We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 67 Penrith B&B and Inns
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary Lunch”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you are ever in Penrith on a Sunday The Station Hotel does the best Carvery for Sunday Lunch, we recently took a party of friends & family to celebrate our 40th wedding aniversary, the lunch was excellent, staff very helpful, lovely surroundings .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    43
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
39
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Bright yellow walls made it hard to sleep past daybreak especially as the curtains didn't cover the windows. Victorian feel to room. Toilet flush was terrifying- some kind of box fitted? Was clean enough. Plenty of tea and coffee. Friendly staff.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My sister and I stayed here in February 2014, we had two single rooms. They were both adequately furnished and with en-suites.
The proprietors were brilliant, they couldn’t do enough to ensure you were comfortable and very accommodating. All of the staff were very friendly and the food was great. I found it great value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doggeruk_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I arrived no where to park called the hotel. They directed me to a cycle shop across the road or said morrisons car park. When I got in I asked about breakfast and evening meal, no you can't have breakfast there is no chef on. I asked could I come down when showered and put my food and drink on one bill, er er yes but you need to pay for the hotel first. I went up to the room I was not too happy the bed was so narrow my shoulders were inches from the edge. The ensuite was tiny and needed tidying up. The radiator didn't work they had a electric oil heater that was useless. I actually went out to a local Indian when I returned I went straight to my room I could smell smoke really bad someone was smoking and being a none smoker it was not pleasant. I got in bed to watch tv the room was freezing cold the quilt was about an inch thick. I was kept awake by boy racers around the town I was really surprised the police were not about. Also the music was on in the bar or the tv and it was directly underneath. I will not be going again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_mozza_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

One of our favourite local eating places.Staff always greet you with a smile, lovely atmosphere in the dining room. I had pumpkin soup for a starter, my friend had liver pate', followed by roast beef from the carvery with a good variety of vegetables, all delicious. Would definately recomend a visit.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Colpa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Six of us stayed here in september and looking at the hotels website this looked a nice place.
The rooms are desperate for an upgrade but on a plus note the food was very good . Wouldn't stay again but would definitely go back for a meal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

Central position .... Great value hotel .... Will stay again ... Had one of the single rooms clean with shower ... Good breakfast / lively bar and nice staff ?. Would recommend ... Parking outside only three spaces however you can park over the road

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Clinky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
440 reviews
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
882 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#52 of 67 in Penrith
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#12 of 67 in Penrith
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
The Lounge Hotel and Bar
#19 of 67 in Penrith
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foundry 34
Foundry 34
#40 of 67 in Penrith
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Property: Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing