We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 62 Penrith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just been again last Sat. Once again a great welcome. Once again great food. Once again great wine. Once again great service. Once again great value.Once again we will return.
Rarely do you find somewhere so consistently good. Thanks.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robertd231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    41
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
30
36
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

First time eating in this restaurant & it was delicious. Prompt friendly service & no need to queue at the bar. Reccommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone for great atmosphere, deliciois food and reasonable prices. We'll certainly be hping back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Been here many times for food absolutely gorgeous proper homemade food the burgers are made on.the premises delicious. The carvery is beautiful and very good value for money but you best booking ahead as gets busy.

The staff are fab make you feel welcome lots locals in here always packed.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carlislechick2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

The best value and quality you can get in the area . staff are friendly and very helpful I have eaten here on many occasions and very rarely can I find fault. Friend's have stayed and have found the accommodation very good with no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 500merc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I liked this hotel. It's old and probably wants a refurb but I loved its quirkiness. The rooms have some lovely original features and they are really well priced. It's a good town centre location and the staff were really friendly. There is no parking but I managed to get a spot on the street about 30 seconds walk away and there is a pay and display literally a minute around the corner. I would stay again and would recommend it to anyone who wants somewhere full of character in this lovely little town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The owners are very much present and attentive to their guests needs. They are hard workers and congenial people. We liked being able to walk a short distance to the railway station. A large Morrisons Supermarket an easy walk across the street from the hotel. The hotel is vintage - no lift, no AC, flights of stairs - and my family and I enjoyed the atmosphere. It is the place for local color, and we enjoyed hearing the Cumbrian variation on English! The food served in the hotel was not only at hand but served fairly quickly, tasty, and reasonably priced. If you're looking for a posh, city hotel do not make reservations here. If you love people, want a quiet place to "hang out," as my sons say, and want to visit the nearby Lake District, this is a great place to stay! A peaceful city park, built around the ruins of historic castle ruins is directly behind the hotel. We enjoyed the spectacular vista of the small town and the surrounding countryside by walking through the park. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 & 5 June stay!

Room Tip: We had a large amount of luggage and the walk from the Penrith Railway Station is easy. The Leeds to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Came for a meal with my parents, the service was attentive without being intrusive and really friendly. We had mains and puddings - all were delicious, and the veg was cooked beautifully. Can't believe we live so close but haven't been here for many years - we will definitely be back....soon!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penrith hotels
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
3.5 mi away
Edenhall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#47 of 62 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Red Townhouse
The Red Townhouse
#13 of 62 in Penrith
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#10 of 62 in Penrith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant

Property: Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Address: Castlegate, Penrith CA11 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Station Hotel Bar & Restaurant Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing