We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly place”
Review of Strickland Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Strickland Arms
Ranked #16 of 61 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a small pub but full of charm, the owners try hard to help and have a great choice on the menu.
Nice wood burner and great beers, i think if you went here you will go again.
They have various things on from steak nights to mexican and great pies. They do accomodation but we didnt stay over.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    15
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Well, where do we start? From the moment we spoke to Anton and Penny on the phone, there was really only one place we were going to stay on our Coast to Coast cycling holiday, and that was the superb Strickland Arms.

Firstly, the location was perfect for us, just of the motorway, and 50 miles into the route. Our original plan was to stay the first night, get transported to the start, and cycle back to the Strickland Arms for the second night, and then move on from there. HOWEVER, Anton was able to offer transport to and from our start/finish points every day, and so it was a no-brainer.

Transport in the team coach every day worked like a dream, with Dan, the driver/bike mechanic able to shadow us the whole day. What it meant was that not only could we decide where and when we finished every day, but we had the security of knowing that if any mechanical or other problems arose, Dan would be right there for us to sort it. We even had the knowledge that if we had a terminal problem with the bikes, we would be able to get a replacement bike to complete the trip. In effect, it was like being "pro" riders, with all we had to do was turn up, do the stage each day, and then get back in the team bus to get back to the Strickland Arms. Dan was superb and as part of the service Anton has set up via the Yellow Jersey part of the Web site was invaluable. What it meant was that two 51 year olds could to the C2C in comfort and with ease in 3 days. It left an extra day to explore the lakes, which are so nearby.

So what about the Strickland Arms itself? Great accommodation in the main building, we had the larger of the rooms, spotless, with a lovely en-suite and Super Kingsize bed. PLUS for those in a larger group, the perfect place is the Log Yurt in the grounds. For families too, it would be a great place to stay, sleeping 6/8. We were looking around for family rooms in the area last year, and they are like gold dust.

The pub itself is all you would want in a village pub in Cumbria. Super staff, so friendly, and a great range of real ale, plus more different Gins than I ever knew existed! The highlight of the pub has to be the food; from the breakfast when we needed it (7am with a great morning welcome from Anton and Penny!) to the superb evening meal. Penny's cooking is of the very highest standard, from a menu that covers virtually every cuisine. A special mention must go to Penny's Pies, which were quite the best we have ever had (and that is saying something, I can assure you!)

We are fortunate to be able to stay in hotels around the UK and Europe on a very regular basis, and as a hotel on it's own, the Strickland Arms is at the very top of a long list. With the cycling service Anton has developed, and continues to develop, it is out on it's own. Superb.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We did the C2C on the May bank hol and stayed in the log yurt. There were 7 of us and we arrived at the pub tired and ready for a pint! We got an incredibly warm welcome from Anton and Penny, our bikes were quickly locked away for us and we were shown to the log yurt which was perfect for a group of our size. We were well looked after and (after much needed showers) we ate in the pub. Food was great, I had a pie and chips which was ideal, and several pints of Cumberland ale having been reliably informed it's a favourite of Mark Cavendish. A hearty breakfast the next morning set us up for the second day of cycling and was much appreciated, all in all a big thumbs up and definitely somewhere I will stay again, whether I get around to cycling there or not!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at the strickland arms in the yurt to the rear of the pub. Was fantastic. The bed was amazing. Clear. Fun. Kids loved it. Food great. Pub great.staff fantastic.

Over all me and the wife 3 kids and oli the dog had a nice chilled weekend and will defo be going again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy5756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed in Great Strickland for my 50th birthday. I couldn't have been happier with my choice to eat at The Strickland Arms , we ate there twice for breakfast on Saturday and Sunday and on Saturday evening and lunch on Sunday. As a party of 12 I couldn't believe no one had a complaint about anything , the food, the atmosphere and the service were 2nd to none, nothing was too much trouble. The menu is very extensive and the beer very good , Penni's pies were VERY tasty , so tasty in fact my husband had 1 on Saturday evening and then had another for his Sunday lunch. I cannot thank Anton ,Penni and their wonderful staff enough for making my birthday very special. I can highly recommend this lovely pub.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizschramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We live nearby in Cliburn it's good to have a place nearby that serves good food at reasonably prices. We went on Sunday evening the 16th of February there were four of us and we dined in the dining room. A lot of work has been done to the inside and outside of the pub without spoiling the character.
The staff and landlord and his wife are all very friendly and attentive.
We all had the roast that was still on from lunch at the offer price reduced for Sundays the main and desert were all good and well presented, the vegetables are worth special mention not being the usual watery overcooked specimens you get on a Sunday.
Well worth a visit as it is not too far from both the A6 and the A66.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Metalworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived knowing from all the other reviews that this place would be good.
I didn't expect to have such a great meal though.
The curry was the best I've ever had (sauce made locally by a curry god)
Good ales on offer and a vast whiskey selection too.
The owners and the locals are very friendly too.
I would recommend this place to anyone for both business travel or for pleasure.

Breakfast was great too.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MartynD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
10.8 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
5.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
8.5 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
217 reviews
2.0 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
2.5 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strickland Arms

Property: Strickland Arms
Address: Great Strickland, Penrith CA10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Strickland Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strickland Arms, Great Strickland, Penrith, Cumbria 'The Warmest Friendliest Pub in the Eden Valley'. We believe The Strickland Arms is a pub of character and distinction at the heart of the village community. We have a secluded rear garden and a dry-stone walled terraced front with an abundant display of flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Strickland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strickland Arms Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing