We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A total joy.”
Review of Strickland Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strickland Arms
Ranked #15 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A total joy.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay, look no further than the Strickland Arms. This is the best hotel in Penrith by far. Great food and superb accommodation. We stayed in the yurt and visited the Wiggo's Barn. Excellent friendly people. Would definitely go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingerdebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
36
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2013

What an amazing place to stay and eat! We stayed in the Yert which was beautiful and food was absolutely gorgeous! owners were so friendly and even took us down into Penrith for or second leg if the C2C. Will defiantly return for a mini break! Thank you :-) the 4 bikers!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzikins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, The Strickland Arms is one of the nicest country pups you could wish for, in the lovely little village of Great Strickland, not far from Penrith and well worth a visit. The hosts Penny and Anton were extremely hospitable, nothing was too much trouble, the same can be said for the bar staff, the service was tremendous. As for the food, this is not just pub grub, it is real fresh cooked gourmet dishes, I would highly recommend the pies, all made to order, my partner had Steak and Kidney which he said just melted in the mouth, I had the Strickly Lamb and Ale pie, I loved every morsel. We also had the steaks, which are locally sourced and cooked just as you like them. Our only regret is that we were not there long enough to try the entire menu, but you can be assured we will return soon. Along with the rooms in the pub, they also have a Log Yurt which can sleep up to 8, we had a look at this and it would be great for groups or a family, there is everything you need/want there in a quiet peaceful setting a real hidden gem.

Room Tip: If you are visiting the Eden Valley area of the lake district walking or cycling the Strickland Arms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieScouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Had a fantastic weekend with friends up in Great Strickland and stayed in the Yurt at the Strickland Arms. The village is a little countryside gem with a fantastic local pub/b&b. 8 of us stayed in the Yurt which was very clean and comfortable and set out in a circle creating a great atmosphere for chilling out with friends. The village is in a great location for exploring the Northern Lake District and in a ideal place for cyclists to get out and find hills and beautiful villages to pass through.

We had a lovely meal on the Saturday evening and an equally nice breakfast on the Sunday morning. Many thanks to Anton and the rest of the staff for making us welcome. It was quite an achievement to accommodate such a large group so effortlessly.

I can't wait until my next stay here, this will be happening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

After a day of walking on the Coast-to-Coast trail, it was welcome relief to be picked up by Anton and treated to thoughtful service for the two nights that I stayed at the Strickland Arms. Thanks also to Penny for the wonderful food, and for adding to the overall warmth and friendliness of my visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siowwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Gwynedd
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stayed here with friends for Shap's Total Warrior weekend. Great Strickland is a pretty little place with a really good pub - The Strickland Arms. The pub has friendly staff, good food and a great atmosphere.

8 of us stayed in the Yurt, well within staggering distance of the pub. It was my first time in a Yurt - but it wont be the last! It's really good for staying in with friends, but would be equally good for kids or families. There was plenty of room, the bathroom is really modern and it was clean and comfortable.

Really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Go for the Yurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bd2 3rx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed here for a night on the 26th of June. We were doing the coast to coast walk. Anton and Penny picked us up at Bampton. They were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. On the way to they told us all about the local area and their recent success with Bradley 'Bear' Wiggins. we had a comfortable room, wonderful meal and good breakfast. Penny also did our washing.The staff were helpful and nothing was to much. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razBd23rx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
4.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
10.8 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#1 of 11 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
8.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strickland Arms

Property: Strickland Arms
Address: Great Strickland, Penrith CA10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Strickland Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strickland Arms, Great Strickland, Penrith, Cumbria 'The Warmest Friendliest Pub in the Eden Valley'. We believe The Strickland Arms is a pub of character and distinction at the heart of the village community. We have a secluded rear garden and a dry-stone walled terraced front with an abundant display of flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Strickland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strickland Arms Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing