We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C2C complete package”
Review of Strickland Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strickland Arms
Ranked #20 of 67 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“C2C complete package”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I have always wanted to complete the Coast to Coast cycle route, and this year all the factors came together to make it possible. We started looking at the logistics of how we would achieve this challenge in the most efficient manner. We had to travel from our home in the Peak District to the start at Whitehaven and then return from the finish at Tynemouth with bikes. Studying train timetables, getting ticket prices, looking at which trains allowed bikes all showed that the logistics would be more of a challenge than the cycling itself. Then we found the Yellow Jersey web-site and looked at what they had to offer C2C cyclists. Reading through what they provided, and the financial costs made it very obvious that we should approach them and see if they could provide a package for us. From that very first phone call it became obvious that this was the right decision. All transfers of us, our bikes and our luggage from start to finish were provided, and parking for our car throughout the three days was part of the deal. Huge breakfasts at a time to suit us helped fuel the challenge, and a wide range of evening meals excellently cooked by Penny replaced calories burnt during the day. The room was well set out, comfortable and clean complete with en-suite facilities which all helped make our stay both comfortable and pleasant. Anton and Mike acted as taxi drivers in the minibus, and were in direct contact by mobile during each day so that we knew where they were and they knew where we were, available to respond as necessary. They delivered us to the start at Whitehaven, and three days later were waiting as we pedalled to the beach at Tynemouth. This level of service from all staff meant that we could concentrate on the cycling, and made it a true holiday rather than an exhausting challenge. The only thing that we had to organise ourselves was one night’s accommodation in Stanhope, but this took no more than one phone-call, and Yellow Jersey dropped off and picked up our overnight luggage from Stanhope. Throughout the three days of our contact with Yellow Jersey we felt part of the Yellow Jersey family rather than customers paying for a service. While we were cycling we met other groups, and listened to tales of bunkhouses and hired minibuses, groups having to split on the return as all their bikes were not permitted on the trains, and sang the virtues of Yellow Jersy. Could we commend them to others – certainly and without any warnings, caveats or cautions! Any negatives, yes. They don’t have logos down the side of the vans or trailers so that others can see the excellent job they do, and their web-site understates how personalised is the service they provide.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane_Delvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Strickland Arms was the perfect accommodation for our first night on the C2C. The hotel wasn't far at all off our C2C route and was very easy to find. Myself and 7 friends (four ladies and four men) stayed in the Yurt which was homely and more than ideal for our large group. Both the sleeping area and bathroom where very clean, bunkbeds where extremely comfy and the yurt itself had all the necessary ammenities. The Bathroom was stocked with fresh clean towels and toiletries (ideal for anybody travelling light!) and there was even a kettle with enough supplies to make everybody a brew and a biscuit after a long days cycling! The hotel itself was quaint and charming and the staff where brilliant and extremely accomodating. The weather had been terrible for us during the days cycling so all of our kit was wet and muddy. The staff where kind enough to give everything a quick rinse and pop it in the dryer for us ready for the next morning - nobody likes putting back on wet smelly kit so this was much appreciated by the group! Both our evening meal and breakfast in the hotel where lovely. There was a good selection of meals on the menu, most of which included locally sourced ingredients! Our bikes where locked overnight in a secure, wooden outhouse located in the car park of the pub. There was also facilities to wash the bikes which was a big help after all the mud they had accrued over the days cycling. A track pump was available to reinflate our tyres and we where also supplied with oil for our chains. Overall we had a brilliant stay at the Strickland Arms - we couldn't fault the accommodation or staff and would definitely recommend it for anybody wanting to stay in Penrith on the c2c route - amazing value for money!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Group of 12 Cyclists, First nights stay after a long wet ride from Whitehaven.
All bikes locked in a bike room.
We stayed in one of the twin rooms. Clean and comfortable.
Wet clothes were all put in the tumble dryer which was fantastic..
Food and drinks in the pub were good.
Breakfast was super..Cereals and full English !
Would highly recommend...!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn3022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbroguh
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Can't fault this place or the fantastic owners. The yurt itself was clean and more than fit for purpose. Can be a bit noisy in there, sounding more like a protein and carb fuelled farmyard at times but that's more an issue with the residents not the yurt!! The food is superb and in terms of hospitality you won't find better on the c2c route! Cheers

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

7 of us stayed in the yurt for our coast to coast cycle ride. The organisation of transport, pick up/drop off by Anton was fantastic. He has a large minibus and bike trailer that is ideal. He also provided support along the way, picking my bike up within 20 minutes and taking it to Penrith for emergency repairs after a crash.
The accommodation was ideal for 7 sweaty cyclists with hot shower in the yurt. Ale in the pub was excellent, and the food was fantastic, from breakfast to Penny's pies in the evening.
The hospitality from Anton and Penny was amazing.
If you're planning to do the C2C then Get in touch with Anton (yellow jersey cycling), you wont regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jez J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is a small pub but full of charm, the owners try hard to help and have a great choice on the menu.
Nice wood burner and great beers, i think if you went here you will go again.
They have various things on from steak nights to mexican and great pies. They do accomodation but we didnt stay over.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Well, where do we start? From the moment we spoke to Anton and Penny on the phone, there was really only one place we were going to stay on our Coast to Coast cycling holiday, and that was the superb Strickland Arms.

Firstly, the location was perfect for us, just of the motorway, and 50 miles into the route. Our original plan was to stay the first night, get transported to the start, and cycle back to the Strickland Arms for the second night, and then move on from there. HOWEVER, Anton was able to offer transport to and from our start/finish points every day, and so it was a no-brainer.

Transport in the team coach every day worked like a dream, with Dan, the driver/bike mechanic able to shadow us the whole day. What it meant was that not only could we decide where and when we finished every day, but we had the security of knowing that if any mechanical or other problems arose, Dan would be right there for us to sort it. We even had the knowledge that if we had a terminal problem with the bikes, we would be able to get a replacement bike to complete the trip. In effect, it was like being "pro" riders, with all we had to do was turn up, do the stage each day, and then get back in the team bus to get back to the Strickland Arms. Dan was superb and as part of the service Anton has set up via the Yellow Jersey part of the Web site was invaluable. What it meant was that two 51 year olds could to the C2C in comfort and with ease in 3 days. It left an extra day to explore the lakes, which are so nearby.

So what about the Strickland Arms itself? Great accommodation in the main building, we had the larger of the rooms, spotless, with a lovely en-suite and Super Kingsize bed. PLUS for those in a larger group, the perfect place is the Log Yurt in the grounds. For families too, it would be a great place to stay, sleeping 6/8. We were looking around for family rooms in the area last year, and they are like gold dust.

The pub itself is all you would want in a village pub in Cumbria. Super staff, so friendly, and a great range of real ale, plus more different Gins than I ever knew existed! The highlight of the pub has to be the food; from the breakfast when we needed it (7am with a great morning welcome from Anton and Penny!) to the superb evening meal. Penny's cooking is of the very highest standard, from a menu that covers virtually every cuisine. A special mention must go to Penny's Pies, which were quite the best we have ever had (and that is saying something, I can assure you!)

We are fortunate to be able to stay in hotels around the UK and Europe on a very regular basis, and as a hotel on it's own, the Strickland Arms is at the very top of a long list. With the cycling service Anton has developed, and continues to develop, it is out on it's own. Superb.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
4.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
5.3 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
6.0 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Low Hall Country House Accommodation
6.4 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#52 of 67 in Penrith
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strickland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strickland Arms

Property: Strickland Arms
Address: Great Strickland, Penrith CA10 3DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Strickland Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strickland Arms, Great Strickland, Penrith, Cumbria 'The Warmest Friendliest Pub in the Eden Valley'. We believe The Strickland Arms is a pub of character and distinction at the heart of the village community. We have a secluded rear garden and a dry-stone walled terraced front with an abundant display of flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Strickland Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strickland Arms Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing