We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Friendly Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stoneybeck Inn

Stoneybeck Inn
Ranked #39 of 160 Restaurants in Penrith
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We would like to welcome you to The Stoneybeck Inn, located a stones throw from the heart of the Lake District. A fantastic setting with food to match, luxury bedrooms together with restaurant and conference centre - an ideal location for weddings, parties and any other functions. Cumbrian cuisine at its finest using the best in local produce.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A well cooked traditional English Sunday roast dinner was enjoyed by members of this family with Yorkshire pudding ( a savoury batter cake that accompanies beef or Lamb) generous vegetable trimmings and a hearty toffee pudding dessert. For a party of four the price was reasonable with friendly service. Stoneybeck also caters for company groups - fiends of mine from a medical charity enjoyed a festive group meal for thirty people here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor and pleased that you have taken the time to write a review about your visit. We wish you all the very best and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes, Stoneybeck Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    69
    22
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for a nice quiet meal two weeks ago.i had the steak burger, omg was huge and absolutely gorgeous. Boyfriend had the steak and it just melted in his mouth. Hand made chips were fantastic. Have to say all was presented perfectly. Staff were friendly and polite. Will be back for definite.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank SligoIrishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor and in paticular the head chef would like to thank you for your kind header of your review. Best wishes, Stoneybeck Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Nothing memorable.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The vegetarian dishes on offer are dull . Quiche and risotto . When will someone come up with an inspiring dish ! The cavery veggies were ok and I understand that the meat was 'nice' . At £10.95 I felt a bit miffed to be honest . Nice enough pub , pleasant enough staff but distinctly average .

Helpful?
Thank Rosie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Firstly I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on trip advisor as al comments are appreciated and actioned here at the Stoneybeck Inn. I was dissapointed to read that everything was positive about the Stoneybeck Inn excluding the vegetarian options and for that you only rated us 3 out of 5 for your star rating.

My colleague who looked after you has advised me that you were offered a minimum of 3-4 vegetarian options and once you received your chosen meal you were asked if everything was ok, and you acknowledged that you were very pleased so again i am extremely cautious in regards to your comments. That being said I have passed on your notes to the head chef regarding the limited and uninteresting vegetarian options and im more than confident he will be able to source some new and exciting vegetarian options in our forthcoming menus.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on trip advisor and hopefully we will see you again in the future for you to try our new dishes out. Best wishes, Stoneybeck Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Have just had a fantastic meal at the Stoneybeck Inn. The place is decorated to a high standard and the food was absolutely beautiful. David was very friendly and attentive and we will definitely be going back. It has made our stay in the Lake District even more enjoyable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LolAndy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We always appreciate feedback from Trip advisor and thank you for taking the time to write on it about us regarding your latest visit. i have posted your comments on our staff notice board for staff to read. Best wishes and we look forward to seeing you again soon, Stoneybeck Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovley food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

recently went to stoney beck on a Sunday lunch time I had a Prawn baguette that came with chips and salad and my partner had the Sunday roast it was all lovely and very reasonable priced! would recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 480reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoneybeckinn, Manager at Stoneybeck Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments that you have posted on trip advisor. It's always nice to read positive feedback and thank you for taking the time to write about your visit. best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stoneybeck Inn also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Stoneybeck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing