We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific food & friendly welcoming staff”
Review of India Gate

India Gate
Ranked #40 of 159 Restaurants in Penrith
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific food & friendly welcoming staff”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Whilst staying in the lakes last week we found India Gate on Tripadvisor and due to the excellent reviews had dinner there on our first night (Thursday), we weren't disappointed. We arrived just after opening so the restaurant was extremely quiet but not long after it started to fill up fairly quickly. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and could not do enough for us. I went the hot curry route and my wife medium and both starters and mains were faultless and all very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    48
    19
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Fantastic service!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Really good food, very impressed with the quality and perfect portions ,plenty to eat. Really reasonable too. Fantastic service, polites waiters/waitresses and felt very welcome with no rushing to go. Lovely atmosphere and would Definately recommend to anyone visiting the area. Il be going back next time we are up there!

Helpful?
3 Thank Holoprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food and Nice Staff”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went here on a Sunday night, possibly after the busy period, and it was quiet- although the atmosphere suffered a little as a result, it meant that we got a prime table next to the window. Surroundings are nice and clean and the staff were friendly and attentive. The menu was reasonably priced and the food quality was high, with plenty of meat in the curry. The mixed meat starter was also very tasty. We will be going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tebay, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“''Excellent for everything''”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visit ''India gate'' again last Sunday. The Restaurant was so busy when we arrive there. Atmosphere was very good cigling Cury smell, laughing, cracking every way. We have drinks, papadams, foods. Everything was perfect and timely, all staff was attentive and professional. We have served by Nabab smiling face all the time, very good attitude. Recommend for everyone if you want excellent food, friendly service! Don't delay..

Helpful?
3 Thank fashionx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drybrook, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

10 of us dropped in unexpectedly and they were so welcoming and gave us a great banquet all £17.95 and we left there well fed and satisfied

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to India Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing