We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
140
16
6
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
16
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pies the pub our friends wedding menu is extensive log burning bunk beds coast to coast public house plenty room excellent hosts warm welcome stayed for one night evening meal and breakfast weekend stay set us up for the day home made next morning
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

7 of us stayed in the yurt for our coast to coast cycle ride. The organisation of transport, pick up/drop off by Anton was fantastic. He has a large minibus and bike trailer that is ideal. He also provided support along the way, picking my bike up within 20 minutes and taking it to Penrith for emergency repairs after a crash.
The accommodation was ideal for 7 sweaty cyclists with hot shower in the yurt. Ale in the pub was excellent, and the food was fantastic, from breakfast to Penny's pies in the evening.
The hospitality from Anton and Penny was amazing.
If you're planning to do the C2C then Get in touch with Anton (yellow jersey cycling), you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a small pub but full of charm, the owners try hard to help and have a great choice on the menu.
Nice wood burner and great beers, i think if you went here you will go again.
They have various things on from steak nights to mexican and great pies. They do accomodation but we didnt stay over.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Well, where do we start? From the moment we spoke to Anton and Penny on the phone, there was really only one place we were going to stay on our Coast to Coast cycling holiday, and that was the superb Strickland Arms.

Firstly, the location was perfect for us, just of the motorway, and 50 miles into the route. Our original plan was to stay the first night, get transported to the start, and cycle back to the Strickland Arms for the second night, and then move on from there. HOWEVER, Anton was able to offer transport to and from our start/finish points every day, and so it was a no-brainer.

Transport in the team coach every day worked like a dream, with Dan, the driver/bike mechanic able to shadow us the whole day. What it meant was that not only could we decide where and when we finished every day, but we had the security of knowing that if any mechanical or other problems arose, Dan would be right there for us to sort it. We even had the knowledge that if we had a terminal problem with the bikes, we would be able to get a replacement bike to complete the trip. In effect, it was like being "pro" riders, with all we had to do was turn up, do the stage each day, and then get back in the team bus to get back to the Strickland Arms. Dan was superb and as part of the service Anton has set up via the Yellow Jersey part of the Web site was invaluable. What it meant was that two 51 year olds could to the C2C in comfort and with ease in 3 days. It left an extra day to explore the lakes, which are so nearby.

So what about the Strickland Arms itself? Great accommodation in the main building, we had the larger of the rooms, spotless, with a lovely en-suite and Super Kingsize bed. PLUS for those in a larger group, the perfect place is the Log Yurt in the grounds. For families too, it would be a great place to stay, sleeping 6/8. We were looking around for family rooms in the area last year, and they are like gold dust.

The pub itself is all you would want in a village pub in Cumbria. Super staff, so friendly, and a great range of real ale, plus more different Gins than I ever knew existed! The highlight of the pub has to be the food; from the breakfast when we needed it (7am with a great morning welcome from Anton and Penny!) to the superb evening meal. Penny's cooking is of the very highest standard, from a menu that covers virtually every cuisine. A special mention must go to Penny's Pies, which were quite the best we have ever had (and that is saying something, I can assure you!)

We are fortunate to be able to stay in hotels around the UK and Europe on a very regular basis, and as a hotel on it's own, the Strickland Arms is at the very top of a long list. With the cycling service Anton has developed, and continues to develop, it is out on it's own. Superb.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We did the C2C on the May bank hol and stayed in the log yurt. There were 7 of us and we arrived at the pub tired and ready for a pint! We got an incredibly warm welcome from Anton and Penny, our bikes were quickly locked away for us and we were shown to the log yurt which was perfect for a group of our size. We were well looked after and (after much needed showers) we ate in the pub. Food was great, I had a pie and chips which was ideal, and several pints of Cumberland ale having been reliably informed it's a favourite of Mark Cavendish. A hearty breakfast the next morning set us up for the second day of cycling and was much appreciated, all in all a big thumbs up and definitely somewhere I will stay again, whether I get around to cycling there or not!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed at the strickland arms in the yurt to the rear of the pub. Was fantastic. The bed was amazing. Clear. Fun. Kids loved it. Food great. Pub great.staff fantastic.

Over all me and the wife 3 kids and oli the dog had a nice chilled weekend and will defo be going again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy5756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews