We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorn Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Acorn Guest House
Ranked #9 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham City
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

I've just stayed here as I had to attend a funeral in Penrith, the rooms are a good size and spotless. Nothing was too much trouble, parking right outside, tea, coffee tv, on-suite large spotless bathroom. It's right on the coast to coast route as well. Can't thank the owners (Joyce and family) for the sensitivity they showed me during my stay. I am happy to,recommend this b&b to anyone,it really would be hard to beat !

Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank OzzieDurhamCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    26
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
26
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Needed a stopover on the way back from a family wedding in Scotland and were lucky enough to be directed to The Acorn by a local publican.
Really clean and comfortable room in a lovely town. Anita and Joyce are really welcoming and friendly but the star of the show was the breakfast! Fresh, quality ingrediants served with as much tea/coffee/orange juice and toast as you wanted.

Would highly recommend and will definately return in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I've been here five times now. Each time staying a week, so I've spent five weeks of my life in the Acorn. It's wonderful! My main reason for staying was for a quite place to write so I spent nearly all the time in the room and going out to eat - so my opinion's well sourced.

There are many places nearby to eat and the entire town has a relaxing atmosphere compared to London. A wonderful place to get some writing done. Even the lighting levels in the hallway seem to be relaxing.

You may start to see tiny things that could be better if you spend as long there as I have done... The bathroom door handle was a little broken I think, and the cups in the room could be a little bigger, but that's nothing on the scheme of things!

Anita and Joyce will help with anything, nothing is to big or small, and the breakfast is perfect! Always tastes better when somebody else cooks it, doesn't it? When I was there the eggs were locally sourced and free range/organic, yummy! We don't get that in London...

Comfortable bed, classic tea in the rooms, information pack about the town, and enough floor space for a little exercise for those who have the urge. Great place.

Room Tip: The front side is louder but has a brilliant view of... They're called Fells, apparently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were a party of 10 cyclists on C2C arriving late on 6th July for an overnight stop. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and comfortable by the lovely family running the B&B. It was spotlessly clean, warm and professionaly operated. We were allocated space inside the house to store our 10 bikes overnight which was much appreciated as we had some very expensive kit with us.
Rooms were clean warm and spacious. Breakfast was excellant and prepared by the family more than willing to feed hungary cyclists for their onward journey, our was to Stanhope.
The overwhelming consesus was - and excellant choice by our Jackie who made the booking.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Cycling the C2C with a group of 18 over the Jubilee Weekend, we virtually took over Acorn. Great experience from check in to departure. Rooms were clean, tastefully decorated & very comfortable. Our hosts recommended a restaurant in town which was able to cater for our entire party (19 of us in total) - The Lounge - good food where quite a few places were not serving food that evening.

After a good nights sleep we had a nice big breakfast (proper Cumberland Sausuage), with plenty of choice (including porridge) & free flowing tea / coffee.

For C2C riders the Acorn can provide secure bike storage and is right on the route (5 yards from road) so no need for a couple of extra miles after a long days riding.

I would highly recommend the Acorn whether cycling C2C or not.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_A_F_33_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our group of 16 took over Acorn as part of charity C2C ride. From check in to departure we could not have faulted any part of the stay. Rooms were clean, tastefully decorated & very comfortable. Our hosts were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Anita recommended a restaurant in town which was able to cater for our entire party (19 of us in total) - The Lounge - which was great as many places were not serving food that evening. After a great nights sleep we had a wonderful breakfast with plenty of choice (including porridge for the cyclists!) & free flowing tea & coffee.
For C2C riders the Acorn can provide secure bike storage and is right on the route so no need for a couple of extra miles after a long days riding.
I would highly recommend the Acorn whether cycling C2C or not and would urge you to ignore the one bad review someone has posted here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

It's been a long time since I stayed in guest houses or B&Bs and the Acorn re-affirmed my faith in British hospitality.
Anita (?) and her staff made us 14 C2Cers incl. WAGs and children very happy and welcome and somehow managed to fit in 8 bikes too.
Great breakfasts too ;-)
only minor let down was that the hot water ran out after a couple of us had baths

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobysnax23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
0.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Shap Wells Hotel
1.5 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.4 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Property: Acorn Guest House
Address: Scotland Road, Penrith CA11 9HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing