We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bb- large room”
Review of Abbey House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey House
Ranked #39 of 65 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We booked throughlate rooms at last minute, for one night as we were visiting centre parc spa...... For twighlight visit
We paid 68 for double room including breaskfast.... We stayed in room 5, which included a large doible bed (2 singles pushed together), slightly soft for my liking, but nice soft clean bedding.
There was also an extra single bed in the room... We had separate on suit with bath and shower above and hand basin and toliet... Slightly tight small but clean, nice white fluffy towels.in the room there was a small wall mounted tv.tea and coffee making facilities with galaxy hot chocolate.our bedroom was on the ground floor and we could hear the owners dog and children playing in the back.this wasnt a problem.the owners kindly allowed us to check in early at 10.30am.the b and b was on a main road but heard no traffic noise.breakfast is served between 8am and 9am in the morning which you pre order the night before.

The breakfast was a mixture of branded cereals.very nice yoghurts.great tasting.there was a selection of tinned fruit followed by toast and fresh ground coffee or tea.the cooked breakfast consisted of sausage,bacon,eggs,beans and mushroom.it was well cooked.no conplaints.

The family who run the b and b ate friendly.very chatty.they have two small inquisitive children.check out was 10am in the morning.parking is on street
which requires a disk.for the price and location we would definately return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Abbey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights from 1st August, the family who run this b&b are lovely the room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. The parking was very good at the back of the hotel. We would recommend this b&b to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srowleybircheshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for the 1st night of the C2C 3 day challenge. I wouldn't say it was a 4 star as stated as the room was a bit cramped (not much room to get in and out of bed) and the towel rail kept falling off. The toilet would flush sometimes but then others it wouldn't. The plus points are though the owners are lovely and the breakfast was excellent. Also the location for town was good and not too noisy seeing it is on a main road.
Very good bike storage too.

Room Tip: Good C2C stop
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joeycoolcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My partner and I stayed one night on route to Scotland.
Samantha and Ian were very nice and friendly
Very clean and tidy house
Bedroom was not overbig but bed was extremely comfortable
Easy parking right outside
Tasty breakfast
Would have no hesitation recommending to others
We would consider again if we are in the area

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank male40s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed overnight and where met with a very warm welcome. Very helpful with information about Penrith and where to eat and local infomation. Was lovely clean and tidy room. Little overnight noise. Very comfortable room and good nights sleep. Breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Very comfortable room with an en-suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trudie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at Abbey House for 2 nights and had a lovely time. The staff are warm and friendly and very accommodating. The room was really large and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was well cooked and very nice.

There is parking on the road in front of the house and a small car park to the rear and it is only a few minutes walk to the center of Penrith. All in all, we could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Value_Seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This B and B is within walking distance of the town but unfortunately parking isn't good. The room we had was a lovely large family room on the ground floor with an en suite bathroom. Very nice people and spotlessly clean. We had a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast. Very pleasant stop over on the way home.

Room Tip: We had to be out of our room for 10am so if you want to lie in a bit then ask for a room on the seco...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tynedale Guest House
Tynedale Guest House
#16 of 65 in Penrith
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
@Eden Gate Guesthouse
#19 of 65 in Penrith
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bank House Bed and Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#33 of 65 in Penrith
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House

Address: 7 Victoria Road, Penrith CA11 8HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing