We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 NIGHTS IN A CAMPING POD”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penrith
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2 NIGHTS IN A CAMPING POD”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This was our first time in a camping pod and it was great. We stayed in a slightly larger family pod, myself, my husband and our 10yr old daughter. The pod came with 5 x comfortable filled mattresses, a heater, electricity and 2 x lights. A picnic table, bbq stand and storage box were also provided. With our beds laid out there was still room for a small eating area. The pod was warm, carpeted, secure and sturdy with plenty of room for my 6ft 2" hubby to stand up comfortably.
The site was lovely with fantastic views to Blencathra when clear. The loos/showers looked and smelt clean every time we used them.
A communal area was provided near the childrens play area which had seating, TV, magazines, microwaves and a fridge/freezer.
Breakfast barms, porridges or croissants can be ordered from the farm house the night before. Very tasty and on time as promised.
All in all a beautiful site, well maintained and away from the madding crowds.
One thing I think the pods could do with is a hook or two...just for hanging coats up. Everything else, fab!
Hope to be back there soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank NellyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    33
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
47
39
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent family run working farm and campsite offering everything from a holiday cottage to a place to pitch a tent or even try one of the luxury pods as well as a night in a gypsy caravan!

Having been coming to the Lake District on family holidays for all 20 years of my life and having heard of my parents' experiences before my time, I can safely say that Gill Head Farm is the best place to stay in the Lake District.

We have stayed at this excellent family establishment for roughly 7 years and have camped here, rented the self catered farm house and even enjoyed the B&B services that are no longer offered - I am still in mourning as I will never enjoy a better farmhouse breakfast with such an amazing selection of foods on offer!

After a few poor experiences camping where it seemed a farmer had just cleared off the sheep and decided to charge campers, we stumbled upon the Gill Head Farm camping site and immediately knew we would never go anywhere else. With laundry services, clean bathrooms and showers and even a club house to relax in you could tell that time and effort had been put into designing a purpose built camp site that provided for all ages and needs. Over the years with the rise of 'glamping' the campsite has begun to offer options for those who want something more than a canvas sheet between themselves and nature, and they now offer luxury pods with electricity, a gypsy wagon and 'armadillos' all at reasonable prices and well worth a try.

So to put it straight, you can spend years trying everywhere in the Lake District to see what is on offer but that would all be a waste as there won't be anywhere better for such a reasonable price so call up Gill Head Farm today, pack up your car and spent a weekend, a week or even longer exploring the Lakes!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JordanH1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our first time in a Self-Catered Cottage which we booked with Cottages 4U and it was great! Very cosy and homely, with a tv, dvd player, full kitchen and a lovely electric fire. The bed was enormous too, and the walk in shower was great. The location was easy to find, not a lot around in walking distance but we knew that and had the car to get about. Great stay, we hope to return again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LimaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a lovely weekend in the self catering cottage it was very comfortable and well equipped with plenty of room for everyone. The owners were very friendly and helpful would love to go back to Gill Head Farm in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetsetj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This site, which is large but quite isolated, has some stunning views. The toilets and showers were clean. There is a children's playground with trampolines, a communal lounge with a freezer for ice packs, and areas for dishwashing.

There is a small shop at the site that sells some basic provisions and fresh milk but otherwise the nearest places to buy provisions are the garage on the A66 by the Rheged Centre, the shop at Glenridding or somewhere in Keswick.

I really can't fault this site - it was everything we hoped it would be - but it would have been nice if just one of the camping fields (even the small one along the edge) could have been dog-free. It is becoming increasingly difficult to find sites that don't take dogs (not everyone likes them) and, while most people were responsible in terms of controlling their dogs, I didn't particularly appreciate having my burners nearly knocked over by someone's wayward not-on-a-lead mutt while I was cooking dinner. Not the site's fault, I know, but to have been in a dog-free area would have been so much more relaxing.

Places that we visited included the Aira Force waterfall area, which includes some good walks, Ullswater (where we went on a lake 'steamer' - the coffee and flapjack sold on board are highly recommended), and Hill Top, the former home of Beatrix Potter.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Canetoad71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from a week camping at Gill Head Farm. It is a lovely site with fantastic views. It has a brilliant children's play area with trampolines and swings etc., our children absolutely loved it.
When you arrive you are told to pitch wherever you want which is great if the site is not busy and the majority of people are sensible but there is always the minority! Unfortunately we were there over the bank holiday weekend when some people thought it was acceptable to pitch their tent so close to others that they were nearly touching even though there were plenty of suitable places available. I do believe it would be much better if the pitches were numbered and the 6m rule that the camping club have was implemented here.
The toilets and showers were cleaned daily but to be honest the showers needed a really good clean the partition walls were very grimy and stained (in both the ladies and gents) and the water that was left in the mop bucket to clean after use was like mud and didn't get changed on a regular basis. There were four showers and three toilets in the main block which was adequate at the beginning of our holiday but over the bank holiday weekend there were exceptionally longs queues for both the toilets and showers every morning and evening.
The washing up areas were very good. Just a minority of people who didn't clean up after themselves leaving food debris etc in and around the sinks.
We paid £33 per night which we thought was on the expensive side. We would probably go back to this site again but not on a bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campingqueen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a 2 night stay in a camping pod. Each year my friend and her 2 boys go camping during the 6 weeks holidays and decided this year to ditch the tent and try a pod..... We are glad we did! After encouraging her 9 year old and 5 year old up Cat Bells it was lovely to come back to our snugly warm pod. It was lovely and clean and the electric sockets and heater proved useful. The microwave in the central area was useful and the boys enjoyed the trampolines in the play area. We organised breakfast for each morning and loved the porridge with fruit. Toilet and shower block lovely and clean and all staff we encountered were great people. We shall be back ..... Pods are the future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruthiewilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penrith
8.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
6.6 mi away
Brantwood Country Hotel
Brantwood Country Hotel
#7 of 10 in Penrith
217 reviews
18.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Tymparon Hall
Tymparon Hall
#52 of 61 in Penrith
25 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Rebels Hide
The Rebels Hide
#2 of 3 in Clifton
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Troutbeck Inn
Troutbeck Inn
#17 of 61 in Penrith
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays

Property: Gill Head Farm Self catering Holidays
Address: Troutbeck, Penrith CA11 0ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Penrith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the spectacular backdrop of the mighty Blencathra and the northern fells, Gill Head Farm offers a warm welcome to our family run working hill farm with a caravan and camping site and traditional lakeland farmhouse self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gill Head Farm Self Catering Holidays Penrith, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing