Thank you for you review following your stay at Smithy Cottage, Tirril. We are delighted you had a nice break away from the hustle and bustle of city life and hope your encounters with the odd spider didn't detract too much from your stay. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stooross
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Good, The Bad & The Ugly”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This could be a really outstanding cottage to use as a base for exploring the Lakes. It suffers from poor management, which ultimately (as you can read from our comments in the visitors book in the attached photo) resulted in a highly unsatisfying stay. A real shame.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Penrith hotels

Mke500
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Could be a great place”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Location and size of cottage is really good for exploring north lakes.

The rest... The place feels tired dirty and a bit un cared for.the main bathroom with the bath was not cleaned so started our holiday cleaning that. We didn't use this bathroom cause it was obvious from the water marks on the floor that it would leak. The curtain is part falling off and the plaster above the window flaking. The bedroom next to that had a spider 2inches big under the quilt probably due to the window not being able to close well. The second bedroom lacks curtains meaning the people sleeping there woke up at 5am when the sun came up. Main bedroom window locked shut and bathroom blinds broken and window doesn't open.
Kitchen was generally ok even if lacking certain essentials such as a large pan to boil pasta for 6 people. Kitchen bin is broken but this seems to have been like that for a while. Internet.. Well in 2016 you would expect that to work for 24hours a day.. Not this. Very intermittent, blocks most social pages including Instagram and is slower than the old 54k dial up modems. Back garden is great but the area where the shed is all needs a good clean. It feels run down and un cared for. Called emergency number on the Sunday to try sort out the internet but no one answered the phone or called back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Smithy Cottage, Tirril, Ullswater. We are disappointed to read you experienced problems during your stay.
Our office is open Sundays from 11-7. We are sorry you were unable to reach us there or on the emergency number. Work is currently being carried out at the property addressing a few of the issues you mention. As a company we do pride ourselves on our customer service and go out of our way to ensure holidaymakers have an enjoyable stay with us. We hope that the issues you raise did not detract too much from your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
658tfs
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Potential to be a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had high hopes of Smithy Cottage and I had hoped to give it at least a 4 star rating. First the good points for us - spacious, 3 bedrooms, 3 bath/shower rooms, open fire, internet and the location (5 minutes from my mother in law). We stayed with our 2 grown up sons. However there were so many issues . Windows - many of them are just there to let light in and do not have a facility to open them - for instance in our double bedroom which is not satisfactory at all not being able to open a window. It would have helped had we been able to open the window in our en suite, however the mechanism was broken. In all the bathroom/shower rooms there were patches of black mould - no doubt due to lack of ventilation but again unacceptable. Many lights and lamps either had light bulbs that did not work but also some did not have any bulbs in at all - totally unacceptable that the housekeeper had not checked all these fittings (as I do in our own holiday let). The state of the decoration of the whole house is very poor - lots of marks and scrapes on the walls and large patches of worn paint and patches of damp (for instance round the window seat in the sitting room). Considering it is early still in the season you would expect the decoration to be in good order! In the bathroom with the bath in is a leak to outside. I see this was reported in the visitors book in October and then November 2015 and has still not been fixed. In the kitchen the brabantia bin lid was open when we arrived. I assumed the cleaner had left it open but it was open because it is broken. Also in the kitchen there are big chunks out of the side of the worktop going back to bare wood again - again lack of care and you get the feeling the owners are not really bothered as to the standard that guests should expect. Heating. The underfloor heating works well downstairs. However upstairs are radiators and this is where issues arose. When we woke up on the first morning the radiators were not on and indeed did not give off any warmth untll after 10.00 a.m. - not nice to wake up to cold bedrooms when there are plenty of radiators. Again in the evening the radiators were cold. We "turned" the control up on the landing to 25 but still the radiators were cold. In the end by the 3rd night we found we had to turn the heating control up to 30 to get the radiators to work properly - and then turn the control down to 25 once they had reached the right temperature. We are used to and have always lived in old lake district cottages so are used to old buildings and the cold but were radiators are advertised we expect them to work. The heated towel rails never worked. Towels - we had not expected that towels would not be provided! In the advertisement it does not mention towels so we had not thought to check since it is rare nowadays to rent a property that does not provide towels. It was fortunate that we were only 5 minutes away from my mother in laws so that we could go and get some towels. Many people in the visitors book have complained at arriving to find no towels and having to go out into Penrith on arrival to buy some. If towels are not to be provided then that should be CLEARLY stated on the advertisement. Finally the cottage was not very clean - cobwebs on the landings and layers of dust on the surfaces and television. It is a great shame because essentially this is a lovely cottage with potential to be very good. I was not going to leave a review as I have emailed the Agents - Lakes Cottage Holidays of Carlisle and had expected they would have responded to at least say they had passed my comments onto the owners but have not had a reply.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Good afternoon
We are disappointed to read that you experienced problems during your stay. As you aware from our Terms and Conditions which are clearly displayed on our website and sent to you with your holiday confirmation we do ask guests to call us with any problems during their stay in order that we can rectify issues and make their holiday more comfortable and enjoyable. We have not been contacted by yourselves or received any email complaints from our guests staying at Smithy Cottage, as we have no name to go on or arrival date we are assuming you left the property on 4th May and your review posted on 8th May, giving us insufficient time to investigate and respond even had we received your complaint. Please resend your complaint to info@lakescottageholiday.co.uk where we can properly investigate and reply accordingly. As standard, the majority of our properties do not supply towels and again this is stated in our Terms and Conditions. However, if you had called us on arrival we could have arranged to have some sent over to you.
As a company we do pride ourselves on our customer service and go out of our way to ensure holidaymakers have an enjoyable stay with us but unfortunately we can only put right any issues if we are made aware of them and we would have happily worked to resolve any problems during your stay.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardenang...
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable convenient”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a party of 6 . Grandparents, two daughters, granddaughter (14 years)
grandson( 6months)
Plenty of space for us all. Village offered opportunity to meander with baby and young dog.
Walked along small roads to Pooley bridge , we also walked back but could have caught the bus if we had wanted to..
Took the all day steamer to Glenridding and onto Airs force ( think there could have been a concession for parking at Pooley Bridge if taking the all day ferry ).
Visited Penrith ; Birds of Prey and Keswick .
There was just a couple of things neglected eg a tap and toilet in main bathroom, blind in double bedroom & back twin bedroom , chairs in conservarory and front door lock.
nevertheless a lovely relaxing week

Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: comfort and location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Good evening
Thank you for your review following your stay at Smithy Cottage, Tirril. We are delighted that you had a relaxing week and enjoyed the location. We are sorry to hear that you had a few minor issues, had you brought these to our attention during your stay we would have had an opportunity to address the issues. However, we are glad that you, nevertheless, enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale Cheshire
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review of Smithy Cottage.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at the property and took advantage of the location of the property.

Thank you for recommending Smithy Cottage and Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing