We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay for C2C”

Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Ranked #31 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for C2C”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our C2C ride. The owners were pleasant and welcoming, and the room was to a very high standard for a guest house. Breakfast was excellent. It isn't 5* boutique, but it completely surpassed our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
10
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night on the 11th August. The room was lovely and clean, the owners were very helpful and chatty, a lovely couple! The breakfast was superb, juicy fresh fruit salad, yoghurt and a tasty freshly cooked full English! We will definitelyreturn here when we're in the area. Well done!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazelkendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was in the Lake District for the Kendal Calling festival and decided to stay at the Blue Swallow rather than camp at the site. I made the right decision. It was the first time I'd stayed in Penrith and found the hosts to be extremely welcoming. They let me check in early and helped me sort out travel arrangements with one of the local taxi firms for traveling to and from the site. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. A very nice freshly cooked breakfast was on offer (if you want one), and there was also cereal, juice and fruit available. Throughout my stay the service from the hosts was first class. They have created a warm, friendly environment and the guesthouse itself is immaculate. I would recommend the Blue Swallow to anyone and would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Because of the long distance from Wales to Scotland, we decided to break out trip and spend the night in Penrith. The Blue Swallow had no problems accepting us for a single night nor did they require a deposit. We were surprised how easy it was to find the place and managed to find a car park virtually in front of the guest house. Peter and Cythia welcomed us and showed us to our rooms, which were a good size, comfortable and clean. They provided us with a parking permit for the car. The centre of town was only a short walk away and while it does not have a lot of sights to see, it does have several restaurants and pubs. Breakfast was extremely good and thoroughly enjoyable. All in all, a good one night stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomadAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

You couldn't ask for more from the hosts, pleasant, accommodating and genuine. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well appointed. Breakfast was just what the doctor ordered, not too much and not too little with additional offered and declined! Recommended to anyone. Many thanks and see you in November!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manxstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stopped in for one night on our way to Scotland and were delighted with what we found. Although the owners were not there when we arrived, after a phone call they arrived within 15 minutes and promptly checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was lovely and comfortable, very clean with a small but adequate bathroom. The owners were friendly, happy to give advice and directions and provided a really lovely breakfast the next day. Definitely would recommend this B & B!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theroberts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley lancashire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Arrived on a cold november evening after a long drive. Made to feel very welcome and were shown to our room promptly on arrival. Booked a double room and we were given a room with a double and a single bed which had a pull out bed underneath it so they would be able to accommodate families. Although situated on the main road into Penrith from the M6 we thought the traffic may be a problem but after 6pm we heard nothing. Breakfast was cooked to order with fresh made toast and a delightful selection of home made jam and marmalade. Will defineatly return when in the area. The B&B was also very quiet as there was only the two of us for breakfast in the morning as the other guests had already checked out by the time we went down for it .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grundster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.0 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#24 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ashberry Guest House
Ashberry Guest House
#5 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#17 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#20 of 61 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Victoria Guest House
#47 of 61 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Swallow Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Swallow Guesthouse

Property: Blue Swallow Guesthouse
Address: 11 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Swallow Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Blue Swallow Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Swallow Guesthouse Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing