We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find”
Review of Albany House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Albany House
Ranked #11 of 67 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunbeath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Travelling from Caithness to Newhaven we pulled in at Penrith looking for somewhere to stay the night and by very good fortune came upon Albany House. The room was spotless, the bed comfy, the toilet gleaming the breakfast excellent and the host charming. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else next time we are in the vicinity

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
80
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Immaculate B&B which seems to go the extra mile on every small detail. I am pretty fussy but could not pick any faults with Albany House. We stopped overnight whilst cycling the c2c route from Whitehaven to Tynemouth. Our dirty wet clothes were whisked away and washed and dried by next morning at no extra cost. The room, furnishings, TV, bathroom were all of a modern, clean immaculate standard, nice and quiet with a comfy bed too. The breakfast was great in terms of quality and quantity. Our hosts were super helpful without being intrusive.

I wouldn't look any further than Albany House for a night(s) in Penrith especially if you're doing the c2c.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 137Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely guest house for one night and we would have been happy to stay longer. The room was lovely and ensuite bathroom just perfect. The room and service was better than lots of 5 star hotels we have stayed in. we hope we get the chance to return so that we can sample the fine dinning. We will be recommending the Albany House to our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 596Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed in Penrith as part of a cost to coast ride with a team from work. We arrived soaking wet and cold and the experience from when they met us at the door was fantastic. The rooms were very good including onsuites finished to a high standard. Our cycling gear was washed and dried for the next day which was a real bonus.
Breakfast in the morning was very good as well. The location is brilliant just a few hundred meters from pubs and restaurants. Will stay here again when I do the c2c again or visit the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights at Albany House. We were surprised that our room was on the second floor. It was small but had everything we needed. The chocolate brownies were yummy! Parking arrangements were not as easy as they had been in other properties during our week's travel. However we were comfortable and the breakfast was good especially the Smoked Haddock and Poached Egg!

Room Tip: If you don't want to have to climb up too many stairs it would be wise to check where the room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExeterGadabouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEORDIELAND
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We are very experience users of guest houses and would normally always book 4 stars , this establishment justifies its ratings, Positives were good quality toiletries and the towels were excellant quality and nice and fluffy, excellant bathroom, Breakfast was what you would expect from a rating of 4 star and of higher end quality, although 2 pieces of bacon instead of one would have been nice , all guest houses now need to give those nice little touches so the little chocs and bottles of water were nice, if I could make any suggestions for improvements,it would be to not see the dog doing what dogs do in the back yard, but realise that comes with dog ownership, but all in all can highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LETITROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Our son got married on the 3rd of August 2013, Sue Archie and their son Joseph did the catering for our sons wedding reception, the reception was in a marque at Warwick Hall near Carlisle, they did the cooking on site, the food was amazing, our choice was a scallop starter then we had the lamb followed by a trio of delicious desserts, followed by coffee and mints, the wedding guests were all saying how fanastic the food was, we go to Albony House every other month for a meal, our son and now daughter in law introduced us to Albony House, the food is fantastic, you have to book in advance as they are always booked up, we are booked up until Christmas, so be warned if you want to make a booking, I can't recommend Albany House too highly, lastly Sue, Archie and Joseph thank you for making our sons special day even more memorable with the fantastic meal you cooked for us all,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
883 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
441 reviews
0.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crosby Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Glendale Guest House
Glendale Guest House
#35 of 67 in Penrith
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Abbey House
Abbey House
#39 of 67 in Penrith
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany House

Property: Albany House
Address: 5 Portland Place, Penrith CA11 7QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albany House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albany House is a 4 Gold Star guest house situated conveniently in the centre of Penrith.We provide stylish and comfortable rooms and an award winning breakfast.We are just 5 mins from J40 of M6 and A66,and only 5 miles from Lake Ullswater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Albany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany House Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing