We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Lowthwaite B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lowthwaite B&B
Ranked #5 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Lowthwaite in the quiet valley of Matterdale has all the comforts anyone could need. The owners Jim and Tine are welcoming, kind and very knowledgable about their area. The accommodation is exceptional, from the white cotton linen to the tasteful African furniture. The food is delicious with all tastes catered for. Guests are treated to home made cakes everyday . My grandchildren children were made very welcome and played with their daughter. This is a unique B&B for everyone, walkers, site seers and families. It is an easy drive to Ulswater, Keswick, Penrith and all the Northern Fells and there are local walks too. Parking is easy and we followed the owners instructions to get there without a hitch. I had maps but you can borrow them too, everything you need for a Lake District holiday is there.

Room Tip: We had a family room which is very good value if your children are small, ours are 8 and 10 and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We booked all four bedrooms for a family away weekend and had a magic time at this beautifully kept b&b set in idyllic countryside. Fabulous breakfasts - even the Danish herrings were delicious - and superb packed lunches. We booked the evening meal for all 10 of us on the night of our arrival so we got off to a flying start with sampling Tine's wonderful cooking.
Nothing was too much trouble for Jim and Tine.

Room Tip: Helvellyn room for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Once again, we enjoyed Jim and Tine's excellent hospitality and kind welcome. Lowthwaite really does feel like staying with friends, where nothing is too much trouble. The setting of Lowthwaite is idyllic. The breakfasts were fantastic as usual, with an every expanding selection each morning. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climbdg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Recently returned from yet another lovely weekend at Lowthwaite. As soon as you arrive you feel the stress of the journey to the Lake District was well worth it as you relax in the comfortable, friendly, luxury provided by Tine and Jim. A new addition to the already fantastic breakfast was the "Scandi Breakfast" which I thoroughly enjoyed. Every time we say here we meet other returning guests who we have always enjoyed interesting conversations with. The amount of repeat business is testament to the quality of food, accommodation and value for money. If there is an evening meal on offer while you are staying I strongly recommend you try it. There are very good restaurants and pubs nearby but none of them can hold a candle to the fantastic fresh home cooking of Tine. We have already booked another visit in October.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRH54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from this lovely bed and breakfast in a good location with welcoming hosts and excellent breakfasts. Unfortunately what would have been an idyllic weekend was spoiled by other guests and their children staying in the room next to ours. We were awakened very early on 2 mornings between 5am and 6am by doors slamming, children shouting and general bedlam. So please be aware that if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet break you will only get it here if your fellow guests are considerate of others and this was certainly not the case on this occasion. Would we return ? - No we would not risk being mentally tortured every morning again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely location hidden away but easy to find. Good spot to explore the many things the Lakes District has to offer. Restored buildings from the 1600 &1700's with modern amenities. Tine & Jim have created a special place.
Everything they do is with care & thoughtfulness. They were so helpful with suggestions and sharing maps & books. Plus they were interesting to talk to about their travels etc. and just good people. Breakfast is outstanding. Homemade breads, muffins, jam, granola, most delicious eggs, sausage,
Pancakes and more. We had dinner one night (see website for schedule & menus) which was most enjoyable. Book in advance. The other guests that were staying were also very pleasant and we shared nice
conversations. The guests were also repeat visitors. Would have stayed longer but they were booked and our schedule wasn't too flexible. I highly recommend Lowthwaite B & B for a very calming experience. We left feeling like we made new friends. Will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from our ninth visit to Lowthwaite, and have now stayed in all of the four bedrooms. This time we were in the Garden Room, and had planned to sit on our private patio to listen to the Dawn Chorus. Sadly the weather was not kind, so we sat in the chairs in the room, with the window open, snuggled in the luxurious dressing gowns with the duvet over our knees, as we listen to the sounds of the new Lakeland day. The welcome from Tine was warm as ever, and it always feels like going to visit a special friend. The food was fabulous, and we sampled the new "scandi breakfast", with ingredients carefully brought back from Denmark! Lowthwaite is truly unique, and has become very special to us. We can't wait to go back for our tenth visit.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is perfect for watching the birds and wildlife.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
7.7 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
3.6 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
382 reviews
13.1 mi away
Nanny Brow
Nanny Brow
#12 of 102 in Ambleside
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ullswater Guest House
Ullswater Guest House
#2 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
190 reviews
12.7 mi away
Laurel House
Laurel House
#1 of 2 in Culgaith
208 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lowthwaite B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lowthwaite B&B

Address: | Lowthwaite, Matterdale, Penrith CA11 0LE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old newly renovated farmhouse in peaceful valley close to Ullswater with views of Helvellyn and Blencathra. Walks from the door and route descriptions available. Delicious homecooked, mostly organic food, distinctive furniture and beautiful decoration, organic and local toiletries, stylish en-suite bathrooms, use of gardens, Nothing too much trouble. Children all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Lowthwaite B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lowthwaite B&B Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing